Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe

Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe

Overall rating:
4.026 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
18 out of 2090%of reviewers recommend this product
LIGHTWEIGHT STYLE ON COURTA collaboration between Roger Federer and renowned Nike designer Tinker Hatfield, the Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe offers a glove-like fit plus stability and responsive cushioning.Glove-Like FitThe Dynamic Fit system features "fingers" of soft material that wrap the midfoot and arch from underneath the foot for a glove-like fit that's adjustable through the laces.StabilityThe Footframe wraps from the midfoot to the heel for extra stability during quick turns.Responsive CushioningA Nike Zoom unit in the heel offers low-profile, responsive cushioning. Lightweight yet firm Phylon cushioning adds to the responsiveness.More BenefitsMesh upper for breathabilitySynthetic leather overlay for a locked-down feelRubber overlays in high-wear areas for added durability and to minimize damage caused by sliding on the courtDurable outsole with a multi-surface herringbone pattern for tractionOutsole flex grooves for flexibility and more natural forefoot motion
Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Vapors dont hold up

, Apr 10, 2014
Anonymous
,Arizona
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have purchased 20 pairs of vapor 9 tours from various retailers over the last year, and they last approximately 1-11/2 months if worn 3-4 times a week, with 2-3 hr hitting sessions.
Its hard for me to recommend this shoe, as it blows out so quickly, ranging from holes in the bottoms, to complete tread wear; although, It seams the shoe's tread wear has gotten better as the different color ways come out, but that might just be my perception as I now have a cycle of a three pair rotation that seems to be lasting a little bit longer. Nonetheless, these shoes are remarkably light and comfortable, and seem to be the only shoe that don't cause excessive foot discomfort. Unless you have ailing foot issues, and this shoe alleviates them, I would recommend something more durable or at least with a 6 month performance guarantee.
I have also purchased 4 pairs of the 9.5 vapor tour, and the durability hasn't changed.
Kevin"
Response from NikeBy Nike.comApr 11, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, Kevin. Looks like you're putting in some hard work on the courts. It's only right that we get you a shoe that can keep up. Since it sounds like you've run through these rather quickly, we recommend checking out Nikeclaims.com to view the process on how to set up a claim. You can also give us a shout directly at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) if you'd rather talk over the phone. That work?
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
This review is fromNike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe.
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Bella e funzionale

, Dec 13, 2013
MRossi1971
,Firenze, Italia
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Clay Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Un buon prodotto adatto alla terra rossa. Su altre superfici non l'ho ancora provata. Il comfort è ottimo"
NikeEmea
Review 3 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
This review is fromNike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe.
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoes!

, Nov 23, 2013
costisb
,Athens, Greece
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable and durable shoes. Great tennis shoes!"
NikeEmea
Review 4 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoe, misleading color

, Oct 4, 2013
PATRICK
,Fresno, Ca
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I always stuck to Nike and love their product. While I will agree it is overpriced, you pay for the quality. The shoes are very comfortable, fit well, and designed stylish. The only downside I have is that the color is not what I expected. I was of the opinion they were straight red and black, but Nike colors don't agree with the pictures. I look like a clown on the court but doesn't affect my play. Again, excellent product, great shoe, lasts long on court."
-1point
14of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Good for training and tennis

, Oct 1, 2013
MATTHEW
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Beginner
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable and durable. Good for gym workouts as well"
-18points
1of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fitting shoes

, Sep 27, 2013
RAMI
,Cincinnati, OH, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"So stylish and so comfortable - these fit like a snug glove. I play tennis twice a week and need to be comfortable. Nike did very well with these. I will always wear a vapor shoe!"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoes

, Sep 2, 2013
J19l56s
,St. Louis, MO, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fits like a glove. I thought the color was red. But it's a pinkish/orange."
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

NOT durable!!!

, Aug 20, 2013
Damon1234
,New York, NY, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
"This shoe is pretty comfortable and fits like a glove, but the durability is just awful! for this shoe to be priced at $130 is quite ridiculous, because it took me just two weeks to rip a whole through the side of the shoe."
User submitted photo
-8points
18of 44voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great tennis shoes

, Aug 4, 2013
ggrooms
,Florida
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Best shoes I've ever worn. Former college player. Shoes may tend to the narrow side, which is perfect for me."
-11points
4of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Zoom Vapor(ized) 9

