Customer reviews for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat

Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat

Overall rating:
4.233 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
27 out of 3090%of reviewers recommend this product
SUPERIOR TOUCH ANATOMICAL COMFORTThe Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's FirmGround Soccer Cleat is made to mirror the shape of the foot for a natural feel and its highperformance agility traction pattern helps you start and stop instantaneously A soft leatherlike upper delivers superb control on the field and tapered laces create a uniform surface for ball strikingBenefitsSoft leatherlike Kangalite material for great ball touchNikeskin technology overlay for a lightweight snug feel and superior touchTapered laces to create a uniform striking surfaceAnatomical sockliner for support and lowprofile cushioningAgility traction pattern for shorter release times and enhanced responsivenessFirmground FG cleats for use on shortgrass fields that may be slightly wet but rarely muddyProduct DetailsAnatomically correct X1 last for a glovelike fitPebax plate for support and a responsive feel
Customer reviews for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This is the best cleat I have ever owned

, Dec 6, 2014
jcburnis_61
,Manistique, MI 49854, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Defender
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I got the Phatal when then Hypervenom line first came out. I got it because it sounded like a good, thin cleat. I practiced barefoot a lot with my brother in our yard during summers. I wanted a cleat that felt like playing barefoot. This cleat felt almost exactly the same. I got the cleat and it took a little to break in, as all new footwear does. This cleat held up better than other cleats I had, my other cleats would always tear on the sides and under the toe. I've had my hypervenoms for two years and they a just now beginning to tear a little under the toes. The sides and top and lace eyelets have all held up for me, and i don't baby my cleats. They have been in a game with about and inch of water and mud and still held together. I have been cleated countless times and the cleats haven't torn yet. These cleats aren't for everybody, no cleat really is. These cleats are for somebody that likes a close, natural feel, no fancy gimmicks, and a durable cleat. I strongly recommend these cleats."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Boot

, Dec 1, 2014
BaileyP27527068
,Rockford, IL
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased these boots this summer before my freshman season. I have worn mecurials in the past, and this was the first time switching silos as a Nike customer. I can say I am very pleaded with the performance and quality of these boots. The first thing I noticed about these boots is that they are very wide. I have an extra toe on both feet and it is often hard to find soccer shoes that will fit my foot width. I typically order shoes a half to one size larger to get the correct width. These shoes fit me very well in my standard shoe size, and I was very grateful for that throughout the season. I play center mid and our team would have training for two hours every day. Even though they got lots of field time, running back and forth down the length of the field, passing and receiving ad nauseum, they showed no signs of wear. If they get dirty, they are made of a synthetic material so you can wash them with a normal washcloth. My only recommendation is, that if you play defense, these boots are NOT FOR YOU! The synthetic upper is very thin, causing supreme agility, touch, and control. However, because of the thin upper, it is EXTREMELY painful when you get stepped on. Overall, they are in incredible boots and I recommend them to all footballers."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Amazing touch.

, Nov 24, 2014
scot717
,Tennessee, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This cleat has an amazing touch. I like how thin the upper is and it gives me a great feel for the ball. The only downside to the up is it HURTS when you get stepped on. This cleat has great traction I never slipped when I was running with or without the ball."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not Durable, Too Bad

, Nov 13, 2014
ewong321
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Forward
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It's too bad, because the boot is true to fit and I liked that it did not require substantial break-in time like other synthetic models. Shoe surface is responsive and provides good control, and the cleats are perfect on outdoor artificial grass which can get slick.
However, the complete cleat panel sheared off on one boot after only 3 games and several weeks of light use. Adhesive is used to bond the cleat panel to the boot and there must have been a poor quality job or glue used. Sigh."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comNov 14, 2014
We're glad to hear that you were able to quickly and comfortably get your boots on the pitch but are sorry to hear about that panel not holding up its end of the bargain. Let's go through a few of your options.

