Customer reviews for Nike+ SportBand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike+ SportBand

Overall rating:
3.327 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(395 reviews) 395
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 395 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
112
3 Stars
71
2 Stars
81
1 Star
41
Discover a new way to run with Nike+. This amazing device allows you to track your distance, pace, time and calories burned during your runs. With a sensor in your Nike+ Ready shoe and Nike+ SportBand on your wrist, you're ready for a better running experience. Connect with nikeplus.com to log runs, track progress, set goals Review last run data, weekly run data, and total miles/kilometers Includes Nike+ sensor Rechargeable battery via direct USB connection MATERIALS: Buckle: Stainless Steel. Case: Polycarbonate. Strap: Polyurethane. SUPPORT: nikeplus.com
Customer reviews for Nike+ SportBand NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 341 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Problem with sportband

, May 21, 2008
usfs-hotshot
,Riverside, CA
"It's ok my nano works better. Can't get it to calibrate. Its off aprox 1.4 miles after running 6.5. only registers 5.1 mile.Run. put it away, went back to my nano, Can you help?, Thanks , Kevin (usfs-hotshot)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 342 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Display is unreadable

, May 21, 2008
usaroxs51
,Lindon, UT
"I was really looking forward to my Sportband, but it is unusable because I can't see the display under any circumstances."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 343 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nike+ SportBand

, May 21, 2008
susanp2
,Mount Laurel, NJ
"I purchased this for use when headphones are not allowed. I have had major problems with calibration - running a 10 mile race showed up as about 8.5 miles - unacceptable. I have three different sensors that I use with it and it seems the calibration is different with each one. With the iPod nano, it was possible to store a calibration for each sensor; it doesn't seem to be possible with the SportBand.
The displayed pace is also off after attempting to calibrate; when I am in progress, it shows a pace that is about 2 minutes/mile faster than the eventual pace for the entire workout. For example, if I run a 10 minte mile, during the workout it will consistently say that I'm running an 8 min mile (I wish!)
On the plus side, it's easy to link with the different sensors, and links up faster than the iPod. I still have hopes of getting it to work properly - it's comfortable, and I like being able to see the pace at a glance (if it were correct).
On the plus side, I like being able"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 344 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

gump

, May 21, 2008
1111111
,BOISE, ID
"sent the band back and bought the nike ipod, like it much better because i already have the ipod with me and the band was a hinderance while running"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 345 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

having issues calibrating the band

, May 21, 2008
toad5000
,NY, NY
"I've tried to repeatedly calibrate my band and seem to never be able to. I guess I'll keep trying. I've " never run an eligible run" supposedly the first one was too long (6 miles), then I ran a 1.7 M run still nothing, I'm not quite sure what I am doing wrong"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 346 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Needs some work.

, May 21, 2008
CB's runs
,brownsburg, IN
"Screen cannot be seen in the dark and my screen went blank after 2 weeks. Needs to be able to be lit up during early morning or evening runs. Surprised this was not thought of."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 347 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

calibration a pain

, May 21, 2008
bighouseplant
,Brooklyn, NY
"Not happy with how long it took me to get an acceptable calibration run. I had to do 5 takes before it worked out for me. And even then, if I do speedwork, my sportband doesn't get what's going on and mistakes my longer stride for a slower run, exactly the OPPOSITE of what's actually going on. I wish this thing were more than just a glorified pedometer. I has such potential. If it could just register stride length in addition to foot fall, this would be a perfect product and I would buy it for every single runner friend of mine I know! But until then, I'm just ho hum about it."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 348 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Couldn't read the screen

, May 21, 2008
MarineWife
,Xenia, OH
"I was eagerly awaiting this in the mail and was so excited when I got it. I set it all up and the next morning when I went out to run, I couldn't read the screen unless I had it right under my eyes. This is not something you should do while running. I got home and called customer service and asked if this was something they had encountered before and he said no, but he had heard of it not even turning on at all. I ended up sending this back and got the iPod kit and don't have any problems with it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 349 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

i can't upload my runs onto my computer

, May 21, 2008
confused100000
,grand prairie, TX
"i can't upload my runs onto my computer.....its become a pain."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 350 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

did not live up to my hopes

, May 21, 2008
namnnumbr
,Brunswick, ME
"I just got the sport band last week and have gone on 5 runs since then. All of the runs have come up short (i have not calibrated it yet), but I believe it's because the armband drops the sensor signal regularly. I look down, and it's blinking and i'll have to stop, restart the run, and go. Very frustrating.
As others have said, its curved, so it doesnt fit flat laptop USB ports well, and it REALLY needs a backlight.
I had very high expectations for the sportband, but my ipod+ kit seems to be a little bit better, even though I don't listen to music. Hopefully the sportband 2.0 will iron out some of these problems.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 351 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Good idea, not so user friendly

, May 8, 2008
runningwoman1
,Woodland Hills, CA
"Tried this out at the Santa Monica Classic a week ago when they were offering an opportunity to try their sneakers with the band. They were giving out new bands and sensors but even the Nike reps were having a hard time making the sensors match up with the band and had to open new ones that actually worked. I loved the concept of it and really liked the IDEA of being able to look down and see how far you've come no matter the route you decided to take that day. I also liked that it calculated calorie burned although mine wasn't configured so I didn't know my output. My only complaints: 1) placement of the display - a slight pain to have to turn your arm around to have to read it (minor issue) 2) display hard to read unless you're in just the right lighting - hard to see when it's super sunny or really overcast. Would be nice too if it had a function where you can "light up" the display if you're running at night. Overall an excellent concept - just needs some tweaking."
+75points
78of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 352 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Wait for Upgrade

