Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe

Overall rating:
4.799 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(199 reviews) 199
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 199 reviews
5 Stars
173
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
194 out of 19997%of reviewers recommend this product
KOBE'S LIGHTEST AND LOWEST SHOE TO DATE.Weighing in at less than 10 ounces, the Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe is Kobe's lightest, lowest shoe to date with 360 degrees of breathability, springy cushioning and exceptional traction for a quick first step.Total BreathabilityThe dynamic upper is made of 90 percent mesh for 360 degrees of breathability, and it's tightly woven for strength and flex, creating a lightweight fit that bends naturally with the foot.Lightweight CushioningA full-length Lunarlon midsole insert sits lower than that of its predecessor, adding stability while cushioning every step.Low to the GroundLayers of outsole rubber have been stripped away for a lightweight, minimal and low-to-the-ground feel without sacrificing the aggressive traction required for basketball's quick bursts and sudden changes of direction.Signature DetailsThe graphic on the heel is part of Kobe's signature sheath logo, designed to line up with the heel graphic on the Kobe Elite sock and form the full sheath logo. A bright, knit-in pattern takes inspiration from Kobe's Black Mamba moniker and comes to life on the shoe's upper.More BenefitsNo-sew synthetic overlays at the toe and quarter panel for supportMinimal foam-backed tongue for lightweight comfort3D heel counter for lockdown
Customer reviews for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This is the best Kobe shoe yet.

, Mar 10, 2013
luc_8
,Portland, OR, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've played basketball for 8 years, and I can honestly say that this is the most comfortable basketball shoe I've ever played in. The traction is amazing, the breathability is great, the lockdown is outstanding, and the lunarlon cushioning is fantastic. I don't care much for how light a shoe is, but this shoe is crazy secure and well-built for how light it is. Overall, this is an amazing shoe and I would recommend it to any basketball player who is comfortable playing in a low-cut shoe."
User submitted photo
+14points
14of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Feels Good

, Jan 30, 2013
Alain
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have 2 pair of the 7s that I would use anytime that I was on the court. Im trying to get back into my 7s when I can but the 8s are nearly perfect. Its as light as a running shoe and you still have the support. I love them"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Kobe Model Yet

, Oct 6, 2013
jmstwn
,San Antonio, TX
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Center
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Kobe 8s are hands down the most comfortable Kobes since the V. Very lightweight, yet durable. Definitely one of the best basketball shoes around.
Great job NIKE"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great fit/light/super comfortable

, Oct 28, 2013
Anonymous
,Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Center
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"awesome shoe, really comfortable. i wear them everyday on the threadmill and elliptical and my feet always feel great after. highly recommended for any kind of running."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This shoe has a high liability

, Apr 6, 2013
Mrichards55
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"They are very comfortable and highly durable. They have a great fit and are not too narrow. Overal a great shoe and I would highly recommend this shoe to others"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe Green camo...

, Mar 4, 2013
Jiraiya13
,Honolulu, HI
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Probably the most comfortable Basketball shoe I have, very light and durable. To me a must have for people who like to play B-ball, no matter the skill level."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

filthy K8s

, Oct 22, 2013
JAE
,seattle, wa
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Kobe 8s are durable, light, and they look tight on and off the court!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

2013 Must Have

, Sep 28, 2013
Anonymous
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Center
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"If you don't have the Kobe 8 yet, you need to buy it. The Kobe 8 has great comfort and lock down. The shoe is light weight and surprisingly durable. But the colorways are my favorite part of the Kobe 8. I own 2 different pairs and they are just as good looking off the court as they are on the court. The shoe is great, plain and simple."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is great guard shoe

, Apr 6, 2013
Kyle_Maslanik
,Annapolis, MD
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is amazing I love the comfort and the traction. The bottom of the shoe has very soft rubber. Don't play in these outdoors unless u have XDR version. The materials are great, you think they would rip but they don't. I highly recommend these to a 1 and a 2 position Maybe a versatile 3 very very good shoe and I love playing in these"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Kobe Trainers for the Court

