Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
3.507 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(71 reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 71 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
10
2 Stars
10
1 Star
11
20 out of 3165%of reviewers recommend this product
SUPREME FLEXIBILITY FOR A BAREFOOT-LIKE RIDEThe Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe is the closest to barefoot that Nike has offered to date. Designed for flexibility and foot strengthening, it also delivers the underfoot protection and traction of a shoe.Seamless UpperThe seamless, composite upper offers lightweight support where you need it. It features larger perforations for more flexibility and smaller ones in areas that demand more support.FlexibilityFlex grooves along the length and width of the midsole enhance flexibility for a more natural stride, while diagonal grooves through the arch enhance flexibility and help increase foot strength. The low-profile midsole doubles as an outsole, dramatically reducing overall shoe weight.Supportive FitA full inner sleeve made of mesh offers a sock-like fit that hugs the foot yet still allows for easy on and off. The minimal, molded sockliner conforms to the foot's curves for enhanced fit, comfort and support.OriginsAfter learning that Stanford athletes had been training barefoot on the university's golf course, three of Nike's most innovative and creative employees set out to develop a shoe that felt natural and weightless, similar to bare feet. In 2002, they examined a group of men and women with pressure-measuring insoles taped to their feet, using high-speed cameras to capture images of each foot in motion.The team spent eight years studying the biomechanics of shoeless running. The results yielded a profound understanding of the foot's natural landing angle, pressure and toe position, allowing Nike designers to build an unconventional and flexible running shoe from the inside out.More BenefitsReflective Swoosh design trademark for enhanced visibility in low lightStrategically placed carbon rubber for durabilitySolid-rubber pods at the medial toe for durability and tractionWaffle outsole for traction, durability and a more neutral, efficient toe-offProduct DetailsWeight: 7.2 ounces (men's size 10)
Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

so-so

, Aug 23, 2013
christian.g
,Battle Creek, MI, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
"when i purchased this product i was astounded by how flexible it was and how comfy they feel very light and cool looking thats where the good things stop the quality is a little below average my shoe was falling apart at the seam literally but that is considering i used my pair very heavily if you are just walking or just want a good looking pair of shoes go for it but if you are looking for a good durable shoe for running a lot go for the lunarglide+5"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My most comfortable shoe

, May 14, 2013
Lich Yang
,Ann Arbor, MI, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is my most comfortable shoe. I don't run at all.I wear this shoe for usual office wearing. It's good, light, make you feel like walking."
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Free Runs are Awesome!

, Apr 16, 2013
Mr.Swagster
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Free Runs are great for running I love mine a lot and I feel like I'm running with my bare feet! They are very comfortable and I recommend them to everyone who likes to run"
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Nice Colors

, Apr 7, 2013
Hoosiers04
,Minneapolis MN
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This was my first pair of Free Runs I've ever owned and I customized them to my own colors. I love the colors, but my base color was black, and at the tip of the shoe, it completely rubbed off just through slight weathering. I got double wide so the fit was, fine, but it was however still a great shoe for running."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Torn to Shreds

, Mar 27, 2013
ElMono214
,Los Angels
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have to say that these shoes were amazing to run in at first. They felt like the Original Free Runs. I didn't feel as much pain and I still got that bare foot feel & Flexibility that I love. Unfortunately I tear through my shoes really easily. I have holes in my Free Runs, and in my Free Runs 2+… But my Free Runs 3.0 played what seems like a trick on me. At first I got a small hole on the side of the shoe (the usual spot where i get holes in my shoes) and I played it off like it was nothing. I later realized That the shoe tore earlier than my other shoes (according to my friends and family). Not only that a few days later I trip while wearing these shoes and one of them just completely tore in half!! I was like "What The Heck!!"
So if you wear-out your shoes pretty quickly don't get these shoes… not worth it."
-15points
10of 35voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bychristian.g
,battle creek mi
onAug 23, 2013
thats strange the same thing happened to mine i was running a race and i looked down and my shoe had a hole on the side that continuously got larger
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nike

, Mar 12, 2013
Anonymous
,Anaheim, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"nike free 3.0 are excellent and stylish. :) I recommend this shoe. Hope you enjoy them. Nike is the best."
-21points
4of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Best Shoe For an Athlete

, Mar 10, 2013
Themoose9009
,San Antonio, TX, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am in middle school and I use these shoes for lifting or training because they have a good grip and because of their comfort, I don't just use theme for training but also for the rest of the day."
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Comfortable but not durable

, Mar 8, 2013
finn09zo
,Arizona
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had these for eight months now and they are the most comforatble shoes I've ever had. At about 7 months the shoes got a small hole in them on the outside top near the toe box but i wasn't too worried. Just today I was playing football and i went to make a quick turn and they ripped in half."
User submitted photo
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byIrishRob
,Beaverton, OR, USA
onApr 14, 2013
They are made more for running, not generally football. Different stresses on the shoes.
+7points
7of 7voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