, May 6, 2008
cubsfan877
,boise, ID
"My sportband came with a scratched display. I had a hard time reading the writing on the band. The picture on the web site is deceiving. It is not white on black. It came saying charged not charged, charged, not charged... I sent it back for a new one. Thought maybe I got a dud. I got a reply saying they would not exchange it. Got a refund instead. Makes me question getting a new one."
+44points
52of 60voted this as helpful.
Review 353 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Sensor issues

, May 5, 2008
Rupert505
,Albuquerque, NM
"I couldn't wait to receive the product, and the anticipated freedom from the Ipod; however, after following the instructions to the letter of the manual, I've found that the sportband does not appear receive a sufficient enough signal from the sensor. At one point, I had to remove the band from my arm and hold it near my knee. At that point, my pace, time, etc, started to display.
I placed the sportband back on my wrist, and the reading was intermittent. At several times during the run, the chronology was running, but the sensor did not register my pace. I never had this issue with the sensor attached to my Ipod. Not only that, with my Ipod, I was running with New Balance shoes, and the sensor taped to my shoe, and it worked fine. Now I’m running with the proper Nikeplus footwear, the new sportband, and I’m having bad results.
Bottom line, thus far, my experience with the sportband has been frustrating.
"
+71points
76of 81voted this as helpful.
Review 354 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nice idea, but severely crippled

, Apr 22, 2008
BlakeArnold
,Fredericksburg, VA
"The Nike+ Sportband is exactly what I have been waiting for, a convenient inexpensive way to track my distance and speed on my runs. But after a couple days of used I have noticed some features that are severely lacking that I hope Nike can fix some with a software update.
Pros:
Nike+ Speed and time without iPod
Good-looking design
Synch with Nikeplus.com and charge via USB
Small form factor
Cons:
No Backlight, cannot use in early morning or night with this product
You cannot use stopwatch unless the foot sensor is near the sportband
Cannot give splits/laps during a run
Cannot view Time of day during a run, only stopwatch/pace/mile/calories
Slightly waterproof, the manual clearly states not to swim with the sportsband on
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 355 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not water resistant!

, Oct 15, 2008
mohop
,CHICAGO, IL
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"So with less than one season of training for a marathon this little puppy died shortly after the race. Apparently it wasn't able to stand up to the water stations. Shortly after completing the run I could see a haze behind the bezel. It later condensed into larger droplets and killed my screen. Luckily the data was still available when I hooked it up to the laptop.
In general the screen scuffs easily and makes the hard to read display even less legible. The contrast is not as great as shown in the photos. This makes readability only by street lights in the evening or early hours. Designwise it's attractive and a great concept. The functions are easy to operate running or not.
Overall a good idea but not durable enough for active use."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 356 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

NOT VERY DURABLE

, Oct 14, 2008
runKEVrun
,Norfolk, VA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I'm on my second Nike Plus SportsBand.
I like the product however it wasn't very durable as I've had mine for two months. And after long sweaty runs, or a little exposure to moisture, the digital screen started to fog up, and eventually missing pixels, then went black. I returned it to Nike and they replaced it, however I use the ipod version more, because it's been more reliable than the sportsband.
Nike should have made this product more durable, with the ability to withstand moisture and sweat. Now if I'm running more than ten miles,
or doing an off road race, i put it in a ziplock and put it my racebelt.
Hopefully Nike will make some improvements on v.2.0. I would recommend the ipod version before this one all day."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 357 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disapointed

, Oct 9, 2008
MSM
,Mount Pleasant, SC
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I purchase the sports band two weeks ago. The first 3 times I used it it worked great. The 4th time it would not log on to my computer. All of my runs were deleted off of my computer and my computer said it malfunctioned. Now the band won't work at all. I was really excited about this product and I even purchased Nike shoes to use it. I am very disapointed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 358 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

sportband is not a good product

, Oct 4, 2008
jesseree
,Fresno, CA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"The bracelet never communicated with the chip and I knew two other people who had similar problems with the sportband. Was unable to participate in the Nike half marathon due to this defective product. Really disapointing.
Also, if you sweat like a stuck pig...avoid this product. The screen will go black and won't work.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 359 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Returned 4 so far #5 next week. Terrible quality!

, Oct 4, 2008
SamBell
,Fairborn, OH
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I really like the concept, but am frustrated at how poorly the display holds up after a month. Even with the best of precautions, 4 out of 4 sportsband displays have failed on me. I only wear it for runs, I take it off immediately, it's been a dry summer for my runs, I've tried wearing it to minimize any sweat drip (which hasn't been excessive), I don't even click the mode button for pace/cal/and time while running! (maybe twice I checked it for accuracy...). It starts gradually and then gets to the point where I can't read the digits. The Nike Sportsband display is horrible!! I love it otherwise, just really frustrated with it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 360 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Do not buy its defective

, Sep 28, 2008
Mred511
,Miami, FL
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Bought it yesterday, worked the fist time, on the second time I tried syncing it and now it does not sync with my computer, tried all kinds of stuff to make it work and nothing, did some research in forums and found out a bunch of people are having the same problems, I simply returned it and bought a regular pedometer watch for much less"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 ... 16 17 18 19 20 next>>