Customer reviews for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

iPod nano 8G (6th generation)

Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
3
The 6th generation iPod nano#174;: A new way to nanoRedesigned for music and Multi-Touch, the iPod nano is smaller and lighter than ever. You can clip it to your sleeve, jacket or running shorts and keep your favorite songs at your fingertips#8212;along with the Genius feature, a built-in FM radio, a pedometer and more. The anodized aluminum finish makes this new design even more brilliant.Apple, the Apple logo and iPod are registered trademarks of Apple, Inc.Benefits1.5-inch Multi-Touch color display with 240-by-240 pixel resolutionInnovative Multi-Touch user interfaceAlmost half the size and weight of the previous versionNike+ readyUse your iPod nano 8G (6th generation) to get real-time feedback on your time, distance, pace and calories burned. You don't even need a Nike+ sensor or receiver. Additional DetailsBuilt-in volume controlsBuilt-in FM radio with Live PauseBuilt-in pedometerUp to 24 hours of music playback
Customer reviews for iPod nano 8G (6th generation) NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love it!

, Sep 18, 2012
geb910
,Oregon, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I had a 1st generation Ipod which was wonderful at this time, but this one is perfect. Just the right size and love the touchscreen. It is great to be able to use the Nike Fitness function while listening to music and not running my cellphone out of battery life!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Music and Radio Player, But...

, Sep 13, 2012
icerunnerusa
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"This is a great music and radio player and love working out with it. Nice to have something that is not bulky. Another great thing is the ability to make it a watch. However, the one complaint I have is the ear buds. The standard ear buds Apple sells are not compatable with every ear. That is my only complaint and nothing about the player itself."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Ipod nano 8G- Am annoyed

, Jul 30, 2012
nuclear1
,New York, NY, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I really wanted it for a long time. My wife surprised me with it and I was so happy. I tried to configure this thing to connect to the site and it will not. Really annoyed! I have checked every forum and spent hours on this thing and can't get it to upload my data to the site. The sync with the sensor in my shoe is also a bit flaky, so not sure about that either. I am going to run with tomorrow to see if the run data triggers anything. If not. Back to the store with this."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great motivator, tool, and music player

, Jul 11, 2012
eaw1995
,Boston, MA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"The combo of nike plus with the nano is spectacular and keeps me on my toes to keep running faster and farther. Even with no calibration, my nano tracks distance very accurately when compared with an iPhone on the same run. So easy to just clip on your shorts or shirt and run. I love my nano!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

nike+ nano does not work

, Jul 10, 2012
eleanor17
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"No matter what I do, no matter what nike+ support does (and I have spent hours on the phone with them) -- the nano does NOT record workouts accurately. Mileage and time are off by significant factors -- 12 minutes instead of 65 minutes. 1.7 miles instead of 3.5 miles. 72 calories instead of 400.
The ipod nano is great for listening to music. Just don't bother trying to participate in the nike+ site or community with it. Total waste of effort. You're better off tracking your workouts manually."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bysvencali
,CA
Agreed.
onJul 26, 2012
I wish I read this review earlier. Bought the Nano, and it does not sync Walk workouts to Nike+ and will not for an indefinite amount of time. Total waste and very upset.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Be very careful wearing this when working out

, Jun 11, 2012
mcd410x
,St. Pete
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
moderately low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Three weeks in, my 6th gen screen died because of sweat seeping into it from running. Very poorly designed. I only used it with an arm band. Even with it pointed down the sweat got in it.
Three days in rice and still no joy. I think this is the last Apple product for me."
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byLuftwaffe673
,Bucharest
Same problem here
onSep 24, 2012
I'm on my second nano, I only bought a second one because i need something compact with that clip-on and with huge storage. But if you use it for running make sure sweat wont get near it... After a HIIT session it worked for another few hours then screen started flicking, then white screen. Buying a replacement screen didn't do the trick, it was the logic board... so if you go out running with this awesome but poorly designed thing, better wear one of those protective silicone case, it's got space for the clip to pop out but it seals the ipod so it is excelent... Too bad apple didn't env seal this thing properly they made it for active ppl and active ppl sweat a lot... but otherwise its fun to use it on running, also combined with the HRM belt
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Hit the target... missed the mark

