Customer reviews for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat

Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat

Overall rating:
4.553 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
36 out of 3895%of reviewers recommend this product
LIGHTWEIGHT SPEED GROUNDBREAKING TRACTIONThe Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite160Men's Football Cleat features a onepiece upper160and a combination of bladed and conical cleats for less weight and better field grip Dynamic Flywire wraps the foot for a supportive fitBenefitsStrong yet flexible upper adapts to your foot for a personalized fit160Toe heel and sidewall cleats designed for speed through the turns160Dynamic Flywire for an adaptive lockeddown fit
Customer reviews for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing

, Nov 2, 2014
AgustinG25
,Kannapolis, NC
,
The Football position I play most often is:Secondary
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I play for the A.L Brown Wonders and we have 36 straight winning seasons and part of that is due to defense, these cleats help me make sharp cuts to jump a route and its grip on grass and turf is amazing. Definitely recommend these cleats for skill positions."
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

overall good, few flaws

, Sep 13, 2014
Ghostking679
,Temecula, CA, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"im a 10.5, and i had to get them in 10's. the first few days of me wearing them they were pretty tough and they hurt my feet but then they started to break in and these cleats feel very good. very comfortable to stand in, plus you can look down and see these beautiful cleats reflect rainbow colors. and these cleats get very good traction. starting, stopping, turning, changing direction. however, your feet do tend to slide around a bit, but if you double socks you dont have that problem anymore. overall pretty good."
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great cleat, runs big!

, Sep 11, 2014
scummings35
,Starkville, MS 39759, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I had to send my cleats back because they were about a full size too big. I wear a 10.5 in all other carbon vapor cleats, but in these I wear a 9.5. Other than that, great cleat! Very responsive and comfortable"
-9points
3of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

9-9.5/10

, Sep 6, 2014
Charliev44
,
The Football position I play most often is:Running Back
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Traction: 10/10
Fit: 6/10
Weight: 8.5/10
Durability: 9/10
Cushion: 5/10
"
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Great look/comfort, poor durability

, Aug 27, 2014
cmccusker12
,San Francisco, CA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Quarterback
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a huge fan of the nike vapor carbon cleats, but the 2.0 version kinda disappointed me. They look pretty cool and are pretty comfortable. I have had the 2.0 cleats for a month and have worn them at about 15 practices and a game, and they creased during the first practice and just started ripping during my game last week. I was really excited for the 2.0s but they're kind of a disappointment."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comSep 1, 2014
It's tough to play your best on the gridiron if your cleats can't keep up. We get that and want to make sure you're fully in the game. So, to make sure that's the case, here are some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to look into a return/exchange. If you purchased your shoes at a Nike store, you can take them back and discuss your options there.

2. If these were bought at Nike.com, you can call us at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, 7 days a week) to coordinate a return of your shoes.

3. If the original retailer is unable to assist, we cover our footwear against potential workmanship or manufacturing flaws for up to two years from the date of manufacture. You can find this date printed on the tag on the inside of the shoe just above the barcode.

If you’d like to read more about your options, visit http://help-en-us.nike.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/53421/p/3897.

Hope this helps.
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very responsive, but painful.

, Aug 23, 2014
thecolt48
,
The Football position I play most often is:Running Back
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These cleats have amazing grip and are very responsive but kills my ankles. Great cleat but I don't like having to wrap my ankles every time i use them. Maybe a mid version?"
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Overall Awesome Cleat

, Aug 22, 2014
delapaz29
,Woodbury, MN, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Running Back
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The vapor carbon 2.0 is by far the best cleat of 2014. The cleat grips very well to both grass and turf. The cleat runs a little narrow but not too narrow, so I do NOT recommend this cleat to people with wide feet. This cleat leave a lot of space in the toe box so I do recommend trying it out at your local sporting good store, but if you can't just order your regular shoe size. The lockdown on the medial and lateral sides of the shoe is excellent due to the dynamic flywire on the cleat. This cleat is a speed cleat so I would recommend it players that want to be fast on the football field. And this cleat looks awesome too."
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AWESOME CLEATS!!

