Customer reviews for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)

Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)

Overall rating:
4.225 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(173 reviews) 173
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 173 reviews
5 Stars
99
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
11
1 Star
9
127 out of 14687%of reviewers recommend this product
Light for flightThe Nike Flyknit Trainer Unisex Running Shoe Men's Sizing was designed based on insights from the world's best marathon runners Like the Nike Flyknit Racer it features a virtually seamless knit upper for targeted support breathability and a snug fitAvailable in men's sizes Reference the Size Chart above to convert a women's size to men's160BenefitsLightweight breathable onepiece upper that moves with the footFlywire threads that wrap the midfoot for better fit and supportNike Zoom technology in the heel and forefoot for responsive cushioningWeight 84 ounces men's size 10Targeted SupportThe onepiece knit upper of the Nike Flyknit Trainer seamlessly integrates areas of high support stretch and breathability where you need them mostwithout overlays which add weight For an adaptive fit lightweight dynamic Flywire wraps the foot and is adjustable through the lacesOriginsNike Flyknit technology was inspired by feedback from runners craving a shoe with the snug and virtually unnoticed fit of a sock Nike embarked on a fouryear mission with teams of programmers engineers and designers to create the technology needed to make the knit upper with static properties for structure and durability Then the precise placement of support flexibility and breathabilityall in one layerwas refined The result is a featherweight formfitting and virtually seamless upperAdditional DetailsWaffleskin rubber outsole with a diamondshaped pattern for lightweight durability and tractionNike ready for easy run tracking
Customer reviews for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing) NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Sizing

, Sep 16, 2013
blacharz
,Miami, FL
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought my pAir according to reviewes that recommended getting half a size larger. In size 10.5 and ordered an 11, it was too large and wide. Get your regular size and you should be fine. As for the quality of the sneaker, it's Exelent."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byKL35
,Brooklyn,NY
onAug 25, 2014
hey im a 10.5 and was thinking of buying an 11. but u changed my decision back to a 10.5. and i wanted to know does the heel have space and if u wear them loose laced will the heal be flopping around?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Running Shoe I've ever owned

, Aug 6, 2012
Jacob_Goolsby
,New York, NY, USA
"Shoe fits like a glove! I suggest going a half size smaller than your usual size and order a pair of anti-blister socks for the most comfortable fit you will ever experience."
+23points
25of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Flyknit is AMAZING. Flywire and outsole need durability

, Oct 9, 2012
SpeedySpinosa
,Humble, TX, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I spent many days tracking this shoe down in my size around the Houston area and finally found them at Fleet Feet near Rice University. These shoes both look and feel great. They are extremely lightweight, breathable, and comfortable. The new Flyknit upper is unbelieavable.The way the flywire works to wrap around my foot is unbelievable. The cushioning and flexibility are stiff at first but I got used to it pretty quick. My ONLY complaints with these shoes are the durability of the flywire and the outsole. The shoelaces rub against the flywire and unfortunately mine cut one of the flywires in two parts. I can see the same thing starting to happen to the rest of the flywire on both shoes. I think this problem could be fixed by protecting the flywire with some sort of cap or even sewing the flywire to the upper like its done in the new Nike Matumbo 2, which I recently purchased. The outsole is much too thin and can't withstand the high weekly mileage that a high Cross Country runner like myself puts on it. I am starting to wear through the black outsole and into the white sole already. I've only owned the shoe for 45 days. Dear Nike, please try and fix these problems because I was truly in love with this new technology until I encountered these problems. I will definitely buy this shoe again one these problems are fixed."
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+27points
33of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very happy with these

, Aug 9, 2012
aross1
,Salem, OR
"The Flyknits are incredibly comfortable shoes, and easily the most comfortable shoes I've ever run in. They breathe really well, and are obviously incredibly light.
My only concern is that they seem to run a quarter to half size large. I normally wear a 12, but feel like an 11.5 might be a better fit for me here because these are a touch loose, especially around the ankle ankle."
+18points
22of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

HOMERUN!

, Jul 31, 2012
bartonwinchester
,Omaha, NE, USA
"Just got them delivered and put them on. I cannot wait to go workout in them. I do not feel like I even have shoes on. Extremely light, and very breathable. Nike hit a home run on this one!"
+13points
17of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bybcarpenter1074
,Chickasha, OK, USA
yes
onAug 6, 2012
VERY breathable.........these are the future of running.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Flashy

, Sep 2, 2014
Anonymous
,Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I really like to look of these. They are also pretty light with a solid amount of cushion. Only complaint is that I didn't realize they run slightly small. I normally wear a size 8 in casual sneakers but 7.5 in running shoes and soccer boots because I like them tight, but I should have gone with the 8 in these. I have only wore them a couple times so I am hoping they stretch out a bit."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comSep 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. Having a pair of shoes not fit can get annoying. We understand that and want to make sure if these don't end up working out, you'll know your options.

