Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 199 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
194 out of 19997%of reviewers recommend this product
KOBE'S LIGHTEST AND LOWEST SHOE TO DATE.Weighing in at less than 10 ounces, the Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe is Kobe's lightest, lowest shoe to date with 360 degrees of breathability, springy cushioning and exceptional traction for a quick first step.Total BreathabilityThe dynamic upper is made of 90 percent mesh for 360 degrees of breathability, and it's tightly woven for strength and flex, creating a lightweight fit that bends naturally with the foot.Lightweight CushioningA full-length Lunarlon midsole insert sits lower than that of its predecessor, adding stability while cushioning every step.Low to the GroundLayers of outsole rubber have been stripped away for a lightweight, minimal and low-to-the-ground feel without sacrificing the aggressive traction required for basketball's quick bursts and sudden changes of direction.Signature DetailsThe graphic on the heel is part of Kobe's signature sheath logo, designed to line up with the heel graphic on the Kobe Elite sock and form the full sheath logo. A bright, knit-in pattern takes inspiration from Kobe's Black Mamba moniker and comes to life on the shoe's upper.More BenefitsNo-sew synthetic overlays at the toe and quarter panel for supportMinimal foam-backed tongue for lightweight comfort3D heel counter for lockdown
Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Kobes?

, Dec 4, 2013
jakesolo
,Bronx
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These sneakers are horrible. They are very comfortable summer sneakers. They are not for a point guard who has handle (serious horizontal cuts). I rolled the sneaker like a sock; doing simulations in my living room. Its more for a free throw day or a gym day with laps. The best Kobe's were the fives, that were metallic purple and black/yellow (I think). It was one of the best basketball sneakers ever for a point guard/player. It was very light, breathable and had durable traction."
Response from NikeBy NikeConsumer ServicesDec 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Kobe 8 System.

We appreciate your feedback, but noticed you might not be entirely satisfied. Our return policy is simple: Try it on, test it out, keep what you like and send back the rest. We'll gladly accept returns for any reason within 30-days of its shipping date.

If you have any other questions or would like assistance with your return from a Nike team member, feel free to reach us at 1-800-806-6453, 4am-11pm PT, 7 days a week and we’ll be happy to assist.
+2points
29of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Made of poor material...good when new but won't last long

, Jul 26, 2013
suziboo7
,USA
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
"I bought these shoes for my daughter. She plays club ball and these shoes have completely torn on the outer sides. You can see her socks! We bought these in the red, back at the end of March and she has only worn these during games and sometimes during practice and they only lasted her 4 months. Another girl bought these same pair and it happened to her also. We have always bought Nike products and I'm really disappointed in these shoes, for $140 I would expect them to last longer than 4 months! Poor quality!"
-49points
7of 63voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Overall Shoe

, Dec 29, 2013
ReganHarr
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I was on the hunt for the best basketball shoe around, after many mishaps and tear in my other shoes, I was looking for durability. So I came across the Kobe 8's and after reading reviews I decided to try them out. Great comfort and overall the best shoe ive had. I only wore them on game days and maybe one practice of the week. After a month and a half I already find a hole/tear in the side but its a circular shape. Its not from the shoe being to small because it fits well. Overall a great shoe but the fact that it already has a hole makes me give it two stars"
+1point
12of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Kobe 8

, Jul 7, 2013
osubzwari
,NJ
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I think the Kobe's, Lebron, Jordan and etc. has been entirely overdone with colorways. Thats not mentioning prices. How many "colorways or limited releases" has the kobe 8 been released? "49?" In my opinion, adding essesive colorways takes away a great deal of consumer attachment and appreciation for the actual design of the shoes. Sure, it may add some, but then it becomes like "An Air Force one fad." As a business graduate. I get the strategy, but as a consumer it makes me disconnected with the brand. Overall, creating more designs and limiting the quantity of shoes may help the company gain marketshare on a short term basis. On a long term basis the company might lose brand loyalty."
-7points
2of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Nice style but cheap quality

, Dec 22, 2012
pepperdog14
,USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i tried the shoe on today and the inside heel is rubbery plastic. the shoe is light and fits decent but the shoe itself is soo cheap. there no way kobe wears these in the game. if yoj gave me the matierals, i could of made the shoe. its not a good basketball shoe. go withe the hyperdnks or lebrons which i recommend"
-114points
12of 138voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

problems????