, Aug 19, 2014
bigken75
,Houston, TX, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Offensive or Defensive Lineman
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Being a big guy in the trenches I would usually recommend something with more ankle support, but these paired with a good set of ankle braces provide and unmatched experience. However does suck that nike lowered the price after I ordered mines, but was worth every penny"
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Shoe, Unconfertable

, Aug 4, 2014
Presjs
,Monument, CO, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Linebacker
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoe is all that is advertised and very responsive but with such a light cleat the comfort level will go down too. It hurts a lot breaking them in but overall a good cleat."
-6points
5of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

WOW, best cleats I have ever owned

, Jul 26, 2014
cybersix09
,Vancouver, BC, Canada
,
The Football position I play most often is:Quarterback
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The aggressive traction makes them super smooth when cutting. Use them everyday. The design without the shoe tongue enables me an unrestrained and superb performance on field all day. They are superb comfortable. Already recommended to three friends who have then purchased these cleats!"
-3points
9of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great cleats for price

, Jul 24, 2014
cubandoll22
,Woodbridge Township, NJ, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Linebacker
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"purchased for my son and he states best cleats he has ever had"
-14points
5of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Jul 14, 2014
saint805
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Beginner
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this shoe is a really great. It is very confortable and durable"
-21points
9of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great for skill players

, Jul 13, 2014
willmo987
,Overland Park, KS
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this clear is it the best clear in my opinion for receivers running backs and quartebacks... I play receiver and linebacker but I wouldn't recommend to non skilled players"
-12points
9of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Run way too big

, Jul 9, 2014
jmcsg
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
"Tried these on at our local sporting goods store and size 12 fit perfectly. I customized them on ID and ordered size 12. They shipped in and are massive, but looked great. But unfortunately can't wear them. Feel as if they are size 13.5 or 14."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comJul 10, 2014
We're sorry to hear that your Vapor Carbons aren't fitting the way you had hoped. We can't have you trying to hit the gridiron in shoes that are too big. With that said, here are some options we'd like you to take a look at:

1. Nike gladly accepts NIKEiD returns for any reason within 30 days of the shipping date. For more information regarding this process, go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns.

2. You can return NIKEiD products that have a material or workmanship flaw and were manufactured less than 2 years ago. Nike will not accept the return if the product has evidence of excessive wear, misuse, or alteration. To look into our claims process, go to Nikeclaims.com.

If you prefer talking on the phone, you can always give us a call at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) and we'll go from there.
-7points
15of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great fit

, Jun 26, 2014
knovich7
,Chelan, WA 98816, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Offensive or Defensive Lineman
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"love this shoe. It fits great and is very comfortable"
-13points
7of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfection

, Jun 25, 2014
Quinlan007
,Portland,Oregon
,
The Football position I play most often is:Quarterback
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Nike has really outdone themselves with this cleat."
-17points
13of 43voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Cleat

, Jun 20, 2014
Jackpowers
,Sacramento, CA, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Linebacker
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Great traction, i have a wide foot and usually nike runs narrow but these look good and fit good, they fit true to size and allow me to ball out!"
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Jun 12, 2014
SargeantF1
,Tampa, FL, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Offensive or Defensive Lineman
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a tight end and a linebacker and this shoe is very comfortable. I had the superbowl editions and they get dirty easily but the laces never frayed. I also like the great traction when I either played on turf, grass, or soggy mud. One thing about the shoe is that your ankles aren't protected, and the padded nike socks I use don't really protect them either. I can't tighten the shoe too much or put the laces in the top eyelet or else it hurts my forefoot. Other wise, these are great, quality football cleats and I recommend them to anyone in any position."
-6points
10of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing

