Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe

Overall rating:
4.075 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
4
1 Star
3
20 out of 2291%of reviewers recommend this product
LIGHTWEIGHT STYLE ON COURTA collaboration between Roger Federer and renowned Nike designer Tinker Hatfield the Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe offers a glovelike fit plus stability and responsive cushioningGloveLike FitThe Dynamic Fit system features fingers of soft material that wrap the midfoot and arch from underneath the foot for a glovelike fit that's adjustable through the lacesStabilityThe Footframe wraps from the midfoot to the heel for extra stability during quick turnsResponsive CushioningA Nike Zoom unit in the heel offers lowprofile responsive cushioning Lightweight yet firm Phylon cushioning adds to the responsivenessMore BenefitsMesh upper for breathabilitySynthetic leather overlay for a lockeddown feelRubber overlays in highwear areas for added durability and to minimize damage caused by sliding on the courtDurable outsole with a multisurface herringbone pattern for tractionOutsole flex grooves for flexibility and more natural forefoot motion
Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

NO!!!!!

, Jan 28, 2013
gmfballer97
,United States
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is a terrible shoe! how could federer wear these!"
-52points
6of 64voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not for playing TENNIS

, Apr 19, 2012
Anonymous
,Meridian, ID, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased this shoe 6 weeks ago for my son playing high school tennis. He only wore them on the court. and two days ago he blew a hole through the front of the left shoe. The bottoms are completely void of tread and without knowing it would appear they have been worn daily for three or more years. The shoes are completely worn out. in 6 weeks? That's not right"
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Horrible Durability

, Feb 1, 2012
ReneMexia
,Los angeles
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I just bought these shoes a week ago and have played in the only three times. They are already showing signs of balding on the sole. at a shoe priced this high, its insane to think that in a month I'll probably have to go out and buy another pair of shoes. I now see why this shoe does not have the 6-month outsole gaurantee like the nadal shoe has."
-6points
10of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Vapors dont hold up

, Apr 10, 2014
Anonymous
,Arizona
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have purchased 20 pairs of vapor 9 tours from various retailers over the last year, and they last approximately 1-11/2 months if worn 3-4 times a week, with 2-3 hr hitting sessions.
Its hard for me to recommend this shoe, as it blows out so quickly, ranging from holes in the bottoms, to complete tread wear; although, It seams the shoe's tread wear has gotten better as the different color ways come out, but that might just be my perception as I now have a cycle of a three pair rotation that seems to be lasting a little bit longer. Nonetheless, these shoes are remarkably light and comfortable, and seem to be the only shoe that don't cause excessive foot discomfort. Unless you have ailing foot issues, and this shoe alleviates them, I would recommend something more durable or at least with a 6 month performance guarantee.
I have also purchased 4 pairs of the 9.5 vapor tour, and the durability hasn't changed.
Kevin"
Response from NikeBy Nike.comApr 11, 2014
Thanks for leaving a review, Kevin. Looks like you're putting in some hard work on the courts. It's only right that we get you a shoe that can keep up. Since it sounds like you've run through these rather quickly, we recommend checking out Nikeclaims.com to view the process on how to set up a claim. You can also give us a shout directly at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) if you'd rather talk over the phone. That work?
-4points
1of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

NOT durable!!!

, Aug 20, 2013
Damon1234
,New York, NY, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
"This shoe is pretty comfortable and fits like a glove, but the durability is just awful! for this shoe to be priced at $130 is quite ridiculous, because it took me just two weeks to rip a whole through the side of the shoe."
User submitted photo
-8points
20of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Review of "Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour" Men's Tennis Shoe

