Customer reviews for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control

Overall rating:
3.593 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(59 reviews) 59
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 59 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
6
1 Star
7
The Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control is a watch and a remote for the Nike+ experience. Hear instant voice feedback of your time, distance, calories and pace when you add the Nike+ iPod Sport Kit and Nike+ Ready shoes. Wear the watch alone for a stylish, unique timepiece. Durable polyurethane strap can be cut to your exact preference for a natural, comfortable fit Stainless steel custom-fit buckle LED displays time of day and icons for iPodreg; nano controls when activated by the remote Instant voice feedback of time, distance, calories and pace Power song accessed through left-side button for quick motivation Raised remote buttons for easy grip and precision 5ATM water resistance
Customer reviews for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 41 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great unit and easy to use.

, May 22, 2008
NeimanJ
,Bellevue, WA
"It was easy to adjust the watch to the right size and syncing it up with my iPod was extremely easy. After my first couple runs with it the controls are second nature and the viewing "screen" is the right size so if I want to see the time I can make it out even as the watch is bouncing around on my wrist."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 42 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Nike Plus AMP

, May 21, 2008
Runner Mom
,Cherry Hill, NJ
"I am disappointed with this product. It was easy to sync, but it takes time for the watch to get the Ipod to work. I find that the buttons don't always get the Ipod to respond with any consistency. I can switch the songs but have difficulty getting the watch to turn the Ipod on. It is not easy to use. Also, it is impossible to read the clock in the sunlight."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 43 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Nike Amp

, May 21, 2008
AliceLash
,Howell, MI
"A welcome addition! I had no problems linking it to my equipment, and find everything easy to use. The only problem I have is getting the remote to respond when I have my iPod hooked on my back. Otherwise, it makes a great conversational piece."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 44 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great product

, May 20, 2008
Jdonnelly34
,Mount Laurel, NJ
"This makes it much easier to operate my Nano plus the watch feature has everyone hooked.
A little tricky at first but then easy to use - recommend playing around with it first.
Recommend this highly"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 45 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great buy

, May 16, 2008
Ninjadux
,Fort Collins, CO
"I bought this not expecting a whole lot. I was sure surprised, This is the coolest watch I own and I'm very happy with it. Other people have had issues with getting it to work. Instructions are very clear and easy to follow. If you like running, and have the rest of the + equipment, then this is a great purchase."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 46 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I am ready to throw this thing thru the window.

, May 15, 2008
linkless in klamath
,klamath falls, OR
"You know, I have gotten used to the fact that my Nike+ is waaaaaay off on tracking my distances (despite SEVERAL attempts at calibrating) and that typing anything on this website requires tapping the keyboard keys 2 or 3 times before the letters take. I have even decided to keep my Nike+ tank top despite the fact that it doesn't fit the new Ipods. But after I have pined away for this amp watch and held my breath for it to come in the mail, I opened the package and found a dead battery in the watch... and then, after buying a new battery for my new watch, IT WON'T LINK. I am following the directions, things are flashing, but no linking. Of course the help line is closed. I give up. Sorry Phil Knight. Despite being an Oregonian and in a family of Duck alums, I think I'm breaking up with you and your Nike+ product line. It's good looking but has some serious issues..."
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 47 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Loved It

, May 12, 2008
Randy in Salem
,Salem, OR
"I just used the Amp + for the first time today during a 5 mile run outside. It was easy to set up and worked great. It's nice to have the ipod tucked away and the controls within easy reach. I especially like having the volume controls on the amp+, it was always a little tricky adjusting the volume on the ipod while running, this is so easy! The only problem that I have found is it's hard to read the time outside in the sunlight or bright overcast sky. But I think it a great option, well thought out. I would recommend this product to other runners."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 48 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Must Have

, Apr 21, 2008
calbetapete
,Clovis, CA
"Mine sync'd right away with my i-pod nano. No problems and this is a great addition to the nike+ line. Makes running and working out in the gym a lot more fun."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 49 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

If yours is not working....

, Apr 18, 2008
timbolini
,Langley, BC
"Read the earlier review below noting that the person couldn't get theirs to work. I had the same problem and couldn't find any answers. Finally just tried pulling the sensor out of the iPod then re-inserting (after linking, of course) and presto, it suddenly worked. I pass this along, just in case it works for you too."
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 50 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome

, Apr 17, 2008
fernie0226
,Minot AFB, ND
"I love this watch. It was easy to sync to my ipod. it makes it easier to check your stats while running.Make sure you know your going to be happ[y with the size before you cut it, It is a little stiff though, but stilllove it."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 51 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Color Clarification

, Apr 14, 2008
Goldfishy
,Vassar, MI
"The Deep Nomax Green looks more like a Dark Green Olive
color. The photo looks more black with alittle green. The watch looks nice if you like a Dark Green Oliver color but this review should help with the Deep Nomax Green description because not everyone know what Nomax means.
"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 52 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Needs Improvement

, Apr 14, 2008
Victoria_Stephens
,Fayetteville, GA
"I have only one complaint, it does not work well with small wrists. It keeps on popping off of my wrist. It is not too tight it just will not lie flat. I have not been running for long but I have noticed that a lot of runners have small ligaments. I hope that they will do something about this soon."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 53 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Amp+

, Apr 11, 2008
Dannymo523!
,Greenbelt, MD
"Excellent product and very stylish. It was very easy to sync with my ipod nano. The remote functions work very well. Used it last night for the first time while jogging and truely loved it."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 54 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Technology is wonderful!!!!!