, Jun 12, 2014
dhg71
,Kansas, USA
,
The Football position I play most often is:Linebacker
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The traction in these cleats are just flat out amazing, I wore them at a combine and I give them partial credit for my performance. I was confident that I wouldn't slip and they helped me earn an invitation to one of the host's super combines. Definitely better than the Vapor Talon Elites and they are true to size"
Response from NikeBy Nike.comJun 13, 2014
Way to make an impact at the combine. You're living proof that hard work gets noticed. You keep doing your part to get better, and we'll do ours to make a cleat that can keep up.
-15points
15of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Vapor Carbon 2014 Elite Men's Football Cleat
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

GOOD BUT RUN VERY LONG // comparison with original vapor carbon flys

, Jun 2, 2014
yumuse
,
The Football position I play most often is:Wide Receiver
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i've been a huge fan of the original vapor carbon flys 1&2. their supportive and tight fit were the best out there, with a zoom unit in the heel! so i'll be comparing these new vapor carbons vs the old goat.
sizing. they run very very long. width is wider than most as well. i wore a 9.5 in the ORIGINAL vapor carbon flys and they were SNUG both in length and width. the last for these NEW vapor carbons are super long. i went down to a size 8! i think i could even go down to a size 7.5 if i really wanted to because when i make my cuts, i get really low into them and i want my shoe to move seamlessly with me. def try these on at a local retailer w/the socks you'd wear for games before buying them. fyi i always wear thin socks.
i wear a 9-9.5 depending on the shoe's last. for casual kicks i go 9.5. for sports stuff, i go 9. i've got mercurial vapors in a 9 (soccer), nike zoom vapor elite metal in a 9 (baseball), and nike zoom vapor also in a 9 (tennis). this just goes to show i love speed shoes with a light weight and super tight fit. i've also got kobe 8s in a 9 since my research led me to believe that if they weren't named after kobe they'd prob be in some sort of vapor line for basketball. these are the shoes i'm coming from. the fit in all of my vapor shoes have very little space in the length and width departments. i'm naturally a soccer player, so i prefer being able to "feel" everything as opposed to floating around inside a shoe.
the lockdown is pretty good, but still a step inferior to the original vapor carbon flys. out of the 7 loopsholes for laces, there's flywire from hole 3-6 (starting from the bottom). i'm going to try taking the laces out of the actual loopholes and just using the flywire cables instead because i think the lockdown will be better if i do so. my rationale behind this is IF you keep your laces in the loopholes themselves, because the material is much thicker and fixed (unlike dynamic flywire) the level of lockdown you will receive will be limited by the thicker material (the loophole itself), there's a ceiling there. my only concern with using the flywire cables alone will be the durability of the cables since they're so thin. the originals are still better than these imo. i felt like my feet could come out of these despite being tied so tight. maybe my feet are just so used to being in the ultra-lockdown the original vapor carbon flys afforded me. man i miss those...
traction: really nothing to complain about. my routes felt precise and the sidewalls on this new version are more aggressive/pronounced so mentally i feel like i could dig in harder on my cuts. but that's more mental than anything else, but the mental game is huge when you need to be a confident/clutch wr. and the traction here def. inspires confidence. soleplate, not sure how you can measure this empirically, but it felt nice and supportive. not sure if the split going down the carbon plate (look at nike's hypervenom phantoms idea is trying to be applied here), but it wasn't like my agility suddenly went up 10+ points like i'm a madden superstar.
cushioning: for a wr speed boot, i must say i'm impressed. no blisters despite going hard on them right out of the box. they need a few hours to break-in, bringing some average pain to the soles of my feet, but still no blisters, so i'm pretty happy about the cushioning even though there's no zoom air.
summary: an all around good shoe for speed/skill players. someone stepped hard on my big toe and i didn't die or break a toe, not even bruising. def try this on in person to get your sizing right! very comfortable for a speed boot. traction is prob even better than the original vapor carbon flys, but the lockdown leaves me slightly underwhelmed compared to the originals. however, if you've never worn the original vapor carbons, you might think these are the best football speed boots nike has ever put out, and if that's the case, be happy. but as for me, i think i'm just realizing these aren't the goat, but still a solid shoe that i would recommend."
-4points
14of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>