Customer reviews for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe

Overall rating:
4.77 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(87 reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 87 reviews
5 Stars
73
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
48 out of 5194%of reviewers recommend this product
SUPERIOR STABILITY AND SHOCK ABSORPTIONThe Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe features the most advanced Flywire system to date for the ultimate in lightweight support. Responsive Lunarlon cushioning delivers impact protection to help you stay comfortable during intense competition on the court.BenefitsFlywire for ultra-lightweight support and lockdown controlUltra-lightweight, springy Lunarlon cushioning for soft yet responsive shock absorptionUltra-strong, lightweight midfoot shank that provides enhanced support and stabilityPivot point at the outsole for stability during multidirectional movementsProduct DetailsBreathable mesh upper for comfortPlush foam cushioning at the collar for ankle comfortOutsole flex grooves for flexibility and a smooth, efficient strideModified herringbone traction pattern at outsole for versatile traction
Customer reviews for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

WOW

, Aug 4, 2012
nickrrivera
,New York, NY, USA
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The materials used in this shoe are very durable and are also very nice. This shoe stands out in a crowd because of it's unique look. These shoes are fairly light and again sick in the court. I have the HyperDunk from 2011 and it has improved a lot this year. I would recommend these to anyone because they are well worth the money."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Mind-blowing shoe

, Sep 14, 2012
SnuggiemanD
,Carmichael, CA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"When i bought my hyperfuse lunarlon 2011 model, i couldnt believe that there could be a better basketball shoe. That was before i bought my 2012 hyperdunks. They are durable, comfortable, flashy, supportive, lightweight, and when i went to my first basketball practice with them and everyone stared at my shoes. Jokingly, i said: "My eyes are up here!""
User submitted photo
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AMAZING SHOE GET IT

, Dec 17, 2012
BobbyP96
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is an amazing shoe, traction is incredible and its wicked durable. people think that because of the fly wire is sticking out that it will break but no its super strong and also durable. great for all positions and good for all skill levels of players."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazed

, Aug 30, 2012
Solecollecter2
,Morenci, AZ
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Power Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I recommend this shoe to anyone who is looking for comfort in their game. This shoe clings to your foot, it's amazing. I'm a sneakerhead and these are more comfortable then most of my Jordans. I am going to buy a couple more pairs because they are so great."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing Shoe

, Nov 8, 2012
BDB7736
,Rowlett, TX, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe really is very comfortable and most times it is very helpful when foot happens to feel weird. I got these shoes because they seem to be very stylish and up to par with all of my friends that have them. If u need something that will help u feel comfortable this is the shoe and if u need some that is cool and help speed tis is also the right shoe. I hope that all people get this shoe and that they improve their talents and things of that matter."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoe ever

, Aug 30, 2012
dunkmaster776
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I recently bought this shoe and everything is perfect, better than lebron 9's 100%!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BASKETBALL SHOES

, Nov 9, 2012
NANA'SBOY
,Center Ridge, Ar
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are comfortable and sturdy. Not only do they feel great on my feet but they look GREAT!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fit

, Oct 28, 2012
ae82power
,Detroit, MI, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoe is slightly narrow compared to previous Nike Basketball shoes, but the fit is amazing. The cushioning is nice as well, and grip is good. Very good shoe. I would say I prefer the Lunarlon in the Fly Wade 2, but I like the fit of the Hyperdunk better."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Revolutionary Shoe

, Jul 16, 2012
BigOw310
,Wilmington, Los Angeles, CA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is amazing! You can't go wrong with this shoe as soon as you take it out the box and realize how lightweight the shoe is you will know it can only get better. Very comfortable, I am use to wearing double sock with my previous shoes "Hyperfuse" and with this shoe it feels like you are really in the moon. The lightweight gives you the extra burst and jump. You can't beat this shoe, I even got a new nickname "ThunderVolt" get the electric green ones to add style to your game!"
+21points
22of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The best shoes ever!!!!

, Jul 26, 2012
JSanchez03
,Hialeah, FL, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am 14 and play for youth basketball (13-15).My first game was yesterday and the comfort of this shoe is amazing.The best addition is the lunarlon it makes you feel like your in the moon , plus landing softly. I would recommend this shoes to everyone.
-Jose"
+16points
18of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes

, Aug 21, 2012
mrtn29
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Power Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very light and comfy shoes, good ankle support. I bought half-size bigger. Not played much with these, but they are definitely worth the price. I also love the looks."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,Dallas Texas
onAug 25, 2012
Hi, I'm 14 and need new shoes for my school team and have been saving up for these for a while and want to make sure that they"re small enough to where they wont feel too loose, but big enough so that when my foot grows a little bit i can still wear them
+2points
7of 12voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing pair of shoes!