Since it sounds like these were purchased from Nike.com, you'll have 30 days from the shipping date to initiate a return. To look into that, go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns. Note, if you’re a registered Nike.com member, you’ll be eligible for free returns.

Hope this helps.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Sole not as good as the upper

, Aug 17, 2012
Anonymous
,Minneapolis, MN, USA
"The upper is amazing. Fits like a glove. However, I wore through the black portion of the heel in less than 60-miles. It is not a great training shoe for a serious runner.
I will still race in these, because they are extremely comfortable. But they don't have the stability for 40+ mile training weeks.
I hope the next generation has a more durable sole, because Nike is on to something amazing with the upper.
In summery, it's a great race day or casual shoe."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Tempo Shoe All the Way

, Oct 29, 2012
scottstan81
,Little Rock, AR, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Main thing: Fantastic for clipping off fast mileage especially during the taper side of the season!
I'm in high school, and I run the 5k for the XC season. At the moment, late October and starting November, when the runners are reaching their peak of the season with all the major races like state, conference/district etc. (and later Nike Cross!), are all coming close, the serious guys love to have a nice light weight shoe to knock out those quick work outs like tempo 3K's and up. The nike flyknit trainer is the perfect shoe for that! The mesh upper is the niftiest thing I've seen on a recent shoe it's comfortable, perfectly flexible and ultra breathable too. When I first put these on, it felt as if I had been using the shoe for 100+ miles. That broken-in feeling is a definite bonus for having these shoes at the end of the season when you don't need all those long runs, and when you need to start clipping those tempo runs. However, I would not discourage any runner looking to train in lighter shoes for a road race
The Ride:
The cushion is REALLY nice on the toe and midfoot, probably because Nike knew you weren't just going to jog around. The grip on the common surfaces I run on is good as well. There's no abnormal foot-sliding, but be careful when you go off road: 1. they look pretty with less mud 2. they go a little unstable on uneven surfaces. I would recommend that you try on a pair some how in order to get the correct size. If you go too big your foot will slip around easily, and when you need some speed you want your foot to be locked in rock solid for the work out. As for the cool flywire hooks that the laces run through, they provide a stellar "foot-hugging" fit.
The one complaint I do have is with the placing and material choice for the finger strap anchor inside of the shoe touching the heel. That thing chafes so bad on my heel, so many other Nike shoes have nice soft heels. I had to double up my socks one day, because of walking all day in them, chafed my heel too baddly for me to run the work out with my lighter weight sock comfortably. I would instantly buy a new pair with a CHAFE-LESS heel if they came out within a day of this review no doubt!
In the mean time, I'll suck it up and keep churning out the taper season. The shoes are sublime. Get a pair if you're looking to up your taper-training game in style."
+12points
17of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAlan Ps.
,Chicago, IL.
onJan 30, 2013
Very good review and what color do you own because I too am a cross country runner and run track , but they don't have any more colors besides purple.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

TO ALL COMPETITIVE RUNNERS:

, Aug 25, 2012
Steve Prefontaine
,Haddam, CT, USA
"If you run cross country and are training around 40+ miles a week, I would recommend these as cool wearing-around shoes, and racing too, but not for training. They look awesome, feel pretty good, but its an odd cushioning, that seems to have started to give out after my summer training is coming to a close. Also it has started to give me some pretty nasty heel blisters, because of the stitching on the heel since they are trying to go for the whole minimalist thing. I wont say dont get them because I'm very glad I decided to buy them, just a better shoe to get if your looking for a more stable shoe is maybe the asics nimbus (the shoe I've used in the past) or even the nike lunarglide which I understand is pretty cushioned. But theyre pretty sweet looking, so if you want to look sweet then buy them. If you dont really care about looks and are just looking for a trustable shoe I'd say there are better options."
+10points
15of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

LIGHT! BREATHABLE! INNOVATIVE!

, Aug 3, 2012
JSUNNN
,Los Angeles, CA, USA
"Overall, this shoe is AWESOME!
I have extremely wide feet (4E+) - and even though these shoes have a very traditional running/track shoe width, the knit of the upper molds around my feet without being uncomfortable. Although they are INCREDIBLY light - the yarn is still extremely supportive.
You'll notice that the midsole and outsole are very utilitarian - and this helps deliver a very precise foot-strike when walking or running; and there's absolutely NO "slop" that one sometimes finds in super-cushioned Nike models.
The breathability of these shoes is BEYOND BELIEF!!! Because of my wide feet, I ONLY wear lightweight Dri-Fit socks because they are so thin that they don't add extra bulk or width to my feet while inside a shoe. The drawback to this is that, typically, the sweat from my feet goes straight into my shoes since there is no thick absorbant sock to suck up sweat. While wearing the Flyknit Trainer, I walked all over Manhattan on a 90 degree day - and when I got back to my hotel, my feet were dry and totally non-stinky!!!
As a person with 100+ pairs of Nikes, I recommend these shoes HIGHLY. And although I'm obviously a bit brand-biased, I can separate my stylistic loyalty from my objectivity. I have Nikes that make me hate my life when I wear them (Nike Blazers) - and Nikes that are a joy to wear (these!!!!).
Get used to this technology, it's probably not going anywhere - and there's good reason!"
+13points
20of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

