Customer reviews for Nike+ SportBand

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike+ SportBand

Overall rating:
3.327 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(395 reviews) 395
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 395 reviews
5 Stars
90
4 Stars
112
3 Stars
71
2 Stars
81
1 Star
41
Discover a new way to run with Nike+. This amazing device allows you to track your distance, pace, time and calories burned during your runs. With a sensor in your Nike+ Ready shoe and Nike+ SportBand on your wrist, you're ready for a better running experience. Connect with nikeplus.com to log runs, track progress, set goals Review last run data, weekly run data, and total miles/kilometers Includes Nike+ sensor Rechargeable battery via direct USB connection MATERIALS: Buckle: Stainless Steel. Case: Polycarbonate. Strap: Polyurethane. SUPPORT: nikeplus.com
Customer reviews for Nike+ SportBand NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superb Product !!!

, Jul 1, 2008
bmystical
,Virginia Beach, VA
"I love this product's simple, compact, lightweight, and wireless design. My only concern before I bought it was that it would be an annoyance around my wrist, as I don't even wear a watch because I don't like the way one feels around my wrist. But, the material of the sport band is smooth and very light - - and when I sweat, the material still doesn't cause any irritation. LOVE THIS PRODUCT! And the Price !!! Excellent Price, too! Thank you NIKE!"
+83points
99of 115voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor Design Flaw

, Nov 14, 2008
DizzleG
,Houston, TX
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I am a runner who like long distance. I have taken this on over 150 miles. It started getting moisture in the case and I can't see the screen anymore. I liked this idea when it worked. I almost forgot to mention, It was not as acurate as i hoped. I would have liked this more if it was a better design."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

I miss my sportband

, Oct 20, 2008
kaarsenmaker
,Pismo Beach, CA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Recently, my sportband failed on me. It doesnt do well in high heat or wet environments. I used it all the time and it was a great motivational tool for me on a daily basis. When it died on me, I was really unhappy because I had goals and competitions to complete on the nikeplus website.
Nike was amazing at customer service, friendly, helpful and reasonable. They emailed me a return shipping slip and credited my bank card after they got back the device. I hope they learn from the failings and successes of the device. I would love to see more of a watch than just a USB device (a backlight would be a must).
I miss my sportband."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not water resistant!

, Oct 15, 2008
mohop
,CHICAGO, IL
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"So with less than one season of training for a marathon this little puppy died shortly after the race. Apparently it wasn't able to stand up to the water stations. Shortly after completing the run I could see a haze behind the bezel. It later condensed into larger droplets and killed my screen. Luckily the data was still available when I hooked it up to the laptop.
In general the screen scuffs easily and makes the hard to read display even less legible. The contrast is not as great as shown in the photos. This makes readability only by street lights in the evening or early hours. Designwise it's attractive and a great concept. The functions are easy to operate running or not.
Overall a good idea but not durable enough for active use."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

NOT VERY DURABLE

, Oct 14, 2008
runKEVrun
,Norfolk, VA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I'm on my second Nike Plus SportsBand.
I like the product however it wasn't very durable as I've had mine for two months. And after long sweaty runs, or a little exposure to moisture, the digital screen started to fog up, and eventually missing pixels, then went black. I returned it to Nike and they replaced it, however I use the ipod version more, because it's been more reliable than the sportsband.
Nike should have made this product more durable, with the ability to withstand moisture and sweat. Now if I'm running more than ten miles,
or doing an off road race, i put it in a ziplock and put it my racebelt.
Hopefully Nike will make some improvements on v.2.0. I would recommend the ipod version before this one all day."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nice Version 1, Nike!

, Oct 10, 2008
tetrapyrrole
,Berkeley, CA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
"The SportBand is my first running gadget, and I have now logged 100 miles with it. Overall, I would recommend it to another recreational runner. It is simple in design (instructions barely needed), and I had no software/installation issues. I even accidentally forgot to take the band off before a shower, and it emerged functional and unscathed. I find myself itching to go running so that I can upload its data. Since I am a beginning runner, I find its pace function helpful for gauging different speeds (what my long, slow run should feel like, what my tempo run should feel like).
Unfortunately, the system is not very accurate, even though I have calibrated it a few times (I am not in Nike+ shoes). It is only useful for ballpark figures. Additionally, the watch component is not very durable. I tripped once during a trail run, and though the fall was very minor (I was barely scratched), the watch display is marred by some gold cracks within the display itself, as though the liquid crystal (?) is damaged (I did not land on the display). If the accuracy of the system, durability of the watch could be improved, and if it could include a backlight, this product would be great.
Finally, design of the Nike+ website could use a few improvements: 1) the map your run feature doesn't allow one to see intermediate distances along a route that one has plotted; 2) if one could input notes about a given uploaded run (weather, how one felt, etc.), the website would be a much more useful training log."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disapointed

, Oct 9, 2008
MSM
,Mount Pleasant, SC
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I purchase the sports band two weeks ago. The first 3 times I used it it worked great. The 4th time it would not log on to my computer. All of my runs were deleted off of my computer and my computer said it malfunctioned. Now the band won't work at all. I was really excited about this product and I even purchased Nike shoes to use it. I am very disapointed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Love it... Hate it

