Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike + iPod Sport Kit

Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 254 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
3 out of 475%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike + iPod Sport Kit: Track your runs and listen to musicCombine the Nike + iPod Sport Kit with your Nike+ ready shoes and an iPod nano#174; mobile digital device to track your runs while you listen to music. The kit contains a waterproof, durable Nike+ sensor that fits inside your shoe, as well as a receiver that connects to your iPod nano. (iPod and iPod nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.)How it WorksSimply slip the sensor into the pocket beneath the sockliner of your left Nike+ ready shoe, connect the receiver to your iPod nano and start running. The sensor measures your pace, distance, time elapsed and calories burned. This information is transmitted wirelessly to the receiver and your Nike+ tracking device for real-time feedback while you train. Join the World's Largest Running ClubBecome a member of nikeplus.com, the world's largest running club, and you can track your progress, join challenges, map your routes and connect with friends. Apple, the Apple logo, iPod and nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.What Else You NeedA pair of Nike+ ready shoesAn iPod nano Mac OS X v10.3.9 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows XP (SP2) Home or ProfessionalInternet access to connect to Nikeplus.comAfter 30 days, Nike + iPod Sport Kits must be unopened to receive a refund or exchange. Nike Factory Stores cannot accept returns on Apple iPod nano or Nike + iPod Sport Kits.
Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Stupid way to do things!

, Aug 18, 2012
PotsdamEd
,Helsinki, FINLAND
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"Why you dont do it for iPhone 4S????
I don't use iPod...
"
-19points
4of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

very inaccurate

, Feb 8, 2011
KatD1221
,Chapel Hill, NC, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I just bought this item a few days ago and I have since used it on 2 different runs. Both times the ipod reported incorrect distances and pace. I even drove the course just to be sure and found out that the ipod registered over a mile and a half greater than reality and a minute faster pace. I wish I had kept the box so it could be returned."
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhadda20j
onDec 10, 2012
Easy fix to your problem: Calibrate your ipod + sensor! Instructions can be found online or in the booklet.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
Inaccurate Distance :(
onJan 9, 2012
I used the Nike + Ipod and used it for 2 years motivated and excited about my performace. Unfortunately, I used it in my first 10K and found that my mileage registered at 7.5 miles? This was very disappointing for me as I discovered I have not been clocking in the miles that I thought I had. FRUSTRATED!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 3 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Failed After 4 Runs

, Oct 2, 2010
barefoot lover
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"The Nike + iPod Sport Kit is a great product, but it failed after 4 runs. I will take it back to the store and see if they will replace it. The software occassionally ends the work-out so it has to be started over sometimes. Product quality is lacking the typical Nike and Apple quality."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Too long to register

, Aug 10, 2010
totravel
,USA
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
""Walk around to activate your sensor" I HATE THESE WORDS! and how long must it take anyway? walk, walk, walk I do half my workout before the stupid this activates. Plus you need to be walking 2.5 mph for it to even activate, how lame and how unthinking of the people who might be using or wanting to use this product."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Already Bought two...

, Jun 15, 2010
AndyBeronia
,San Jose, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I love the product EXCEPT it has a problem with it's sensitivity which the end result means the product just stops working... it's like it freezes and will not turn on again. I have had this problem twice... there's a bug in it that won't allow for long use. Try to make this product a little bit more tuff to withstand the pounding!"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Disappointed

, Apr 25, 2010
laurabug5
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have an ipod classic and is very upset that this won't work with it. I know they say that you shouldn't run with your classic since it's hardware based, i do anyways because I go on long runs and like having all my music with me. It should be a choice if someone wants to take the chance to use this on their ipod. Just saying... I will be returning this product tomorrow."
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Teacher/Coach

, Apr 13, 2010
JohnDarnell
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I cannot get the sensor to be recognized by my iPod Nano. I am not using it."
-6points
2of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Feedback: Nike Ipod

, May 19, 2009
Shonuf
,Chicago, IL, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"This was the second time I purchased the Nike Ipod. First one served me well for over a year. Bought replacement sensor and it didn't capture all of my run on the first time out. Quantity should not replace the quality of the product. Disappointed consumer."
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Didn't work

, Apr 25, 2009
FatE
,Sanford, NC, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I bought this to replace the old one I had hooked to my nanno. It didn't work and was giving me all sorts of funny errors. I don't know if this is b/c I have an old Nano or what. My software on the nano has the latest version available according to apple. Oh well waste of money again."
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

iPod Sport Kit

, Apr 14, 2009
LadyVaniaW
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"i love my Nike sneaks however both items of the nike sport kit that I have purchase most recently are not working, I have followed the instruction on how to activate them and still nothing. I have not been able to seek further assistant because I am constantly busy. I need help!
Vania"
-3points
6of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Happy