, Jun 28, 2012
rumy01
,Rego Park, NY, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"As an owner of multiple tennis shoes, which include previous generations of this shoe (Nike Lunarlon Vapor Tour 8), I will use the previous generations as a reference, to compare this "9th generation".
When I first opened the shoebox, I was very impressed with the looks of the shoe. However after putting them on, the looks did not match up to the performance (comfort) and certainly did not meet the "dynamic demands of your(my) game." I first noticed that the width of the shoe was significantly narrower than that of the previous generations, and would become a pain to wear, as it nearly cut my circulation off after 20 seconds. After drastic attempts to widen it, it moved just enough to put my foot in. Finally after getting my foot in, everytime I took a step, or moved my toes, I felt my foot rubbing against a seam inside the shoe. I think that if I played for 30 minutes, I would get at least a blister. Apparently the "Adaptive Fit " had a seam that kept rubbing against my foot. (the front). In theory, this idea is correct, however if you were to do any of this, you have to make a flat seam or seamless inside to avoid agonizing pain. (By the way, this was not caused by the socks I were wearing, because they are seamless." The previous versions had very few seams, if any, and those seams were were either flat, or had no seams. I even tried to put tape over the seams to avoid rubbing.
One of the very few things Nike did successfully was to add the new "ZOOM" cushioning, which leaped over the previous versions. This new technology allows a better feel, without sacrificing cushion. The "XDR" tread (sole) also is very good, and I need it, as I often run very fast and quickly come to a stop.
Unfortunately, even with the cushioning the disadvantages far outweigh the advantages. I think Tinker Hatfield focused more on the looks than the performance.
In conclusion, this shoe could be improved, and I hope they do it in the next generation.
"
-32points
3of 38voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byantontoo
,New York
onOct 2, 2012
I've seen another person have a problem with the seam rubbing, but that was caused by him using too big of a shoe size (so the seam was ending up being over the widest part of his foot instead of behind it). Are you sure you got the right size?
-1point
1of 3voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Ankles Beware...

, Mar 29, 2012
Anonymous
,Portland, OR
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These shoes looks great and are super comfortable and lightweight BUT I've rolled my ankle twice since owning these...
It's been several years since I've had an ankle injury so I suspect that it must be the shoes that triggered the injury.
As I mentioned, the shoes are very comfortable, but i think there is lack in ankle support.
My friend ended up having the same issue as me. He never had any ankle issues until playing in the Zoom Vapor 9. He ended up returning the shoes and I will be doing the same..."
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Best Tennis Shoe I've Bought

, Jun 14, 2012
bmxluke13
,Vienna, WV, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have to begin by telling you, that if you are looking for comfort, stop reading and order. These are the most comfortable shoes i have ever worn on a court.past experience with the barricades.. dont get those. stick with nike.
anyways. Durability.. Terrible. ive probably played 18 matches in these in 6 weeks, plus clinics every day. the soles are completely worn through and you can see the white inside rubber or whatever. It gets very annoying. the sides dont break down at all, just the tread.
With all this said, if you have muchos $$$ buy these!!! if your on a budget and just trying to get some nice shoes, go for something else. But Vapor 9 Tours.. i love them!!"
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Terribly Undurable

, Jun 3, 2012
Tennislegend877
,Denver, CO, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is very stylish and very comfortable. Looks very good on the court and plays very well for the first week. Then you start to wear down the sole. It looses it's stickiness after the first week. In all, i think this shoe is for people who want comfort over durability. If you want durability, you should defenently not buy this shoe. Also this shoe is very expensive, and for such a price I was hoping for something much more durable. But i guess I must pay a price for not having any break-in period what so ever."
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
This review is fromNike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe.
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Bella e funzionale

, Dec 13, 2013
MRossi1971
,Firenze, Italia
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Clay Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Un buon prodotto adatto alla terra rossa. Su altre superfici non l'ho ancora provata. Il comfort è ottimo"
NikeEmea
Review 11 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
This review is fromNike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe.
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoes!

