Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike + iPod Sport Kit

Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 254 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
3 out of 475%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike + iPod Sport Kit: Track your runs and listen to musicCombine the Nike + iPod Sport Kit with your Nike+ ready shoes and an iPod nano#174; mobile digital device to track your runs while you listen to music. The kit contains a waterproof, durable Nike+ sensor that fits inside your shoe, as well as a receiver that connects to your iPod nano. (iPod and iPod nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.)How it WorksSimply slip the sensor into the pocket beneath the sockliner of your left Nike+ ready shoe, connect the receiver to your iPod nano and start running. The sensor measures your pace, distance, time elapsed and calories burned. This information is transmitted wirelessly to the receiver and your Nike+ tracking device for real-time feedback while you train. Join the World's Largest Running ClubBecome a member of nikeplus.com, the world's largest running club, and you can track your progress, join challenges, map your routes and connect with friends. Apple, the Apple logo, iPod and nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.What Else You NeedA pair of Nike+ ready shoesAn iPod nano Mac OS X v10.3.9 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows XP (SP2) Home or ProfessionalInternet access to connect to Nikeplus.comAfter 30 days, Nike + iPod Sport Kits must be unopened to receive a refund or exchange. Nike Factory Stores cannot accept returns on Apple iPod nano or Nike + iPod Sport Kits.
Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike+ and Me

, Oct 11, 2010
mynameischad
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"Got my Nike+ shoes and this iPod adapter and its absolutely amazing. Makes some of the tediousness and mundane of my run so much more fun with visual feed back and free stats service. It's really a motivator!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good product

, Feb 26, 2011
ja3369
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Great product. Wish it came with a holder to attach to your shoes that are not Nike."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Sensors

, Jan 19, 2011
khdefreese
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately loose
Runs Tight
Runs Loose
"I use three different sensors, one for each pair of shoes I run in. Once calibrated they work great and if installed correctly you should not even feel the sensor."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Nike + Ipod

, Jan 6, 2011
Frostybottom
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"So far so good. Seems to work. Nike site very slow to add runs onto challenges from it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

love it

, Feb 27, 2011
jasminechz
,San Francisco, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I love this little thing...It keeps me on track with my goals and it's fun to use nike.com's features...and inside my shoe, I don't even know it's there."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Helped improved my time.

, Sep 23, 2013
CLAY
,Clinton, TN
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I've been running 5 miles 3 days a week for over a year. After getting this and tracking my progress I found where I was losing time. This has shaved 1 minute and 10 seconds off my mile. I am now running at the front of the pack in all my races."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I love this product

, Dec 5, 2011
EACarpenter
,MD
Fit 
neutral
Runs Tight
Runs Loose
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been using this for almost a year now, and I absolutely love it. I used the little carry-on that you buy for it before I got Nike+ shoes, but in the shoes or in the carry-on attached to my shoe strings it works great. It has been extremely helpful in monitoring my distance and time, but has been most handy when I am in an unfamiliar place, because it monitors my distance. Since I am relegated to walking, I also use it to challenge myself to increase my pace."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byHollieMollie
,New Zealand
Carry-on Attachment
onDec 15, 2011
Hi. Really interested in buying this product but not ready for a new pair of shoes just yet. Any idea where I can purchase the carry-on attachment to put on my shoe? Have searched this site but can't seem to find anything. Thanks in advance!
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 8 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike+

, Mar 27, 2011
Noah Mercier
,Manitowoc, WI, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have found this to be a very helpful tool during my workouts to get me to where I want to be physically for cross country and track & field races. The live feedback feature makes Nike+ great for doing tempo runs and other workouts that require good monitoring of pace, time, and speed. The chip is unoticeable once placed in the shoe and is just as comfortable as the shoe you're wearing. Overall, it has been a great product so far, displaying the outstanding quality of Nike and thier products."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Not for iPhone, only iPod Nano

, Aug 30, 2010
livestrong007
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"This is a cool product - I do hate that it prompts me to walk around everytime I use it. Otherwise, it's a great way to stay motivated while running/jogging when working out. I especially love the PowerSong button on the iPhone so when you're feeling lazy later on in the workout, there's a boost of music to get you motivated.
One note: you don't need the Nike+ iPod Sport Kit if you have an iPhone or iPod Touch. Only purchase the iPod Sport Kit it if you have an iPod Nano. This particular unit comes with a wireless transmitter for iPod Nano that is not needed on iPhone & iPod Touch because the sensor is built into these two devices.
Instead, if you have an iPhone or iPod Touch, you only need to purchase the Nike+ sensor, which will save you $10 which you can put toward your next race entrance fee.
That said, this is a fun product to use and the Nike+ app is built into the iPhone/iPod Touch's settings."
+45points
46of 47voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazingly great and fun system to use!!!