, Mar 23, 2009
lorilouwho92
,Richland, WA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I am hugely disappointed in this product. I CANNOT get this to calibrate! I typically walk on a treadmill at my gym, although I DO use the track, and no matter what I try, it WILL NOT calibrate to the same distance that I actually walk. Thank goodness, I did not spend a lot of money on thi.s product"
+2points
11of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The description needs to be better

, May 22, 2008
Medic Mac
,Goshen, IN
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"I was looking forward to using this product, but got very disappointed when it came. It is part my fault; I did not realize that the Nike+ does not work on the 4g Ipod’s that have picture, movie and video. I may purchase the wrist Nike+, but that money may go into my gas tank."
+30points
42of 54voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Mileage is off even after calibration

, Aug 5, 2013
cassie418
,Buffalo, NY, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I purchased the Nike + IPod running kit to help me train for my half marathon this coming September. I recently discovered on my 8 mile run that the mileage was significantly off. My running partner uses the same program, but has an Iphone and uses the program through her phone. she never is off on her mileage. When we run together we both press start workout at the same time. My program tells me I have completed the workout 2 miles before my partner's program says we are complete. I have read the manual several times and am left feeling very frustrated."
-21points
11of 43voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not as expected.

, Oct 4, 2010
yzandrl
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I believe that the failure is in myself with the expectations I had. I expected the device to:
Sync with my iphone 3gs (fail)
Sync with my ipod (success)
Calibrate with limited accuracy (fail)
Provide pace count (fail)
Intergrate with GPS (success)
Provide tracking of movement (success)
Not destroy the battery in the time it takes to run a marathon (fail)
So, I would not recommend the product to others seeking similiar abilities.."
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

could be better

, May 3, 2010
varunkapila
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"its a great concept no doubt. and i like it for being able to keep a track of how much time i spend exercising.
but there are things which could work better.
1 the caliberation is completely wrong. i have tried twice to recaliberate - but each time it tells me the same irrirating though honest reply that the distance i have walked is not equal to distance it thinks i walked.
2 secondly - why cant there be an option to select whether you are going to walk or run? i only use this to walk and i dont want to report the walks as runs!
3 even on this review page there is no option to record how much one walks!
"
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nike +

, Apr 5, 2010
Sue1951
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"OK - maybe it's me - but I'm having LOTS of trouble getting this to work. I've tried putting the chip to sleep - I've tried waking it up - it seems to have a difficult time recognizing that I'm there - or at least a difficult time transmitting that information to my IPod! Wish there were some local "tech support"!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great idea. Poor design

, Sep 13, 2009
rgruver
,Roswell, GA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Unfortunately I'm addicted to my Sport Kit. I'm on my third receiver and second nano. The problem is the receiver keeps shorting out when I run. I live in a humid environment and no matter what I do, sweat shorts out the receiver and once it shorted out my nano. Couldn't use the receiver or sync my nano after that.
I've also had some of the problems that other people report like not being able to calabrate properly even when I run on a treadmill.
I've had no problems with the transmitter or the software."
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nike+ iPod kit

, Feb 7, 2009
Kaleio
,Shelton, WA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I really love this gadget, but I'm really disappoined how quickly two of my sensors have stopped working. One stopped after only 3.77 hours!"
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

I just bought my third one today...

, Nov 11, 2008
lheyward
,Raleigh, NC
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Ok, this is undoubtedly a revolutionary product - I can't argue with that. However, I'm writing this post to warn any new buyers to save your receipt and register your warranty. I bought my first one a couple years ago and since then have bought two more. The first two stopped working. No - it wasn't asleep and it wasn't off - I tried just about every trick you can find online to fix the broken ones (I still have them) but nothing worked. The iPod would never find the sensor - no matter how hard I tried. Granted, I wasn't running every single day - but I also didn't go months without using either. In fact, the last one to break was in heavy rotation at the time it stopped working and I swear I had only owned it for a couple of months. So take heed, register your warranty and keep up with your receipt. I know I will."
+10points
13of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not that bad!?

, Jun 17, 2008
Platyrunner!
,fairlawn, OH
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Its a really cool system...I wish you did not need to buy the shoes with it!And its also off by 15min.and about .10 miles! And it could also be a bit smaller!"
+2points
18of 34voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>