1. If you haven't already, we suggest hitting up the original retailer to see about an exchange or a return.

2. You can bring your boots into a Nike store to discuss your options if you purchased them there.

3. If these were bought at Nike.com or you'd prefer to talk to us live over the phone, you can call us at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, 7 days a week).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

GREAT BOOT OVER ALL

, Nov 6, 2014
Faithbound
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I got this boot before my high school soccer season begain and they have felt super comfortable all season. The only problem that I had was near the end of the season the left boot started to rip near the bottom and has continued to rip more and more. But i think it was just a freak thing more of what nike puts out is nice so i would definitely recommend these to anyone with a low budget."
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

OK Boot

, Oct 8, 2014
QuestDrex
,South Carolina, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The boot is well-made, but I think I might have got a size too small, so that is why I graded the fit poorly. The narrowness is not just because of the incompatibility of my foot and the boot, but rather just the make. Overall, I would recommend the shoe for anybody who is serious about the game. Just don't forget to get the right size."
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Good Fit, but not durable

, Oct 6, 2014
SpursGazza
,Los Angeles, CA, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Just bought these after much research. Was excited to give them a spin and they felt great at first. But after my match i realized that the lettering and swoosh were already peeling off! After my first time wearing them! Not what I want when I spend that sort of money on cleats...I'll look elsewhere next time.."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comOct 7, 2014
We know how exciting it is to lace up and get out on the pitch for your first match in brand new boots. Unfortunately, it sounds like these were not quite up to the task. If you are looking into a possible return, we have a few recommendations:

1. Reach out to the original retailer and see about your possibilities.

2. If you purchased these here on Nike.com, you have 30 days from the shipping date to begin the return process. To do so, check out Nike.com, scroll to the bottom of the page, and there, under “Options” you’ll find “Returns.” As a Nike.com you’ll be eligible to ship these back free of charge.

3. You can also talk to us over the phone at 1-800-806-6453 (we're available from 4am to 11pm PT, daily).

Hope this helps.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Not my Style

, Sep 18, 2014
SuperBot
,Berryville, VA 22611, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"When I first saw these cleats, I thought they looked sweet, and most people were raving about them, so I wanted to check them out. Personally, I don't think they are as good as the hype suggests. The sole-plate is extremely stiff, the flaunted upper-material creases into pinches, and, honestly, I don't really like the low, pointed toe box, since my toes are rather tall and wide for my shoe size and need that extra room in the toe box that most shoes have. To be fair, if this is a feature you enjoy, it may be a pro for you, but from my perspective it is a con that prevents me from recommending these cleats.
On the other hand, they do look fantastic! But overall, I think its an average cleat that I'll be passing. NIKE customer service was great though--no hassle return.
"
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good, But......

, Aug 3, 2014
Skillcheck7
,Utah, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This boot is very nice but it has problems. For the first few months these boots were amazing but then they stated to have problems, the nike logo on the bottom of the boot started to wair off for no reason..... The upper where the nike logo is started to crack. The finish wore off and the boot got all scraped, the colors got smeared. But anyway this boot was good...."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comAug 4, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these aren't working out how you had hoped. We know how frustrating that can be and want to point you in the right direction. Having said that, here are some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to look into a return/exchange. If you purchased your shoes at a Nike store, you can take them back and discuss your options there.

2. If these were bought at Nike.com, you can call us at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, 7 days a week) to coordinate a return of your shoes.

3. If the original retailer is unable to assist, we cover our footwear against potential workmanship or manufacturing flaws for up to two years from the date of manufacture. You can find this date printed on the tag on the inside of the shoe just above the barcode.

If you’d like to read more about your options, visit http://help-en-us.nike.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/53421/p/3897.

Hope this helps.
-7points
9of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byDash2000
onNov 18, 2014
I got the new hypervenoms to and within a month for me all those things started happening. other than the durability issues the cleats were awesome.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great cleats but very tight!