, May 27, 2013
TheGerbster
,Granada Hills, CA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Beginner
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour is the very first pair of tennis shoes I have ever worn in my entire life. I have been playing tennis (amateur, of course ...personally defined as playing rallies with my mom and only doing services to gauge whether the ball is in or not from my mom's visual perspective lol ) for a couple of years now, and I've been jumping from one pair of sneakers to another, mainly because I'm not a pro, so I don't really need one and because I can't afford to buy quality- and/or name-brand shoes.
It's only recently that I've mustered enough guts and money (mainly money) that I try a "real" pair of tennis shoes. And after browsing Nike's collection, and after a big nudge of bias as a Federer fan, I landed a pair of the Zoom Vapor 9 (see picture below). Just a foreword: I'm not a pro, and this "review" is nowhere near as professional or in-depth as any other out there, so bear with me if my insight is a little off.
Anyway, one of the things that got me interested with this is the colorway...I mean, the black and white is such a pro-looking shoes, and all of a sudden, a slap of pink appears on it. Mind you that this is for the men's version. I have nothing against it; in fact, I LUV (with a "U", yes) the boldness of Nike to add the color pink on it. It's both professional and lovely at the same time...couldn't care less what people say about it or me, for the matter. The shoes fit true-to-size, but I must warn you that I have regular feet, so in case your feet are wide, you might want to get a half-size or even a full-size larger than what you normally wear (also consider the type of socks to wear with this shoe too). The shoes provide a stable cushion base that is not springy or pillowy when running or sprinting on the court, i.e. it is pretty responsive with your feet's every movement. It provides a decent heel lockdown...I haven't experienced any heel slippage whatsoever, whether it be on thick socks or thin socks. Traction is on point, and with XDR outsole, I don't feel nervous about running around the court. The mesh upper and the overall material looks pretty durable, which may seem like it won't give when you first try the shoes on. Although after a few hours of usage, the shoes mold to your feet without having those hotspots or painful areas when wearing them. I don't have any complaints about it so far because, well, it delivers as expected: work like a tennis shoe is supposed to. Also, knowing that Federer wears this is enough to make me feel like a pro as well when playing [amateur] tennis (okay, that may be just being hooked on subliminal advertisement and personal bias, but it works like heck, so yeah ^_^)
Well, that's my insight on the Zoom Vapor 9. I was actually prepared to return it if my feet didn't like; turns out that my feet didn't just liked it but loved it too."
User submitted photo
-22points
19of 60voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Works exeptionally well

, Feb 24, 2013
muneses_m
,USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Grass Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a Tennis pro and This is by far the best shoe i have used in a long time"
-11points
8of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, Feb 1, 2013
ihatematthew
,Miami, FL, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This Shoe is great because i am a Tennis Pro and i am on the tennis court all the time. THe shoe is very stylish and comfortable."
-15points
9of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

NO!!!!!

, Jan 28, 2013
gmfballer97
,United States
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is a terrible shoe! how could federer wear these!"
-51points
6of 63voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great support and light tennis shoe

, Jan 5, 2013
ironmikesr
,USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"it took some playing to get them broke in, but after that they are great. Haven't felt any foot issues that have come up recently."
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Not bad. Two things to make them perfect

, Dec 22, 2012
Anonymous
,Milwaukee
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I wear the shoes on wood courts for racquetball. This is my second pair. Love these shoes. After going from the courtballistec. Lighter, comfortable and they hold to the wood floor very well. My first pair lasted about 7 months, 4 days per week.
If Nike wants them to be perfect, these shoes should have the sock type inside like the courtballistec, instead of a tongue. Also, overlay on the toe needs to be extended. It causes the mesh to wear a hole in it."
-11points
10of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BEST TENNIS SHOE EVER MADE?

, Dec 1, 2012
MMpire
,Southern California
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"That is what Tennis Warehouse said in their recent review of this shoe, and I must agree. I have tried everything on the market the last 30 years and this shoe has to be my favorite. Great comfort, ventilation, mobility, stability, and fit! SIX STARS if I had an extra one to give! Fantastic job Nike!"
+3points
21of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byWillMRussell
,Orlando, FL
onNov 23, 2013
And THANK YOU Roger Federer for your collaboration!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great tennis shoe!

, Oct 22, 2012
JSC_TX
,Texas, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Comfortable and stylish! This shoe gets you around the court!"
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My Tennis experience

, Oct 20, 2012
seanjohn1590
,Arizona
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Lasted me 2 months...
Great shoes in the terms of comfort and traction. Small amount of break in time, overall great - durability
"
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Tennis Shoe

, Oct 8, 2012
Roy Steinwolf
,New Jersey
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Not a tennis player. Fits good, order 1/2 size larger. Comfortable."
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 38 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A must try.

, Oct 2, 2012
antontoo
,New York
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Amazing shoe, I've tried them all and no shoe comes even close to the comfort and performance of these. Absolutely weightless and seamless experience. It flexes with my foot, supports it everywhere and absorbs as much court pressure as I could throw at it without giving up any stability or causing any pain. The fit is generous in the forefoot so my size 9, E feet fit in perfectly (while in most other shoes my forefoot aches for more space). Low durability*, 90's styling and insane standard price are downsides to consider, but in comparison, other shoes feel like obsolete, clunky devices you've tolerated for too long.
*The sole is thin, but for me it wore very even and ended up lasting much longer then expected."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>