, Nov 23, 2013
costisb
,Athens, Greece
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable and durable shoes. Great tennis shoes!"
NikeEmea
Review 12 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoe, misleading color

, Oct 4, 2013
PATRICK
,Fresno, Ca
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I always stuck to Nike and love their product. While I will agree it is overpriced, you pay for the quality. The shoes are very comfortable, fit well, and designed stylish. The only downside I have is that the color is not what I expected. I was of the opinion they were straight red and black, but Nike colors don't agree with the pictures. I look like a clown on the court but doesn't affect my play. Again, excellent product, great shoe, lasts long on court."
+1point
17of 33voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great shoes

, Sep 2, 2013
J19l56s
,St. Louis, MO, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fits like a glove. I thought the color was red. But it's a pinkish/orange."
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Not bad. Two things to make them perfect

, Dec 22, 2012
Anonymous
,Milwaukee
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I wear the shoes on wood courts for racquetball. This is my second pair. Love these shoes. After going from the courtballistec. Lighter, comfortable and they hold to the wood floor very well. My first pair lasted about 7 months, 4 days per week.
If Nike wants them to be perfect, these shoes should have the sock type inside like the courtballistec, instead of a tongue. Also, overlay on the toe needs to be extended. It causes the mesh to wear a hole in it."
-11points
10of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Tennis Shoe

, Oct 8, 2012
Roy Steinwolf
,New Jersey
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Not a tennis player. Fits good, order 1/2 size larger. Comfortable."
-13points
3of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very Comfortable, But Not Durable

, Jul 13, 2012
keon2499
,Los Angeles, CA, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Nike Zoom Vapor 9 tennis shoe is stunning in terms of looks and comfortable-ness, but after a couple of months playing 2x a week for an hour, the outsole started to wear out. All in all the shoe is great and I would get another one, maybe the special 287 week one for Federer!"
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Most comfortable tennis shoe on the market

, May 3, 2012
dmbfan5333
,Mississippi, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have worn this shoe for about two weeks and it is, by far, the most comfortable tennis shoe Nike has ever made. I was previously wearing the COURTBALLISTEC 3.3's and these are much more comfortable and so much lighter. However, they do mark the court very badly and they are not durable, whatsoever. I am going to try the SL version of these, as they have non-marking outsoles and hopefully the synthetic leather will be more durable. All in all, it's a great shoe."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very Impressed

, Mar 27, 2012
SGIII
,Los Angeles, CA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I want to echo the feedback you have received thus far. So far, so good. The shoes are indeed light, comfortable and yet very stable. Fit well and provide excellent cushioning. Too soon to tell how they will hold up. Best thing I have played in since Breathe Free Max II."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Vapor 9 tour the best vapor yet!

, May 21, 2014
aus_d_
,Los Angeles, CA, USA
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Advanced
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"The vapor 9 tour is more responsive on court shoe than its predecessors.They have a comfortable out of box feel without compromising performance. The soles slip just slightly the first few wears, but once worn a few times you get a much better grip. Great shoe, recommend any player looking for a performance tennis shoe."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Zoom Vapor 9 Tour Men's Tennis Shoe
Overall rating 40 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, May 1, 2014
ZachBeim
,
The surface I prefer for Tennis is:Hard-Court
,
My skill level is:Intermediate
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I play high school tennis, practicing or playing a match every day of the week, and often one day of the weekend. I bought my shoes at the start of the season in early March, it is now May and they I have completely worn through the bottom of the shoe where i slide and will be testing the Nike Zoom Vapor 9.5's next. I love the comfort but there needs to at least be a warranty, but none the less I will keep buying some version of this awesome shoe."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comMay 2, 2014
Sorry to hear these wore out on you, Zach. We'd hate to have you miss any time on the court or not feel comfortable in the kicks you're rocking, so we've got a few options that you can try to get back on track. Here goes:

1. Give the original retailer a shout to see if they can help with a return/exchange.
2. If you don't have any luck there or if you purchased them online, check out Nikeclaims.com to view the process of setting up a claim if you believe there's a flaw in your product.

You can also give us a call at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily). Sound good?
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>