Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 199 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
194 out of 19997%of reviewers recommend this product
KOBE'S LIGHTEST AND LOWEST SHOE TO DATE.Weighing in at less than 10 ounces, the Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe is Kobe's lightest, lowest shoe to date with 360 degrees of breathability, springy cushioning and exceptional traction for a quick first step.Total BreathabilityThe dynamic upper is made of 90 percent mesh for 360 degrees of breathability, and it's tightly woven for strength and flex, creating a lightweight fit that bends naturally with the foot.Lightweight CushioningA full-length Lunarlon midsole insert sits lower than that of its predecessor, adding stability while cushioning every step.Low to the GroundLayers of outsole rubber have been stripped away for a lightweight, minimal and low-to-the-ground feel without sacrificing the aggressive traction required for basketball's quick bursts and sudden changes of direction.Signature DetailsThe graphic on the heel is part of Kobe's signature sheath logo, designed to line up with the heel graphic on the Kobe Elite sock and form the full sheath logo. A bright, knit-in pattern takes inspiration from Kobe's Black Mamba moniker and comes to life on the shoe's upper.More BenefitsNo-sew synthetic overlays at the toe and quarter panel for supportMinimal foam-backed tongue for lightweight comfort3D heel counter for lockdown
Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

kobe 8 ID

, Jan 18, 2014
SethFenwick13
,Owensboro, KY, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Center
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"these shoes are great very comfortable but doesn't ventilate very well (feet get hot)"
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe 8 Customized

, Jan 10, 2014
Qurve
,South Carolina
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I recently customized some Kobe's and they are very comfortable! I'm really glad I chose these instead of KD's."
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe System 8 Mine Grey

, Jan 3, 2014
DJPayHomage
,New York, NY
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Not sure how there are any of these left in stock because out of all the Kobe 8's the Mine Grey is the best colorway. Nikeheads and Kobe fans don't sleep on these because before you know it, they will be gone!"
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Kobe 8's

, Dec 31, 2013
345628
,Chicago, IL, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is the most comfortable shoe to ever hit the market i highly recommend these shoes. I can't play basketball without them"
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Restock

, Dec 30, 2013
DABESTEVER
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are great shoes but need to restock soon in the "Mine Grey"!"
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bychase_sanders
,Corbin, Kentucky
onFeb 9, 2014
These shoes are sexy and need to restock soon in the "Green Glows".
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Overall Shoe

, Dec 29, 2013
ReganHarr
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I was on the hunt for the best basketball shoe around, after many mishaps and tear in my other shoes, I was looking for durability. So I came across the Kobe 8's and after reading reviews I decided to try them out. Great comfort and overall the best shoe ive had. I only wore them on game days and maybe one practice of the week. After a month and a half I already find a hole/tear in the side but its a circular shape. Its not from the shoe being to small because it fits well. Overall a great shoe but the fact that it already has a hole makes me give it two stars"
+1point
12of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best low top shoe ever

, Dec 28, 2013
nike zoom elite platinum
,St Louis, MO, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"great shoe in every aspect the lunarlon is great feels so good the most comfortable bball shoe ever
feels like running shoe but plays like basketball shoe
"
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

RESTOCK

, Dec 27, 2013
paperchaser_502
,Louisville, KY, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"great shoe and nike needs to have a online restock !"
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bydex618
,San Diego, Ca
onDec 30, 2013
Please restock this design. I love the kobe 8 shoe specially this concept so please restock it.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, Dec 24, 2013
mattditullio41
,NY
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I started with the original kobe8s the black and sulfur color way and now I own almost all of them. I love playing in these shoes they are light weight,give excellent support, and look extremely sharp on the court. Favorite shoe."
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe 8

, Dec 21, 2013
MiliMostDope
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The most comfortable pair of shoes I own are my Kobe 8s all around great shoe."
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

CAN NEVER GO WRONG WITH KOBES

, Dec 17, 2013
dnoh23
,Atlanta, GA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"subject says it all.
can never go wrong with kobes (except for the 7s maybe).
comfortable, stable, and light. what more could you ask for?
"
-15points
12of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

love the shoe

, Dec 12, 2013
jknight24
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"shoe looks great feels great and is one of my favorites to hoop in"
-8points
6of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Kobes?