, Apr 17, 2008
SkiRacer
,Ithaca, NY
"I got Nike+ for my first generation iPod nano and I have loved using it ever since. One of the greatest features is the online challenges you can make and compete in on the Nike+ website. This is a must buy for any runner, great or trying to become great!
Pros: Everything about it, easy to use and works with iTunes which makes it a breeze with automatically updating runs to Nike+
Cons: Can't register heart rate and isn't extreamely accurate when it comes to distance, and a little pricey
Overall amazing product!!!"
+31points
32of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Battery needs improvement

, May 25, 2008
runman66
,Garden Grove, CA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"The kit is great except for one thing: the sensor's battery. It doesn't last as they tolds us it would. It's understandable, but the hardest part is to replace it because the only place where you can buy a sensor is online, at the Nikestore website. So you have to wait a few days to get it. Not cool."
+35points
37of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Really, Really Good

, Aug 4, 2008
critterky
,Franklinton,
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have had the Nike + iPod Sport Kit for a few weeks now, and it has worked wonderfully. Just don't let the sensor turn on its side in your shoe or it won't track your miles correctly. Other than that, I don't have anything bad to say about this product. It is simply awesome."
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love love love it!

, Mar 17, 2009
des10rob
,Largo, FL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have been looking at the Nike + iPod Sport Kit for at least a year or two now after seeing it on Oprah. It was one of those things that I wanted to buy but kept finding 100 reasons why I shouldn't/couldn't buy it. Why did I waste so much time exercising WITHOUT IT. The voice commands and tracking of how far and fast I've ran make me accountable and encourage me to run farther, longer and burn more calories everytime. I have been running for a little over a week and have already ran 15 times, covered over 35 miles and spent 10.5 hourse excersing! Tell me that isn't worth the money!"
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

There's only one change I'd like to see.

, Aug 24, 2008
atomthompson
,Offutt AFB, NE
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I really like this product, I use it with my i-pod, it's nice to hear what mile I'm at without having to look for markers in the pavement. The only thing I wish was different is the display on the i-pod. I'm more interested in being able to easily see my pace, not my distance. So if that could later be changed that would be great. It's hard to see the pace while running without slowing down and thus throwing off the pace counter. So hey Nike, how about a customizable display???"
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nike Plus

, Jun 10, 2008
esteward
,Ruston, LA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"It is a shame that the battery is not replaceable. This is my second purchase of this product due to the battery in the sensor expiring. Nike should really have this replaceable or rechargeable. Other than that it is a good product."
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

NIke + ipod sport kit

, Aug 3, 2009
jmontilla
,Antioch, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"This was a charm and easy to set up. I calibrated my walking and
running easily.
You don't need a nike+ plus shoe to get this to work."
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great tool for iPod Nano and Touch

, May 19, 2009
fhzwart
,Montgomery, IL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have used the iPod Sport Kit since it first came out. This one I purchased for my wife who also just started running. I really enjoy the ease of use and find that it is pretty acurate in most cases and especially if you take the time to calibrate it.
The fun part of the sport kit is that the Nike + website adds many functions to keep you motivated and involved in the sport of running. You can challenge others with Nike + Sport Kits from all over the world. you can set goals for distance, calories, number of runs and also use professionally developed training programs.
I recommend this to anyone that runs and has a iPod Nano or Touch 2nd generation."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

MOTIVATION PLUS

, Aug 18, 2009
hmercer
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I cannot praise this highly enough. Have had mine since early July. It is now mid August and I would have to say it is the single most reason that I have stayed motivated to keep running. I have now logged over 100 miles with it! I even printed my 100 mile achievement certificate it generated for me online. I am so delighted with my improvements in my running distance and pace! I love how it calibrates everything for me so I do not need to be concerned with anything other than enjoying my running! I like that I can simply touch the center button at anytime when I'm running to gather feedback, as I run, too! Then letting it do all the work to track it all my data by loading into the online site makes this a dream!!! I am touting this amazing gizmo to everyone I know that runs or walks for fitness f un. Thank you for keeping this so affordable, too!"
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nike+ iPod kit

, Feb 7, 2009
Kaleio
,Shelton, WA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I really love this gadget, but I'm really disappoined how quickly two of my sensors have stopped working. One stopped after only 3.77 hours!"
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great

, Aug 4, 2008
AlexKaczor
,Rotterdam Jct., NY
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have had this product for more than a year and love it. I highly recomend the Nike Amp watch to control your music and track your millage and everything else. It is also very convenient because I am not a great runner so I can help set goals and see where I need to improve. It is also great because I don't want to travel to race in the Nike Human Race 10K when I can do it at home without other people around me!"
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>