, Aug 2, 2014
kickoff26
,Bloomington, IL, USA
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a kicker and I wear extremely small cleats, so even though I am a size 11.5 in shoe I always wear a 9.5 in kicking/soccer cleat, but these cleats are very small and narrow. They are extremely light and thin which i like, and they look sick, but I would recommend getting a bigger size."
-23points
3of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fantastic Touch and Comfort

, Jul 28, 2014
pdao8
,Arlington, TX, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Defender
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"First and foremost I was thoroughly surprised by how little break in time these boots needed. A light jog around the field and these cleats were good and ready to go. The footplate was amazingly flexible and felt great right out if the box.
The best surprise was the nike skin tech. It felt tremendously light and tight on foot and gave a very natural feel on contact. The smooth nike skin gave little doubt to where the ball would travel when striking and provided for a very clean area for contact on the ball."
+10points
21of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great boot for its price

, Jul 24, 2014
JLMaker
,Lindale GA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Saw this boot for a cheap price and this boot is amazing it's very comfortable I heard the hypervenoms were good but better than I thought"
+2points
8of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe overall

, Jul 22, 2014
amaris4
,Chicago, IL, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Defender
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is an amazing boot. It really molds to your foot and is incredibly light. The touch and feel on the ball is amazing and I swear my curves have gotten better from the grip of the shoe. I will highly recommend this shoe to anyone."
-4points
7of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
This review is fromNike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Football Boot.
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Excellent product

, Jul 28, 2014
PasiLeo
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are one of the best ones I have used so far. Really good feel for the pitch and good grip. Ball control is excellent and it is easy to hold the ball even in fast dripling speeds. As I need a bit wider boots, these are the only non leather boots that have ever felt nice in my feet.
The Phantom felt even better at first try, but as it might not last long in turf had to settle for these, but as mentioned these are excellent ones also.
Durability seams to be good, I have only used them for a week (12 hours now).
Would like to get same kind of laces to kids shows too, these are the best I have ever seen and I have tied about 100 different ones. They hold the tension very well and are easy to tie."
NikeEmea
Review 15 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
This review is fromNike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Football Boot.
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

excelent

, Jul 17, 2014
Anonymous
,Brussels, Belgium
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Forward
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"its the most comfortable boot i ever worn. i like lacing my shoes very tight and you can do it with this shoe
these are great for flat footed people
"
NikeEmea
Review 16 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Excellent boot

, May 23, 2014
tdjjr
,Las Vegas, NV, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Recreational
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Definitely one of the best boots around. I bought a pair on sale at a local sporting goods store because I needed a new set and heard Hypervenoms were amazing. I was extremely impressed. They are the lightest boot I have ever had and the ball stays glued to your feet. The only issue was rubbing on the back of the heel but that was taken care of with an extra set of socks. A great buy for a great price. Can't wait till these wear out so I can get a new pair!"
+8points
34of 60voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nike sign on toe iron on

, May 19, 2014
brian.99
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Nike sign rip the first week but they are comfortable. Only complain the Nike sign on the toe rip it's like a iron on sign."
-23points
13of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good cleats

, Apr 30, 2014
landen_acosta
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Midfielder
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"If you play soccer a lot and plan to you should get good quality cleats and these have really good touch, accuracy, and strike"
-17points
16of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very high quality

, Apr 4, 2014
cesarg23
,Louisville, KY, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very good for a take down model. This compares to the Mercurial Vapor 9 and both Phantom and Phatal weigh the same which is very impressive. The upper is the thinnest upper nike currently has."
-8points
15of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike HYPERVENOM Phatal Men's Firm-Ground Soccer Cleat
Overall rating 30 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

High Quality Boot For Low Price.

, Mar 25, 2014
Soccerbasketballderek
,Seattle, WA, USA
,
The Soccer position I play most often is:Defender
,
My skill level is:Competitive
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"A very high quality boot for a very low price. I play left back in a 4-3-3 formation, so I do a tremendous amount of crosses and quick sprints up the field. The boot is very comfortable for a price of $120. With my experience this boot is very suitable for an attacking minded defender or a midfielder that controls the pitch."
+1point
25of 49voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>