RACERS ARE BETTER

, Oct 11, 2012
JJEREMIAS
,New York, NY
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have both the Trainers and the Racers, and I have been training in both. I have to conclude that I prefer the Racers better. While the reviews are consistent in that they (both) run narrow, one thing that bothered me incredibly, and caused me slight injury, is that the back heel is incredibly stiff in the Trainer, and much more supple in the Racer. After one very powerful half marathon in the Trainers (having run shorter distances for weeks in them) the stiff back put too much pressure at my heel/Achilles.
Otherwise, this shoe is great because it is comfortable and lightweight. While the sole seems "cheap" (for lack of a better word) at first, after you put in some miles you realize that it's like bouncing along a cloud, and they definately hold up to the pressure.
Consider trying on both the Trainer and Racer if you're torn between one or the other."
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Real cool

, Aug 2, 2012
jgl42
,Cincinnati, OH, USA
"Overall, a solid 4.5 stars. Specifically, I really like the feeling of the midsole. Soft, yet also responsive. The upper is especially cool. The way it's knitted is visually interesting and totally unique. Not as soft as socks like I thought it would be, but I hope it makes the upper more durable. I just wish they would offer widths at some point."
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Poor heel fit

, Aug 22, 2012
runjer
,Florida, USA
"I agree with the other reviews that the Flyknit's forefoot fit (try to say that 3 x fast) is both comfortable and breathable but they forgot that our heels have to be firmly secured in the shoe or slippage and blisters will surely result. I'm a high mileage runner and never have any sores or blisters even after completing a marathon but just 2 miles in my new Flyknit' trainers resulted in 2 heel blisters. It's not a sizing issue, it's simply the minimal design of the heel cup which doesn't hold the heel down sufficiently. Too bad, I really wanted to like them."
+9points
15of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Innovative, high performance training shoe

, Sep 14, 2012
BoKnowsBoston
,Portsmouth, NH, USA
"Completed my first circuit workout in these last night and came away very impressed.
Clearly designed for a narrow foot. I have a wide foot and wear an 8.5 and found these had a bit of extra room at the toe. However, wearing 2 pairs of no-show socks eliminated the additional space. Many reviews have recommended going down half a size, which you could certainly do but I would go with your regular size if you have wide feet. These definitely feel like a track shoe: low profile, light weight, snug fit. Great for short or long distance runs.
Excellent performance. I warmed up with a 30 minute run, then completed a lifting circuit. They felt a bit closer to the ground compared to other running shoes and provided a bit more lateral stability when I went through my leg routine. The cushioning is more firm than traditional running shoes from Nike. That said, still very comfortable and responsive. Overall, I was impressed and will be purchasing another pair in the Spring."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Good, except in size

, Dec 27, 2012
jkrunner15
,Ohio, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe dont get me wrong but for some reason this thing runs really large i wear like a 12 and i jumped down to an 11 and it still felt big, I say go down like a size and a 1/2 or a size or so but in my mind if your buying these go to a local running store and fit in them. I highly recommend these they are responsive perfect amount of cushion and are worth the $."
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bympower05
,Boston, MA, USA
onMay 28, 2013
disregard this. for the most part, from everyone I have spoken to about this sneaker...which was a lot....these run .5 size small.
+4points
4of 4voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 16 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I am a believer

, Aug 1, 2012
EricRNS
"I bought this shoe to run long distances and do my drills in. I'm simply amazed. The lightest training shoe on the market. It feels like I'm wearing nothing on my feet while at the same time, I have amazing support. If you're considering buying this shoe, do it. It's near perfect."
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, Sep 25, 2012
bobby 120
,Mombasa, Kenya
"This is my primary training shoe for the half marathon distance. i normally run 20 kilometers a day in it and it feels great. i also use the flyknit racers in competition. all around, an amazing shoe"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

The all around shoe

, Oct 12, 2013
TANYA
,Boise, idaho
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Super light shoe. Great shoe for running and style"
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great upper - Failure in the sole...

, Aug 2, 2012
ChrisMulford
,Schenectady, NY
"The Flyknit upper is great. It's light, strong and feels wonderful.
The sole, however, might as well be a wood plank. There is almost no flex in the sole whatsoever. Anyone noting that it has the heel and forefoot Zoom Air units and thinking that this will finally be the light and pillowy soft trainer like the old old Skylons or Haywards will be as disappointed as you were every time they discontinued those shoes. Time to try the new Pegasus."
+4points
10of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Flyknit Trainer+ Unisex Running Shoe (Men's Sizing)
Overall rating 173 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

racer or trainer

, Oct 4, 2012
moonblaster
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"i am in cross country and im not sure if the racers or trainers would be better to run in."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>