Customer reviews for Nike+ iPod Sensor

Nike+ iPod Sensor

Overall rating:
3.704 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(493 reviews) 493
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 493 reviews
5 Stars
195
4 Stars
130
3 Stars
55
2 Stars
53
1 Star
60
45 out of 5385%of reviewers recommend this product
Members receive free shipping on entire order with a Nike+ Sensor (excludes NikeiD). To redeem this offer, log in or become a member. See details.The Nike+ Sensor: Run tracking made easyThe Nike+ Sensor makes it easy to track your time, distance, pace and more while you run. Afterward, upload your run data to Nikeplus.com, the world's largest running club, where you can monitor your progress, join challenges, map your runs and connect with friends.The sensor is sold individually, so it's ideal if you're due for a replacement, want another one for a second pair of Nike+ ready shoes, or need one to hook up to your Apple device. Apple, the Apple logo, iPod, iPhone, touch and nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.How it WorksSimply place the Nike+ Sensor under the sockliner of your left Nike+ ready shoe and start running to sync it with your Nike+ SportWatch GPS, iPhone 3GS #174; or other Nike+ tracking device. The sensor measures your pace, distance, time elapsed and calories burned. This information is transmitted wirelessly to your device for real-time feedback while you train.What Else You NeedA pair of Nike+ ready shoesMac OS X v10.3.9 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows XP (SP2) Home or ProfessionalInternet access to connect to Nikeplus.comOne of the following: Nike+ SportWatch GPS powered by TomTom (sensor included and optional); Nike+ SportBand (sensor included); iPod nano #174; and Nike+ Receiver; iPod touch #174; 2G; iPhone 3GS #174; or iPhone 4 #174;
Customer reviews for Nike+ iPod Sensor NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Nike + Sensor

, Feb 27, 2009
soulvilla
,Lisle, IL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I love it!!!! It keeps me running even when I want to stop, best system out there. I have been a loyal Nike customer since my first pair of Nike running shoes in high school, many years ago.
My only problem with the system is that the battery does not last long at all. Was I'll sick for two weeks and when I was well enough to start running again, my sensor was dead. I had only had it for two months, they need to come up with a better battery for it. I will give the sensor 5 stars when this problem is fixed.
"
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Love it... while it lasts

, Jun 7, 2010
Balbright
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have to admit I'm pretty new to the whole fitness thing. My wife got me the Ipod touch for christmas and for valentines day the Nike+ to help me in my weight loss goals. I've lost 65 lbs since January 1 and I've got 140.86 miles on my Nike+ shoes. Just killed my first sensor and it was TRAGIC. There was no warning, my Ipod recognized the sensor but after a 52 minute run had recorded 0.00 miles distance (and I'm close to going up a level!). Love the Idea... I appreciate the added motivation. I do wish the sensors were rechargeable or reuseable in some other way."
+21points
21of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Rechargeable Sensor

, Jun 8, 2010
dan_man1
,Torrance, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Could you make the shoe sensors rechargeable?
It is sad and wasteful to throw away a perfectly good motherboard and case just because the battery is dead.
I'm sure the sensor could be placed in a cradle and have the battery charge by induction. My toothbrush does, and it is sealed with no exposed terminals.
replacing the sensor also made me lose my best times and distances.
"
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byFjfod
,Louisville, KY, USA
onDec 26, 2013
I agree. Nike, please make it re-chargable. This is just insane that they last that short...
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 4 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Disappointed

, Sep 23, 2009
Kentk911
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I got my new Nike Air Max running shoes and a sensor two months ago and loved it up until today when I set out for a run and the sensor did not work. Can I only expect this thing to last 2 months? It's a great idea and I really enjoy using it but to have to replace it after only about 20 runs is not good. I wear them only for running, so I know that I did not wear the battery out walking around. Are there any plans to improve on this problem?"
+18points
18of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great but battery needs improvement

, Mar 29, 2011
htnrunner
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"It works well and is integrated well with Ipod players. It pushes me to try and do better every week and I really like that. The only problem I had was with the battery life. Only 1.5 months and it is already done. As much as I love this product I feel Nike should improve battery life or just allow end user to change it without having to buy a new one.
Next version should be :
- rechargeable (via micro usb)
- or have a replaceable battery (like watches)
- or have some mechanism that harnesses energy when the runner is moving to recharge itself
"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Product

, Apr 20, 2010
Kesscalade
,Fontana, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I love being able to run with the Nike+ sensor because it gives me a feeling of accomplishment being able to keep track of and save all my hard workouts. The only one feature I hope they add in the future is the ability to track biking and or stair stepor machines, or other types of work out machine movements. Currently it only tracks actual running, but I'd like to have the ability to track all my different types of cardio workouts."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Sensor won't work

, Jan 22, 2012
sunny1767
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I bought this with new running shoes 3 weeks ago and it won't work any longer. I really loved it, Nike- you need to tweak this. Why are some getting years out of it, and others, it fails fast? I still use the Nike Gps, not sure of the accuracy."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Makes me move