, Dec 4, 2013
jakesolo
,Bronx
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These sneakers are horrible. They are very comfortable summer sneakers. They are not for a point guard who has handle (serious horizontal cuts). I rolled the sneaker like a sock; doing simulations in my living room. Its more for a free throw day or a gym day with laps. The best Kobe's were the fives, that were metallic purple and black/yellow (I think). It was one of the best basketball sneakers ever for a point guard/player. It was very light, breathable and had durable traction."
Response from NikeBy NikeConsumer ServicesDec 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kobe 8 System.

We appreciate your feedback, but noticed you might not be entirely satisfied. Our return policy is simple: Try it on, test it out, keep what you like and send back the rest. We'll gladly accept returns for any reason within 30-days of its shipping date.

If you have any other questions or would like assistance with your return from a Nike team member, feel free to reach us at 1-800-806-6453, 4am-11pm PT, 7 days a week and we’ll be happy to assist.
+2points
29of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe 8

, Dec 3, 2013
charapata23
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have never played basketball in a shoe this amazing. It is incredibly light, increasing your ability to jump, it is incredibly comfortable, and the traction is just amazing. I highly recommend this shoe to anyone who is considering buying these for basketball.
I have also only rolled my ankle once in these, it is a low top so you most likely will roll your ankle, but it was a very minor roll and it probably would have happened with any shoe. So if that is what is stopping you from buying the shoe, you do not need to be worried. Amazing shoe."
-6points
10of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
This review is fromKobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe.
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfette anche per la pallavolo

, Dec 2, 2013
iVanes
,Ferrara
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Ho sempre usato And1 mid per giocare a pallavolo e dall'anno scorso sono passato alle Kobe.
Sono le scarpe più comode, resistenti e leggere con cui io abbia mai giocato.
Son perfette anche per la pallavolo per chi è abituato a giocare con scarpe basse.
"
NikeEmea
Review 16 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great.

, Dec 2, 2013
C00kieDouqh
,Clayton, NC
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Power Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"There's no problem with this shoe Except the inner side of the shoe starts to wear and tear !! I have 4 pair and they all do that! Other then that the shoe is incredible and wouldn't change a thing."
-13points
5of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The most comfortable shoe out there.

, Nov 26, 2013
MORGAN
,Eugene, Oregon
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"The kobe eights are by far the most comfortable shoe I have ever had. The color pattern is sick. The glow green just pops."
-7points
16of 39voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

It feels like you're walking on pillows with these

, Nov 8, 2013
BenjiMasayuki
,Miami, Florida
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"-The TPU heel clip helps with the overall support
-The Lunarlon is just great
-Extremely good shoes for under 200
-Traction is really good, but you'd have to go to nikeID for an XDR outsole if you're an outdoor player. The rubber burns really fast unfortunately.
-Indoor players will love these. Dusty/Clean courts are ok for the Kobe 8s
-Very customizable, I saw someone on YouTube adding a full length Zoom into the bottom of the shoe.
-Definitely a big improvement from the VIIs which were bad
GET THEM ON BLACK FRIDAY"
-16points
26of 68voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

problems????

, Nov 3, 2013
bisonmd
,Berlin, CT, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"love the shoe
but has anyone else had problems with the heel making a suction cup noise(like a pop sound) every time you step down?
drives me insane!!!!
luckily nike will take them back but i jhate to get rid if them
"
-27points
19of 65voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byWiLLsSiDeKicK
,USA
onNov 10, 2013
I had a similar issue to my elites everytime I put a lot of pressure on the heel. However I don't experience it on my other Kobe 8s. I'm pretty sure its because of the small foam circle on the bottom of the shoe.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byBenjiMasayuki
,Miami, Florida
onNov 8, 2013
Hey, just remove the cushion and coat the insides with powder regularly. It worked for me
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 20 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Must Buy

, Nov 3, 2013
TRAVIS
,6106 Richiewayne Dr
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Great shoe the colorway is fantastic and the comfortabality is amazing. Very recommended"
-12points
9of 30voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>