, Apr 9, 2008
jameshoagy
,Louisville, KY
"I have had the AMP+ for one day and I love it for the most part.
One question I have and have yet to find the answer to through my research of the product is if it plays the Nike+ Sport Workouts I have purchased through iTunes. I attempted to run with one of my purchased workouts today and did not receive the commentary from the creator. I will be really upset if these playlists cannot be played when using the AMP+ becasue I have spent over $100 on them.
Other than that, it is absolutely awesome. It was very easy to sync and set up and work very well with my run.
I recommend this product to athletes of all kinds.
If anyone has advice on the Sport Workouts, please post.
Thanks!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 55 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Neat Product, Many Uses

, Mar 27, 2008
soccerstudkb
,Rolla, MO
"First off, if you get this be prepared for your friends to be asking you questions about it. Everytime I use it or check the time on it out in public, someone asks me about it.
I've had mine for a few months now, so I don't remember how exactly I set it up. But I do know that I didn't have any trouble with it.
The remote is really handy for changing songs and getting your run stats while running. I have the armband, but I've been running outside when it's been cold a lot lately, so I have my ipod underneather all my layers making it impossible to change anything on it without the watch.
Like mentioned before, the only downside to it is the display. The LED can't be read outside under bright conditions, but ever other time it's fine. Also, the LED only displays the time, no song or workout information or anything like that.
I've used mine everywear from running and skiing to in my house during parties and in my car to allow me to adjust the music without having to have my ipod next to me messing with it. Oh and the range on mine is amazing. I've been in the basement with my ipod hooked up to the stereo receiver upstairs and been able to change songs.
All in all it's a great product that is very useful, stylish and a great conversation piece.
"
+40points
44of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 56 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Awesome Watch

, Mar 27, 2008
virgo22
,Chatsworth, CA
"Get a lot of compliments, but besides the look the watch is great. The features and benefits of the watch are great for another attachement to awesome program. Even if your not a runner you could just use the watch as a remote control."
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 57 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Fit, Great Features

, Mar 25, 2008
Gryhound
,Maumelle, AR
"Ok.. Unlike the other reviewer at the time of this writing I can say that I was able to get the Amp+ to hook up to my iPod.
I can understand their frustration. The key is when reading the manual to also match the step numbers to the pictures at the bottom of the page. Once I did that I had no problem syncing the watch to the iPod.
Here is what was getting me. The instructions have you clicking away on your iPod then all the sudden you have to hit a button on the watch and they don't make it very clear that you need to push the button on the watch.
After I figured that out the Amp+ worked like a champ.
Also, i had to get some needle nose pliers out to open the band so I could adjust it. Its very tight. But it now has a nice snug fit that I only wish all my watches could come close to. I have small wrists and I have a lot of problems finding men's watches with bands small enough. Kudos to Nike for making this a one size fits all.
One draw back is that the LED's can not be read in direct sunlight. Indoors they are great. Outside at noon you can't see them even if you put your had over the LED to read it.
I took 1/2 star off for the poor instructions for syncing to the iPod and the other 1/2 off for the poor visibility during the day when most people will need to see the readout.
I'd like to have seen Nike also display the current day. I'm always forgetting what day it is and this would have been an easy addon. But the fact that I finally figured out how to end my workout without having to touch my Nano is sweet.
The instructions for the Nano, iPod sports kit say that you should be able to hit the center button to end your workout but I've only been able to pause my workout using this technique. It took the Amp+ to show me that I needed to pause the workout and then hold down the middle button for 3 seconds to end the workout. I have always been pausing the workout and then taking the armband off and navigating the menus on the nano to end the workout.
Great Product, can't wait for version 2.0. Maybe add a heart rate monitor to the watch that will talk back to the iPod and then append your heart beats per minute to your workout graphs when you push the feedback button for "time and distance". Also add the date to the time display and finally make the display bright enough to be read in full sunlight.
If you will add these things I'll upgrade in a New York Minute."
+50points
52of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 58 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Doesn't work

, Mar 24, 2008
ocp_001
,Madison, WI
"Great little watch, but mine doesn't seem to want to link up with my ipod. The manual offers no assistance, and the Apple support knowledge base offers no help either. Some support forum entries add a suggestion or two, but none of them made mine work. I'd love it if it worked, but since it doesn't, I think it's fairly worthless. I could buy a much cooler watch for the same $."
-7points
21of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 59 for Nike Amp+ Sport Remote Control
Overall rating 59 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Cycling with the Amp+

, Mar 18, 2008
davidmperez
,San Pedro, CA
"It's like my answers have been answered. I no longer have to awkwardly reach around back into my cycling jersey to fast forward, replay or turn the volume up or down while riding my road bike. It can now be done all wirelessly with the Amp in conjuction with the Nike Ipod Sport Kit. Thank you Nike!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3