, Dec 26, 2012
DM2438
,Los Angeles, CA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Honestly, I purchased the Christmas pair today and these "basketball" shoes can literally past for glorified cross trainers and for me, that's just PERFECT. Basketball shoes have never provided the flexibility or fit I sought after (beside's Kobe's minus the 7's), so I would routinely turn my attention to trainers for basketball. I would usually switch the trainers inner midsole with a Kobe insole to create a flexible/supportive/comfortable shoe with minor lock down and less rigidness. Results: increased range of motion and less restriction. And even though the Kobe 4's, 5's, and 6's were beastly (especially compared to Lebron's), cross trainers were my go to shoe even though the ankle support was nonexistent, but for someone who only ways 145 pounds, turning an ankle isn't really one of my concerns. Anyway....
I can only describe the Kobe's 8 as trainers with strong mesh; "thin" flywire. As a result, the shoe seems to lack any real noticeable technology except for that visible thin strong elastic mesh shell and super-supportive/comfortable lunar insole. Those two features alone make this shoe feel like a reinforced trainer.
For me, the shoe runs true to size unlike the Kobe 7's which were garbage in my opinion. They were too narrow and heavy. Those didn't embody any of the qualities that made the previous signature Mamba flavors hot stuff.
Overall, great shoe. How can you go wrong with a shoe like this. They're reasonably priced, features a handsome design with multiple unique snake patterns that say "look at me", and are surprisingly comfortable. The Kobe 8's are lighter than bag of air and are a practical choice for making people do a double take, running, and of course playing basketball. I will definitely pick up a pair to play ball in since I don't want to beat up my Christmas pair. One concern is durability. This seems like an indoor only type of shoe if you get my drift.
Anywho, Love the 8's!!! (....so far)"
+32points
33of 34voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRoyalPlush
,Granada Hills, CA
onDec 27, 2012
I'm with you on your idea, and also that the Kobe 8 is a combination of an upgraded cross training shoe and a toned-down version of a "true" basketball shoe...for some reason, I feel that the Kobe 8 gives you the best of both worlds, and those who love "deconstructed"-type basketball shoes will definitely enjoy playing in this.
The only basketball shoes I have worn in my life are the foamposites (forgot the name, but it used to be Garnett's signature shoe back in, like, 2000's) and the Jordan Aero Flight. While both are "formal" basketball shoes, I started to look for something that would provide my feet comfort... A LOT of comfort. To digress a bit, the Lunarglide 3 gave me that comfort, and it seems like Kobe 8's construction is engineered much like that (well, Lunarglide 4's actually, but still) as well, and knowing that it is designed and performs in basketball, I have decided to purchase the shoe.
One downside, if one can call it, about Kobe 8 is the pliable, soft, rubbery outsole, and that has been pointed out by Nightwing2303 from his first impression. I don't have the luxury of playing indoors, so I'm basically a "park boy", which makes burning rubber second nature even if I'm not an agressive basketball player. Anyway, when I purchased the Kobe 8 yesterday, I opted for the ID version and chose the XDR outsole for outdoor use...hopefully it doesn't burn out as much as I expect it would because this is my first time to purchase, and hopefully to use, XDR basketball shoes.
At any rate, I'm excited as to how this shoe would perform outdoors; if my prediction is correct, I'd be calling this "Kobe Lunarglides", which may sound suckish to some, but absolutely lovely for me, especially my feet...I can hear them thanking me already ^_^
+15points
15of 15voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

GREAT SHOE

, Dec 24, 2012
A84PLAMBO
,NP, California
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Lunarlon is amazing, engineered mesh provides a great fit, heel cup locks your foot in, traction is sticky and BEAST on indoor courts!! Definitely recommend these sneakers!!!!"
+23points
24of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Give the designer of this shoe a bonus.

, Feb 25, 2013
onlyabdallah
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Switching from a high top to a low top shoe was a decision I made to increase the range of motion in my ankles. No matter what people say, you can roll your ankles in ANY shoe; no shoe can really prevent it.
I bought the blue color way and these are the best looking shoes this year. IMO it looks better than the KDs, Lebrons, Hyperdunks, etc.
PERFORMANCE:
Best traction i've seen on any shoe so far I mean the scales are genuis. I don't understand the whole deal about "breathability" that much but I guess the kobe 8 has some of it. It's also rlly flexible due to that mesh material (which is amazing) but dont expect it to be as flexible as the nike free runs. The shoe fits your foot like a glove and is very comfortable. And if you're hesitant about the grey outsole, the swooshes, the 2 lines on the back, or the teal color, don't. The swooshes and the 2 lines are 3m so it's like reflective; it looks beast in a lit up area. And the teal complements the darker blue if it was all darker blue it would look ugly and uninteresting.
btw this is an INDOOR only shoe. It will wear out quickly if used outdoors.
When I first wore them in the store they felt wierd and I couldn't rlly focus on the shoe with the store guy eyeing me the whole time; just ask em to give you a moment and walk in em a bit. When I first balled in them they hurt both my feet for like the first 10 min then instantly I broke them in meaning they molded to my feet better and suddenly got VERY comfortable
Overall it's the best basketball shoe I've worn and in addition I would use these to lift but NOT to run in like outdoors. Like a previous comment said, they're like glorified cross trainers. you can use them for agility aswell. I still think $140 is too much for a basketball shoe.
GET BETTER COLORWAYS NIKE! no offense. Dang this review was long but eh I was bored and had time.
Peace."
+19points
20of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