This product is very nice

, Mar 7, 2013
PeanutButterBella
,Appleton, WI, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had my free runs for about 3 months now. I run about 2 miles a day. The other day i was walking and i saw a rip right by cushion part by the toes. I didnt think that it would keep ripping but it all started to just rip right out. I'm now going for the hyperdunks because i want more support for when i play basketball. I will probably find another shoe for running. I really like Nike and i wouldnt choose anything else. So the shoes are really nice except for the durability."
User submitted photo
-10points
1of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

This Product Burns The Arch Of My Foot

, Mar 6, 2013
Omarh1997
,Madera Ca
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"It Is Lightweight Yes! But Its Just Not The Most Confortable Shoe! It Burns My Foot And Has No Support. Sorry"
-9points
0of 9voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bybangoker
onMay 14, 2013
It's meant to give little support, that burning is your arch actually working out, rather than resting in shoe provided arch.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

good shoes for training or just to wear

, Feb 28, 2013
Christian.reed
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"great shoes for running or just to wear they are comfortable they fit right and they to be honest feel like walking on pillows"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Feb 19, 2013
Jgolf
,CT
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Great shoe if you like minimalist shoes. Worth a try if you haven't tried them yet. I wear them for both road and trail runs, though I prefer trails and spend more time there. Also great shoes for walking around. Slight differences from previous model -- new sole doesn't collect as many pebbles and twigs, and feels slightly different but as good as old one. Very light, and I prefer these to other shoes that have even thinner soles, but more structure. I think Nike got it right with the "free" concept - really creates a barefoot feel with some cushioning. They will improve your running form, strengthen your feet, and give you a really nice ride. If you are new to them, get used to them gradually -- don't start with a half-marathon unless you are used to this type of shoe. I have had zero running injuries since switching to these years ago, though used to have issues with "stability" shoes. I have pretty average feet, 175 lb. athletic 60 yr old. I will never wear traditional running shoes again (as long as these are available). Nike, please don't change them too much, and please make the free golf shoes more like these!"
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Trade show shoes

, Feb 10, 2013
Atlonamike
,Pleasanton, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought my first pair of these 3.0 Free for wearing at a trade show. I love these! Everyday use, casual Fridays at work, kicking around on a weekend or working out."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Awesome

, Feb 7, 2013
dliangsta
,Milwaukee, WI, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoes feel great and look great. The pair I bought were in neon green and I get alot of compliments. However, the shoe feels almost plasticy, and the material is quite thin. It feels great though!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Why Laces?

, Jan 26, 2013
campdad
,Tampa
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe fits like a glove so what are the laces for? I guess it's to keep the shoe from flying off of your foot if it becomes too loose. I run without the laces which can get you some strange looks. The problem with this generation of the 3.0 is that Nike has added a rigid top edge to the tongue and it rubs the ankle and top of your foot as you run. These are still the best running shoe around but if Nike keeps "improving" them it will be time to start looking for different shoes."
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

This shoe

, Jan 22, 2013
dbeez
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The snug fit is comfortable. The colors are great as always.I like how the heel cup is very sturdy but i wish the toe box could have somehow been reinforced it seems to give too easily at times.This shoe is fairly durable. The fabric however does seem to start to rip after about two months but its a minimalist shoe so it doesn't have much stability to begin with. Overall a good shoe, not going to please everyone so try it on before if you can"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Disappointing

, Jan 10, 2013
Aleverage
,Norcal
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are comfortable and fit well. They do have a good minimal, barefoot feel to them and they provide slightly more support than my NB Minimus shoes.
There are some things I don't like about them. First, the soles trap a lot of stones, twigs, mud, debris in the deep grooves, and require routine, messy cleaning. If you don't, they'll scratch a wood floor.
Second concern is durability. I only have about 100 miles on mine, and the uppers are showing a lot of wear, and actually have holes in the thin material. Sole wear is minimal, though.
Third minor but unexpected issue - driving. The heel of the sole protrudes to the rear, and surprisingly makes for an uncomfortable foot position for me while driving any distances in them. Not a real criteria for a running shoe, but wanted to mention it. A first for me.
A decent shoe, but I would not buy again."
-10points
2of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 Menapos;s Running Shoe.
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Ottime scarpe!

, Feb 15, 2013
Francesco
,Porto San Giorgio
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"Queste scarpe sono estremamente comode e allo stesso tempo performanti. Correre con le 3.0 è veramente uno spasso e questa versione è molto migliorata nella struttura della tomaia e nella regolazione dei lacci. Credo che sia una tra le migliori se preferite calzature reattive, leggere e anche belle da vedere!"
NikeEmea
Review 19 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoes.

, Dec 9, 2012
tennisgoodness
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is overall a very great shoe. I mainly use these shoes for walking around but these shoes are wonderful for being lightweight and extremely comfortable. However, if you are running more than 15 miles a week this shoe will wear out easily."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 71 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Shoe I Have Ever Worn

, Nov 23, 2012
runnernate
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I thought these shoes were incredibly comfortable and lightweight. You can run anywhere with these shoes (trail, road, grass, gravel, cement) and I love the looks of them. I would recommend these to any passionate runners. They are like wearing slippers. I love the fixed tongue and I think it provides a snug fit."
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 next>>