, Jan 23, 2012
Hoagie1
,Fort Wayne, IN, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
neutral
Low quality
High quality
"I've been running with this little nano for a month now and I'm just not getting it. I run, I calibrate and it's frustrating that I'm off by at least .25 nearly every time I run. In addition, the calories calculated for a miscalculated run, are not converted. Example. I ran a 3 miler on Saturday. The Nano said I ran 3.23. I calibrated back to 3, but my calaries were not calculated. I also found the same issue with a klunky touch screen that others are seeing. I need to turn the nano off, so that the device doesn't inadvertently pause my workout or change songs. That can be a pain when you're running on a treadmill. I used to just feel for the center button on my previous nano and the powersong would play. I could skip songs, repeat, all with one finger. Not so much with this little thing.
As a backgrounder, I've been running with the NikePlus for over 5 years. This is my 3rd nano and I run 50 miles per month. I use these devices a lot and this one, unfortunately, is the worst one.
I'll use it until it dies, but I'd love to see a software update to fix the calibration issues."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good buy for what it is, not what it isn't.

, Nov 20, 2011
rking149
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I have been running with Ipod 6Gs ever since they came out (I have a really bad track record with ipods--i've washed and dried 3).
The touchscreen works well, and flips orientation when the Ipod is turned on its side (if you so choose). Mine stopped flipping after a few months, which is not really a big deal--just one of two reasons I gave it four stars and not five. (For those who haven't figured it out, you can skip to the next song on the playlist by hitting the "sleep" button twice instead of using the touch screen). I also haven't had issues with my hands being sweating interfering with the screen.
It has optimal room for photos and music that you need (or like) on the run. (It's a Nano--if you want more features than music, photo, alarm clock, and pedometer you're looking for something else like a regular Ipod touch). Speaking of the pedometer, I find that mine never worked properly (the other reason I gave it four stars). I would go for a run and it would tell me i took 200 steps--definitely not the case.
I have never used the Nike+ sensor in conjunction with my nano because I hear those run out of battery quickly, and you have to buy another sensor. The battery life of the Nano 6G is fantastic. I find that I am able to get 10+hrs of continuous play, or go weeks without having to worry about recharging it after workouts (4-5 times per week for about 1.5hrs each session).
Overall, I really like the Ipod Nano 6G (and I usually HATE Apple products). I have tried others (Zune, iRiver), but the Ipod Nano is my choice music player and running companion."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bychrischross
,San Francisco Bay Area
calibration needed
onApr 17, 2012
I've read your review and I did have some of the issues you mentioned (like the inaccuracy of the pedometer). but going through the iPod user manual, i found that you can calibrate the Nike+ app to make it more accurate and it does work. You need to run/jog for a quarter mile, stop, calibrate, rate another quarter mile, calibrate( did this cycle 4 time and i got close to perfect/pinpoint accuracy.
+7points
8of 9voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not Ideal with Nike +

, Jan 3, 2012
Anonymous
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
slightly high quality
Low quality
High quality
"Using this with NIke + is a nightmare. I have been putting the ipod in my jacket pocket to keep it from getting wet. As I am running and I want to check my pace/distance or use my power song, I have to dig around in my pocket and pull it out, then push the sleep/wake button, then swipe the screen to get to the next screen for the power song. Sounds simple enough but this is a real pain when you are trying to run and keep your pace. Many times while fumbling around I've accidently hit other buttons like pause or stop workout which screws up my nike+ workout data. The older models were just one push of a button. Also, there are no armbands available for protection from rain/sweat. There is a wristband but again it is not waterproof and then you are trying to run with a cord dangling from your wrist that gets in the way as you're pumping your arms. If you want this just for music its great but no one thought this through for running. I am returning this because I use my ipod 99% of the time for running & I live where it rains a lot."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

amazing little machine

, Nov 2, 2011
shimmyjimmy97
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"outstanding
its small, has a clip, ightweight, built in pedometer, basically everything a runner needs
"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AMAZING

, Oct 12, 2011
jontherocket
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I got this for my birthday and I LOVE IT. One thing is it doesnt have apps or wifi which is the donwside, but for listening to music while running its amazing. It works great with nike+ just got it about a week ago. Its also a cool watch too. You can buy watch bands and it has 18 different watch faces. When im not using to listen to music or run its my watch. Overall this thing rocks!"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Nano is a NONO

, Aug 29, 2011
dhkski
,Houston, TX, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
very low quality
Low quality
High quality
"I dislike the ipod so much its almost ruining my life. The touch screen is not practical when you are running, getting sweat on it makes changing playlist or anything next to impossible. Sweating is also a killer by water damaging the device. I've done this to 2 of them. Do not buy."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

lol LOL!!!!