, Oct 9, 2008
SkydiveMO
,Rock Hill, MO
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"The design and operation of the SportBand are both simple and elegant. The band is comfortable while running and the information displayed well (in daylight). As a first generation product it was well designed for appearance and comfort but I have found it lacks several critical features. First there is an issue of moisture entering into the unit and causing pixilation of the display. The moisture can even cause the ultimate failure of the unit. I noticed pixilation on my display so I researched the Nike+ forums for the issue and found many similar experiences posted. The SportBand lacks a backlight, which makes it impossible to read in low light environments. The only time I am able to run is early in the morning and I can only check my pace and distance at the occasional street light. The graphs of runs from a SportBand are not equal to those from the iPod. It appears they are less sensitive to pace changes and only give date points at 1-mile increments. The overall distance and pace readings are accurate but the graph of the run is useless if you wished to use it to critique sections of a run. I would suggest waiting for the second generation of this product before purchasing. If Nike irons out the bugs from the current SportBand it will be an awesome product well worth a higher rating."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nice idea, but defective

, Oct 7, 2008
runner60607
,Chicago, IL
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I liked my Sportband when it worked. I had to return mine twice due to defective computer, and not syncing with sensor. I was planning to exchange for a new one, but the store is no longer selling, Likely due to faulty equipment."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

sportband is not a good product

, Oct 4, 2008
jesseree
,Fresno, CA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"The bracelet never communicated with the chip and I knew two other people who had similar problems with the sportband. Was unable to participate in the Nike half marathon due to this defective product. Really disapointing.
Also, if you sweat like a stuck pig...avoid this product. The screen will go black and won't work.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Returned 4 so far #5 next week. Terrible quality!

, Oct 4, 2008
SamBell
,Fairborn, OH
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I really like the concept, but am frustrated at how poorly the display holds up after a month. Even with the best of precautions, 4 out of 4 sportsband displays have failed on me. I only wear it for runs, I take it off immediately, it's been a dry summer for my runs, I've tried wearing it to minimize any sweat drip (which hasn't been excessive), I don't even click the mode button for pace/cal/and time while running! (maybe twice I checked it for accuracy...). It starts gradually and then gets to the point where I can't read the digits. The Nike Sportsband display is horrible!! I love it otherwise, just really frustrated with it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great idea, poor product

, Oct 1, 2008
laufer
,Seward, NE
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"This product worked well after some initial difficulty setting it up. I loved knowing how far I was running, but 2-3 months after getting it, it didn't work. It didn't hold a charge, and the display started to fade and was unreadable. I returned it to the company for exchange and didn't even hear from them for 2 months until I tracked it down...it was lost in limbo. Don't waste your money with this one until the product has been improved."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

so...so`

, Oct 1, 2008
scuba_cat
,Fresno, CA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"This watch is great for tracking miles and keeping up with my pace, progress, etc. It allows me the freedom to run where ever I want without the worry of figuring out the mileage. The only negative is the screen quality. The image is dull in the light and cannot be seen at night. Nike could have done better."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nke+ SportBand is super cool and a great

, Oct 1, 2008
chas.stevens
,Lebanon, NJ
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"alternative to buying a new iPod. The LCD screen on my first one went bad after a few runs, but customer service was easy to deal with and shipped me a replacement right away. The only bad part is that the display is not backlit, so it's impossible to read in low light conditions. If you're a pre-dawn/early morning runner like me, don't plan on checking your distance until the next street light!"
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

I Like My New Sportband

, Sep 30, 2008
datuhuck
,Brunswick, GA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"Very easy to use
Very convenient for running
Motivates me to run as I like to see the feedback
Great to check my pace as I run
Improves my workout and my ability to get the most out of my workout
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Motivating and mostly accurate

, Sep 30, 2008
Quacksi
,Tucson, AZ
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I've got an iPod shuffle to run with and like to clip it to my collar or bra strap so I was glad when the band came out for those of us not into getting a Nano. :-) I like that it's comfy, sweat proof, and breaks my runs down with regard to the pace I keep. The fit is fine on my thick-ish wrist and it hasn't come loose once. Running outside is what it's meant for, I think as the distance rarely jives with my treadmill, but that could just be my goof in calibration. I use it and love it and consider it really motivating to see the math happen over the course of a workout and after when I try and break my training down.
Get one if you like to be alone with your thoughts when you run and aren't into music, or if you're just not a Nano kind of runner.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Do not buy its defective

, Sep 28, 2008
Mred511
,Miami, FL
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Bought it yesterday, worked the fist time, on the second time I tried syncing it and now it does not sync with my computer, tried all kinds of stuff to make it work and nothing, did some research in forums and found out a bunch of people are having the same problems, I simply returned it and bought a regular pedometer watch for much less"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nike Sport Band

, Sep 27, 2008
Ldegraaf
,Croton on Hudson, NY
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I love the idea; however, I haven't been able to get it to accurately calibrate. It shows i'm consistently running .25 -.5 miles farther than I actually am running."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great product

, Sep 26, 2008
yupsate
,Montreal, QC
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"The sportband feels great on your wrist, as someone else has said even with sweat there is no irritation and it is very light weight.
It's so easy to use the sportband and was extremely accurate for me with no calibration.
The cost of this item is remarkable compared to what you would pay for GPS based products that do the same thing.
The only negative thing I have to say about this is that sometimes there is a slight problem keeping track of your runs on the nikeplus website, but I assume those kinks will be worked out soon."
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike+ SportBand
Overall rating 395 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

A great running companion

, Sep 26, 2008
KPRowell
,Stoneham, MA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I love running with the sport band and having the ability to keep track of my weekly distances, pace, etc...and the avatar you can create keeps me motivated because she slacks off when I do...I didnÞt run for 10 days and she was playing video games - basically telling me to stop being a couch potato! It got me back out putting in the miles. I just wish there were more gyms that used the technology so you could track treadmill vs road miles"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>