, Nov 3, 2013
bisonmd
,Berlin, CT, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"love the shoe
but has anyone else had problems with the heel making a suction cup noise(like a pop sound) every time you step down?
drives me insane!!!!
luckily nike will take them back but i jhate to get rid if them
"
-27points
19of 65voted this as helpful.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byWiLLsSiDeKicK
,USA
onNov 10, 2013
I had a similar issue to my elites everytime I put a lot of pressure on the heel. However I don't experience it on my other Kobe 8s. I'm pretty sure its because of the small foam circle on the bottom of the shoe.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byBenjiMasayuki
,Miami, Florida
onNov 8, 2013
Hey, just remove the cushion and coat the insides with powder regularly. It worked for me
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 7 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Depends on position

, Apr 2, 2013
swagmonkey2000
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is the best shoe for a guard out there. Although I am mainly a small forward, I run the point and shoot a lot, and this shoe has everything I need to keep up. The shoe fits like a glove, so I would order a half a size down, just to get the most out of that glove like feel. The material has a lot more fuse than at first glance, so it is more durable than it looks. BUT for a forward, this is possibly the worst shoe. Extremely poor ankle protection, and lack of protection and lockdown make it a bad choice for the forward or center position."
-23points
13of 49voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Extremely comfortable.

, Oct 28, 2013
PJETER
,Sterling Heights
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Center
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm a big guy and these shoes are very comfortable so for that reason go buy them"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

My First Kobe's

, Oct 27, 2013
HECTOR
,New York, Ny
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"This is my first time buying/wearing Kobe's line of sneakers and I was surprisingly pleased with the design, feel, and compliments (most importantly). The right foot started squeezing slightly which was disdaining after just one wear, still I would definitely buy these again in the future."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good and bad

, Oct 27, 2013
JUAN
,Chicago, IL
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"The kobe 8 is extremely lightweight and is perfect for my position that I play. What I have experienced is the more that I play in the kobe 8 the mesh starts to break down. Also the front of the shoe and the heel clip scrapes up too easily. The traction is wonderful. Overall the shoe is one of my favorites to play basketball in."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Different than I expected

, Oct 27, 2013
the Comeback201
,Holliston, ma
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The tongue of this shoe could use some work. It's a thin peice of plastic that doesn't quite fit in the shoe. The toebox is stiff and the lining is not very good. The collar is stiff on the top but doesn't have much padding around the heel. All this does is make it feel weird. On my brothers pair the top eyelet, that plastic peice, actually just came right off... Besides that the shoe is great. The insole takes some getting used to"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Solid

, Oct 22, 2013
MATT
,Plainfield, IN
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Perfect shoe to go out and compete in. A little narrow but you won't be disappointed."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great performance

, Oct 15, 2013
Anonymous
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"If you're looking for an indoor-play sneaker this is definitely a good pick. Very lightweight, comfortable and great for faster players."
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good shoe

, Sep 30, 2013
KYLIE
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I can tell you that these shoes are fantastic for basketball. But the main reason I got them is for volleyball because volleyball shoes are not my thing. The shoes are light and confirmable."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Kobe Brand Champ.

, Sep 24, 2013
Sparxdome
,Houston, TX, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought multiple pair of Kobe's shoe each time he releases and the latest version are the best yet. Very comfortable and form fitting to the foot. The blue in this one is live and gives me options when matching up the gear....waiting for the Pit Viper colorway as we speak!"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good comfortable shoe

, Sep 16, 2013
Anonymous
,New Orleans, LA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Power Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable shoe for working out. Shoe is very light and fits like a glove."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoe but a little big

, Sep 16, 2013
Anonymous
,San Francisco, CA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable shoe, however I would have purchased a smaller size considering it runs a little large."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very comfortable

, Sep 15, 2013
NABIL
,Orlando fl
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Beginner (First year player)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Lite and comfortable great for balling , walking and casually dress up"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Not bad

, Sep 15, 2013
ANGELO
,Youngstown, Ohio
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
"I feel its a little overpriced but its comfortable at least"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Kobe 8

, Aug 18, 2013
warrior me8
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"It is a very comfortable shoe even tho the insole is the only form of cushioning the lunarlon does its job. I was worried about lock down and support because of the low cut and the material but the heel cup keeps your foot in place so you make fast cuts. I recommend this shoe highly. My only concer is I would not play on outdoor courts with them because they are so thin but if you play primarily indoors highly recommend. Also they are a great lifestyle shoe"
-11points
5of 21voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>