Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike + iPod Sport Kit

Overall rating:
4.315 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(254 reviews) 254
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 254 reviews
5 Stars
153
4 Stars
61
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
9
1 Star
12
3 out of 475%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike + iPod Sport Kit: Track your runs and listen to musicCombine the Nike + iPod Sport Kit with your Nike+ ready shoes and an iPod nano#174; mobile digital device to track your runs while you listen to music. The kit contains a waterproof, durable Nike+ sensor that fits inside your shoe, as well as a receiver that connects to your iPod nano. (iPod and iPod nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.)How it WorksSimply slip the sensor into the pocket beneath the sockliner of your left Nike+ ready shoe, connect the receiver to your iPod nano and start running. The sensor measures your pace, distance, time elapsed and calories burned. This information is transmitted wirelessly to the receiver and your Nike+ tracking device for real-time feedback while you train. Join the World's Largest Running ClubBecome a member of nikeplus.com, the world's largest running club, and you can track your progress, join challenges, map your routes and connect with friends. Apple, the Apple logo, iPod and nano are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.What Else You NeedA pair of Nike+ ready shoesAn iPod nano Mac OS X v10.3.9 or later, Windows Vista, or Windows XP (SP2) Home or ProfessionalInternet access to connect to Nikeplus.comAfter 30 days, Nike + iPod Sport Kits must be unopened to receive a refund or exchange. Nike Factory Stores cannot accept returns on Apple iPod nano or Nike + iPod Sport Kits.
Customer reviews for Nike + iPod Sport Kit NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great idea.....no luck calibrating it.

, Apr 11, 2008
gpacra
,Irvine, CA
"Can't get this to work accurately. I love the idea of this and have even seen it work for other people. I ran 10 miles (measured by my running club so it should be fairly accurate) and my Nike+ came up with 8.9 miles. Times (average per mile/not the actual time running)were far enough off to make this product useless. I went out and ran the distance (1/4 of a mile) around a tract 5 times to calibrate per instructions. No Luck. Considering the expense of the new Nano, Nike + shoes, and 30 dollar sport kit, it is pretty frustrating to say the least. Instructions were minimal."
+70points
80of 90voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Love it but its already dead

, Sep 16, 2012
designsbybbdk
,Denver, CO, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I was so excited to have this technology.
I just got this item the end of August, and the sensor is no longer being recognized. I read the instructions, and I take it out of my shoe every day after I get done walking with it. Today I am ready to challenge myself and hopefully go for 5 miles, and all of a sudden my sensor is not being recognized. What a bummer.
Nike.... please work on this. Love the technology, but so bummed right now.
"
-5points
14of 33voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bywackas
,Bundaberg Australia
onSep 8, 2013
Ditto I bought mine in March and it has stopped working as well seems could be faulty units floating around
I agree Nike should look into this.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 23 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Time to update for interval trainin

, Sep 2, 2011
UIkey
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I love using the Sport Kit with the newest Nano but its time to have a time-based interval training mode and cadence count! Nike+, let's get with the newest training methods."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Sensor and Foot

, Oct 14, 2010
hsr1911
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I have the kit and the sensor hurts the bottom on my foot. I am not sure if it is the shoe but it irritates me. But the functionality is great."
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nike + sensor

, Jun 14, 2010
cfhofmann
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"It was great when I first started useing it. It was nice to be able to have a rercord of each of my runs. The bummer is that the sensor last only about 100 miles when we are forced to get at new one. On my last three runs, the sensor has been cheating me out of almost 3 miles a run. Boy do I hate that!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

ipod classic

, May 5, 2010
AllenSantiago
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"I was really excited to receive this product in the mail and get to running. However, as I read the instruction booklet I learned that this product does not work with an ipod classic. It looks like a great product and would really help my daily fitness routine. But I'm not going to purchase an ipod nano or an ipod touch to use it when I already have an ipod classic."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Fun little Gadget to play with.