KOBE VIII

, Dec 27, 2012
PioneerKickz
,New York, NY
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Lightest Kobe to date; Heel Counter is tremendous at creating lockdown feel; Great cinch from eyelets; Great heel toe transition and herringbone pattern provides great on court traction; Tongue is trimmed down significantly and allows for great feel superiorly; I am normally a size 12, and they fit true to size; My foot is a bit narrow, and this fits perfectly out of the box so it does run a bit narrow"
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Kobe Yet!

, Feb 3, 2013
dburd21
,Columbia, SC, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I didn't think Nike would ever make a better feeling Kobe shoe than the 5's. However this shoe is better in every aspect. Lighter, more flexible, breathable, more cushioned, and it after playing all day my feet feel amazing. It's like wearing little clouds on your feet. They look awesome, have great traction, and I'm going to order another pair when new colors come out."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Basketball Shoe In The World

, Dec 23, 2012
kinganderson123
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"They are the best shoe I've ever played in. They are extremely light and comfortable. They heel scuffs up pretty fast but besides that. i would give it a 10/10. If your think of buying it buy it!"
+15points
17of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Basketball Shoe Ever

, Mar 2, 2013
ceejay81
,Sacramento, CA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been wearing high tops all my life, so I was very hesitant switching to low tops. I did some research and was about to purchase the Kobe VII but read a lot of bad reviews on ankel support and comfort. I really didnt want to spend more that $100 on basketball shoes, but after hearing that the new Kobe 8 were one of the best shoes out there, I took the hit and put the money out for these shoes. All I can say is that these shoes do not disappoint! Very comfrotable and the tracking is very good. I practice on a really dirty court and when using these shoes I feel like im playing on a clean court. This is a must have! Spend the money, you wont be sorry."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Style, Performance, And Comfort.

, Feb 9, 2013
samopdx
,Beaverton, OR
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My first experience with the Kobe System 8 was a game changer. Switching from a high-top to a low top allowed my cuts to the basket to be more explosive. The amount of control driving to the basket also increased significantly. I was most surprised at not rolling my ankles when cutting quickly. The design and simplicity should also be noted. Obviously Nike outdid themselves designing a shoe so advanced, yet so minimal in appearance. (They look awesome with the Kobe System 8 socks.)
With the current color schemes, I understand why a consumer would be reluctant. I am a Kobe/ Lakers fan, so the yellow worked out okay. The Pythons - You need these.
So to sum it up;
If you're looking for a low profile shoe, Look no further. I highly recommend getting any iteration of the Kobe 8's. I would give this shoe 6/5 if I could. I find the price reasonable and it's build quality superior. You wont find a better show under 150!"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nice Job Nike!

, Jan 28, 2013
gmfballer97
,United States
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe was a HUGE upgrade from the Kobe 7. Not only is it light and breathable, but it is extremely cushioned. The only thing I would add to this shoe is an ankle support option like the 7. I've had a pair of every Kobe model since the 4, and this is the second best Kobe behind the 6. Good work Nike!"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Kobe yet!

, Dec 30, 2012
brockfs29
,Seattle, WA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe has unlimited potential for future CW's. Fits like a glove, If you have a wide foot I advise going .5 size up. I.E I'm normally a 12 or 12.5 but in nike basketball i find that 13 fits me the best and especially in this shoe. No heel slippage whatsoever, awesome traction, all around a very well built and high performance shoe!"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Kobe 8 System Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 199 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

no competition

, Jan 13, 2013
jeremycr7
,California, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"buy these shoes... end of story
the traction is even better than the cp3.6 and the kobe 4 which is amazing these are the best kobys made yet and probably nike's best guard shoe ever designed it is lighter than the crazy light and alot more supportive and breathable. SUPER comfortable this shoe is like a lunarglide 4 X10 and then made into a basket ball shoe!!"
+15points
19of 23voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>