, Aug 5, 2012
HGsleeve
,Nampa, ID, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I had just purchased these shoes and I am telling you that they are extremely good. If you play a lot of basketball these are the shoes for you. People wonder if the flywire is a bit to exposed and might rip, but it won't. The only way it could rip is if you took a knife to it. This is a very durable shoe with excellent grip on the court. Great support and amazing breathability. I am used to getting the hyperfuses because the breathablity was amazing but these hyperdunks are going to give the hyperfuses a run for their money on that aspect of the shoe."
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome shoe i highly recomend

, Jul 25, 2012
Bball1998
,Livingston Manor, Ny
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Shooting Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Bought these as soon as they were released and i was greatly pleased! They feel great, are very lightweight, and im loving the look of the blue and gold ones. Definetly a great buy but i would suggest buying a half size up if you have wide feet. Anyway definetly purchase this item you wont regret it!"
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The best basketball shoe in ages.

, Aug 12, 2012
GTSmitty
,Philadelphia, PA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Recreational (Intramurals, Church League)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"A great shoe for playing basketball. A bit tight when you first put them on but the moment you break them in you won't want to take them off your feet. As far as endurance, they're strong, light, and tough. Better on the indoor court. Good on the blacktop. One of the best shoes ever made."
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Most comfortable shoe you have every worn and will wear in your life!!!!

, Nov 13, 2012
clutchchrisintheclutch
,Arlington, VA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have three pairs of basketball shoes, hyperenforeces, soldier 6s and hyperdunks. The hyperdunks are the most comfortable of them all. My friends are always asking me about what type of basketball shoe should they buy. I used to say lebron 9s but now that I wear these I have to say, there is no doubt which shoe you will enjoy playing in the most. this is the first year that I have worn hyperdunks because i didnt like the designs of the last few years. I loved the design of this years shoe and decieded to give them a shot. I am thrilled with these shoes and look forward to next years model"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Sep 27, 2012
live4christ.883
,USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Power Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It is a great shoe! I love the looks of it. I got the white and neon green shoe. The pictures online do not do a good job at representing how awesome it is. The fit is good. But if you have ankle braces i'd sugest buying a half size larger then normal. Over all this shoe is one of the best i've owned!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Shoe Owned

, Dec 22, 2012
XpertThief
,Greensboro, NC, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Point Guard
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Amazing, durable, comfy and quick response and very flashy. I walked onto the court with these and was swarmed by compliments and questions about these. Highly reccommended"
+6points
10of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Shoes I've had in a while

, Sep 30, 2012
bballboy424
,Philadelphia, PA, USA
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are probally the most comfortable shoes I've had since the kd 3s They are very durable and the give great support to your ankles."
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great bball shoe

, Jun 30, 2012
Anonymous
,SJ 408 SHARK TANK
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"great hoop shoes. so comfy. changed my life when i hit the courts"
+5points
10of 15voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
Totally agree
onJul 6, 2012
I had the same exact experience! Amazingly comfortable
+5points
10of 15voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Nike Lunar Hyperdunk 2012 Men's Basketball Shoe
Overall rating 87 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Hyperdunk Ever

, Nov 29, 2012
FOAMHEAD93
,
The Basketball position I play most often is:Small Forward
,
My skill level is:Competitive (Youth Team, High School, College)
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"No other hyperdunk can compare to this one.
The fit is like wearing a pair of socks. Once you lace up, the upper conforms to the foot perfectly. The width is narrow, so if you have wide feet, i'd recommend trying them on in-store first.
Lockdown is incredible as well, heel-slip is non-existent and the foot stays on the footbed during quick side-to-side movements.
The outrigger is HUGE! I like how the midsole also juts out, creating a wider base and better stability
The cushioning is very plush, yet responsive. The foot can push down on the foam, which gives but also gives some energy back. Not as responsive as zoom but a welcome change.
The traction is also very solid, it can stop very quickly in any direction and pushing off wasn't a problem.
The biggest thing was how fluid the shoe felt, the curvature of the sole allows for quick heel-to-toe transitions that had almost a propelling sensation. Some shoes have tried to do this but they have felt very unstable but this does the job perfectly and with lunar foam instead of zoom air, provided a more flexible base and a smoother transition
Ventilation is also top-notch.
Best all-around Nike shoe
"
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>