, Mar 30, 2010
GadgetGypsy
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Seriously over priced for no more than it actually is; but it does make the run more interesting! It connects with my iPod Touch without any trouble. I am only concerned for how long the battery will last then do I have to replace the unit or do I only replace the battery?!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nike+ Kit

, Mar 11, 2010
gijane322
,Dumfries, VA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"I bought this kit to have a spare for when my other one ran out, but had to start using it right away, the single sensor I bought with this kit isn't working. Now this sensor, used for the first time today stops, gives me the message, " your workout has been stopped, press the center button to begin your workout" this happened a total of four times today on my 4mile run. It also didn't tack my miles correctly, only docemented 3.5... I was bummed..
My first three kits were outstanding.. Maybe I just a factory defect...Normally I l ove my Nike+ kit
"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Works as Advertised

, Jan 26, 2010
axl1972
,Jacksonville, FL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"One of the only Nike + products I have not had issues with."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

GREAT PRODUCT

, Sep 21, 2009
tccat
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"PURCHASED ON 09/16/09. USED ONE TIME, NOW SENSOR READS LOW BATTERY. LOVED THE INFO, WHAT'S WITH THE BATTERY LIFE."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

NIke + ipod sport kit

, Aug 3, 2009
jmontilla
,Antioch, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"This was a charm and easy to set up. I calibrated my walking and
running easily.
You don't need a nike+ plus shoe to get this to work."
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Sensor 2

, Jul 10, 2009
Miatacyn
,Walnut Creek, CA, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Had to purchase 2nd sensor because 3rd generaton i-pod didn't recognise orginal sensor. Kept stating to connect sensor when it was already connected. New one seems to work fine with either i-pod . You and Apple should get on the same page. Sensors should be interchangable with all i-pods owned by a single person."
+11points
13of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

B-

, Apr 25, 2009
2fastblondes04
,Newport, RI, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! The feedback and software is fantastic, I run every day and I've been using the product for 3 years. I've had to replace it 8 times though, one time I returned 4 sensors/receivers in less than a week becausr they didn't work! It takes a while to actually find one that works, but once you do, you're in for a heck of an great run! Also, I like that you can male/female voice, and that celebrities congradulate you after acheiving goals.
Overall, amazing!"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

GREAT concept...FAIR reliability

, Jan 3, 2009
WWWiggins
,Hampton Cove, AL
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"This kit is fantastic for beginning runners who need to learn their pace. When it works correctly, you can easily upload the data to Nike+.com to track runs and analyze data. However, the one big drawback is that the sensor is in constant need of calibration. I can run the exact same route on different days and get different distances. Its frustrating! Also, sometimes during runs the sensor stops connecting with the iPod and skews your pace severely!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Pretty neat little device, but ...

, Dec 18, 2008
vk1
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"It's almost impossible to find a case for this thing and my second-generation Nano, since the Nike case is a joke and regular cases are too short. Unless you have pencil-thin arms, you're out of luck -- and that's only if you can find a Nike case for an older Nano (some of us refuse to buy new MP3 players every year). While Marware made a Nike + case for this thing that had good reviews, you can't find it anywhere. Right now, I keep the Nano in my pocket or in my hand when using this thing, and that is a real pain (it is also dangerous for your Nano). On some longer workouts, I don't even use it all together."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Interesting Addition

, Aug 4, 2008
CFrig
,Manhattan, KS
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"I've enjoyed this after a little difficulty calibrating. I don't listen to updates while I'm running, but I really enjoy analyzing at the runs once on the computer."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Didnt work, sending it back for another one.

, Jul 23, 2008
OTooleNoel
,Monaca, PA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I purchesed this for myself and the chip does not work. I purchesed this for my wife last year and loved it. Would recommened to anyone who needs that extra motivation or would like to track the distance they run. The web site that charts your progress is very cool. Like the product but need one that works..... and yes i have turn on the chip!"
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nike Plus

, Jun 10, 2008
esteward
,Ruston, LA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"It is a shame that the battery is not replaceable. This is my second purchase of this product due to the battery in the sensor expiring. Nike should really have this replaceable or rechargeable. Other than that it is a good product."
+31points
34of 37voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Calibration

, Jun 3, 2008
hazrook
,Strongsville, OH
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I really like the concept of this product, but haven't been able to calibrate it correctly yet. It show my runs as longer than I've actually run and sometimes it shows some of my miles times as extremely fast (faster than I've ever run)."
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Nike + iPod Sport Kit
Overall rating 254 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Battery needs improvement

, May 25, 2008
runman66
,Garden Grove, CA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"The kit is great except for one thing: the sensor's battery. It doesn't last as they tolds us it would. It's understandable, but the hardest part is to replace it because the only place where you can buy a sensor is online, at the Nikestore website. So you have to wait a few days to get it. Not cool."
+35points
37of 39voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 next>>