, Nov 29, 2011
Need2Move
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"This has been the motivation to get me moving and off the couch. I could barely make it around the block when I first started, but I am up to almost a mile every night! I would recommend this sensor to anyone wanting motivation!!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

NOT HAPPY

, Jan 14, 2011
AFLORES134
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"WELL I JUST BOUGHT THE THE SENSOR ABOUT ONE WEEK AGO AND I ONLY USED IT TWICE FOR LIKE 30 MINS A TIME. SO IT HONESTLY JUST WORKED FOR ONE HOUR. I WAS VERY DISAPPONITED. I THINK ITS A GREAT DEVICE WHEN IT WORKS. I THINK THEY SHOULD GET A RECHARGABLE BATTERY ON THE SENSORS."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

On my third sensor!

, May 25, 2010
J.S.T.
,Tustin, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I guess they last me on average 2 years. I use my Nike+ about 4 to 5 days a week. Nike + is a great invention!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Doesn't last very long

, Jan 12, 2011
NoWay7370
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I bought one of these to get into running. I love the idea, HOWEVER the sensor has no indicator for the battery life. I tried to use it within a week of purchase and it wouldn't work. Bought 2 more and neither of them lasted more than a week each. VERY upset. I even "turned them off" by holding down the button on the back of the sensor after each run and they still didn't last. I'd pay a little more for a good quality product."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Have Faith Finish The Journey

, Feb 3, 2010
webb30093
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"The first sensor i brought only lasted for 2 runs. I was so mad that Nike would sell something like this with a short battery life that in my mind had to be activated with every bump during the SENSOR journey to my house. But this time I'm am determine to run so trusting the name of Nike I ordered again. One month & 44 miles later no problem. Good Job Second Time."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Works as advertised

, Oct 13, 2009
E25Price
,Enid, OK, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Had no problems with the replacement sensor. I am making sure to use the shoes for running only so I do not wear out the sensor."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Sensor

, Mar 24, 2009
DBear81
,Visalia, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"The sensor is wonderful keeps me on track with my running! I would have given it a 5 start rating but if you use the sensor with other shoes other than Nike+ shoes it doesnt track as well and you have to pause your running to readjust the sensor. Over al it is a great product!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great companion for casual runners

, May 3, 2011
cluelessblues
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"Towards the end of my couch-to-5k experience, I decided that I needed something more robust than the stopwatch function on my cell phone to track my runs. Naturally, I went out and bought an iPod Nano and a Nike+ sensor and receiver kit! I've used the kit for a month, and I have been running three times a week, 5k each time. So far, the sensor has successfully linked up with the receiver with no problems except once. All I had to do to fix the link that time was to rearrange the sensor in my sock. (I don't wear Nike+ shoes, so I put my sensor in my left sock on top of my foot, which seems to work fine.)
I have had no issues with the battery as described in many of the negative reviews, but I do agree that it seems wasteful to have to buy a new sensor every time the battery does run out. I think you should at least be able to get a generous discount on a new sensor if you bring in your old one to recycle into a "new" one with a fresh battery.
I'm not certain of how accurate the calibration is even after I calibrated it on a 400m track (both walking and running), but being able to track my runs helps keep me motivated. Even a ballpark figure of how fast I'm going or how many calories I'm burning is helpful. I also like how I can sync my runs with nikeplus.com and set up various kinds of goals.
All in all, I think it's a pretty good product for a casual runner like me."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Love the size; Hate the battery lif

, Apr 27, 2011
CathyDillon
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"My latest sensor lasted less than 2 months. When I received it, I resynced, and immediately it came up with a low battery alert on the sportsband. Perhaps been sitting on a shelf somewhere for too long? Here I am buying another because I love the simiplicity and ease of use, but am not happy about it......"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Calculation is wrong

, Sep 9, 2010
MsLadyMiranda
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
"I like the idea, my Nike+ sensor worked great the first time I used it, well using the "calorie" setting. When I used the "basic" setting it didn't seem to calculate the distance or calories correctly. When I tried to change the distance it would't let me make a change that large. I know that the distance was incorrect because my friend was also using a tracker and hers was correct.
Also, I don't like how you cant recycle the sensor after your done using it. I mean Apple is all about computer recycling so they should step it up."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Nike+ Sensor

, Jul 12, 2010
mkpusateri
,South Pasadena, CA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"The Nike+ Sensor is great running motivator!! The only drawback is the short battery life. I wish they made one that could be rechargable. That would be the best!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike+ Sensor

, Jun 21, 2010
soxgirl320
,Sinking Spring, PA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I love the nike + sensor and transmitter!! Its really been a motivational factor for my running - its like my own personal trainer that I don't want to let down!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike+ iPod Sensor
Overall rating 493 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

fun device

, Apr 6, 2010
rockinranda
,Liberty, MO, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I totally enjoy using the whole nike+ system. The only thing I wish we could do is turn the old sensor in for a recyling program. All in all, it's great."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 25 next>>