, Sep 15, 2011
Krizti
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I LOVE THIS IPOD!!!! it is fun to listen to it hold alot of songs and pictures and right now i have about 2,360 pics on my ipod!!!!"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Apple ipod Nano 6th Generation

, Mar 27, 2011
Noah Mercier
,Manitowoc, WI, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"Is a great little iPod and is what I would call perfect for runners due to its compact, lightweight design. It would be nice if it played video, had wifi access, and could take apps but it is perfect for just playing music during a run. Also, I have been very pleased with the Nike+ compatibility of the Nano and would recommend the Nike+ system to any runners who have purchased the Nano already and want to up their game when it comes to training. Overall, I have had no problems with it but it is a bit over priced for what it acually is capible of doing."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

edward sargent

, Apr 4, 2011
desarge2u
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I use my nano as a wrist watch. I am a dance Instructor and use my nano as a wrist watch, my ste caounter, and to play my music while I am teaching and walking or jogging to and from the studio. the best thing I purchased. I wish it hasd a App fro siruis radio then it would be the best thing I have ever purchased. it wouold be nice if they made a wrist band tooo but I made my own"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Counting steps

, Jan 29, 2011
tdeloache
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"Counting steps is important because you should walk/jog at least 10,000 steps daily to stay in shape and be healthy. It takes most people 2,000 steps to go one mile. I've used an iPod Shuffle for years along with a seperate pedometer so I was really excited to try the new Nano with a built in pedometer. I got one for Christmas along with the Nike + iPod Sensor and have used it almost daily ever since. It's harder to change songs during a workout with the new Nano and I'm having a hard time figuring out how to use it with the Sensor because the instructions are for the old Nano or an iPod Touch or iPhone. The pedometer is pretty accurate as I still also wear my old pedometer to keep track of my calories, miles and steps taken when not wearing the Nano. You can track calories and miles and a lot of other things using the Sensor but I will have to go into my local Apple retail store to have them tell me how to set it up. The Nano also has a much shorter battery life so I have to sync it almost every day compared to the Shuffle that could go at least a week without charging."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
This review is fromiPod nano 8G (6th generation).
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love it!

, Feb 4, 2011
blulu2011
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
very high quality
Low quality
High quality
"I really like the new 6th generation green iPod nano! I have only one problem... because it is so small you cannot download apps or music videos and be able to use them. I would love it if you could read books on it (like the kindle) because I was reading the terms and agreements and I could read it sucessfully so I think it would be really cool to be able to download books. I would definitly reccommned this product!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nano yay; Pedometer <pbthlth>.

, Dec 4, 2010
KAHoff
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I also share some frustration with the pedometer; I walked 1.56 miles in 41 minutes, (on a treadmill, so I know time/distance is accurate) using 3,950 steps. According to my 6gen Nano, I didn't even go 1 km. It would be nice if we could enter stride length or have the nano calculate stride length from height/leg length, so an accurate distance can be recorded. Aside from that, I love the radio/tagging feature, & just love the genius mixes that I can play while I work out."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Greatest

, Nov 19, 2010
griff2712
,USA
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Quality 
moderately high quality
Low quality
High quality
"Love this little Ipod its the best yet, keep them coming steve"
+1point
7of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for iPod nano 8G (6th generation)
Overall rating 22 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Pedometer is useless

, Nov 12, 2010
ac988
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Quality 
slightly low quality
Low quality
High quality
"What does the pedometer do? its absolute garbage. All it does is count the steps you take. and yes I mean steps, not feet, so it does not calculate the mileage you are running. It bases kilometers off of steps. how does that make sense? I'm pretty upset about it. I ran 2.5 miles in 21 minutes taking 2,592 steps. Ok thats fine and dandy but what the heck does steps matter? I ran that much and it tells me i didnt even complete 1k. What the heck was apple thinking?"
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>