Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.18 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
5
The Nike Free 3.0 v3: Barefoot-like freedom, shoe-like supportThe Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe offers the best of both worlds: the benefits and feel of barefoot running, along with support and cushioning.BenefitsSeamless mesh upper for a lightweight, breathable fitPhylite midsole for durability, a resilient ride and reduced overall weightDeep Nike Free flex grooves for enhanced flexibility and stabilityWeight: 7.2 oz (men's size 10)FitMinimalist by design, the Nike Free 3.0 v3 features a seamless upper that's as flexible as it is breathable. Open mesh allows air to flow, while bonded lightweight overlays help lock the foot in place without restricting natural movement. The inner sleeve adds a plush feel, and off-center lacing reduces irritation that can be caused by chafing.FlexibilityThis version of the Nike Free has wider flex grooves across the forefoot for muscle activation, providing natural flexibility, ample protection and just enough support for serious comfort. On Nike's barefoot scale, the 3.0 most closely mimics the barefoot experience. OriginsAfter learning that Stanford athletes had been training barefoot on the university's golf course, three of Nike's most innovative and creative employees set out to develop a shoe that felt natural and weightless, just like bare feet. In 2002, they examined a group of men and women with pressure-measuring insoles taped to their feet, using high-speed cameras to capture images of each foot in motion. The team spent eight years studying the biomechanics of shoeless running. The results yielded a profound understanding of the foot's natural landing angle, pressure and toe position, allowing Nike designers to build an unconventional and flexible running shoe from the inside out.Additional DetailsStrategically placed overlays for supportDurable rubber outsole with Waffle pattern for traction
Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Free Runs 3.0 v3

, Apr 4, 2012
GMF382
,Athens, GA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"THESE ARE THE BEST FREES EVER!!!! They fit and feal great and are so light, just like your running bare foot. Only thing is that they only have 3 colors and are not Nike ID able."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Love them if they stayed together

, Apr 4, 2012
zephyrmike
,Florida
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love the feel of these shoes, very comfortable. Only issue was after only 6 weeks the little colored rubber tabs on the bottom by the toe area started peeling off, which prevented me from being able to run in them. I had to send them back. Apparently I am not the only person this happened to."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoes

, Mar 5, 2012
Jock333
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this product was amazing i play basketball training with these shoes really helped me out you can make quick cuts easier to jump with ect. I LOVE THESE SHOES SO MUCH GREAT SHOE NIKEEEE!!! Thank You"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I CAN RUN AGAIN!!!!

, Mar 5, 2012
Tico_2009
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I used to run cross country and track in highschool. In an effort to relive the glory days and stay fit, I began to run again after college; however, I developed an unexpected pain and tightening in my left knee. I surmised that I ruined my knee cartilage in highschool by running on the pavement in overworn shoes. I stopped running for many years. For some strange reason I was able to do bootcamps, jump rope, and run stairs with no problem. My knee only bothered me when I ran on flat ground. I did some research on barefoot running, and figured out that my heel strike may be causing the problem, and more cusioning is NOT the solution. I needed a shoe that would promote good form and a foot strike that is closer to my forefoot and not concentrated on the heel. I bought these shoes and cautiously went for a run. 2 miles later, I was celebrating my return to running (with better form) and NO knee pain. I'm so elated to be able to return to a sport that I loved so much. These shoes are awesome so far! (I've only gone for one 3 mile run)."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, Mar 1, 2012
Crazy Horse142
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i just bought these shoes, and i can tell you they are truly amazing! i never had another pair of free runs, but all of my friends did and said they were good, so i tried these. i'm not lying when i say this, but these shoes have to be one of the best pair of running shoes i've ever had. I mean sure, they run a little small, but i'm fine with it because the material stretches out and kind of shapes to your foot. Overall, very good shoe, great job, nike, i'll be looking forward to more genius designs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Free 3.0 V3

, Feb 25, 2012
A.P.W.B.Dumbledore
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Free 3.0 v3 is an exceptionally light and a very comfortable shoe. The fit was relatively true to size and has a very comfortably snug feel, without being too narrow or wide. Also, the material is rather strechy so I would think that slightly wide feet would not be a problem here as it is with several other models of NIKE shoes. These shoes have very well-placed cushioning with no unnecessary support, making them very comfortable for everyday use after you get used to the barefoot feel. Cons are that the paint on the midsole seems to wear away quite easily, and that at first you may get blisters, but most of the shoe is durable and again, you simply need to get used to the barefoot feel. Also, the shoes aren't very good for quick lateral movement. However, overall this is a very well designed and comfortable shoe, and quite good-looking to boot."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, Feb 20, 2012
LiveSTRONGboy
,Nc
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is great for everything! But what its best for is running, it is very comfortable and light wieght and helps you have a more mid-foot strike when you run. The only bad thing is that on mine the little rubber pieces at the toe are peeling off :( but other than that they are great and I cant wait to see how they hold up for training for track"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Free 3.0 v3

, Feb 15, 2012
ChaseCota
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I loved the nike free+ run shoes i had, so I bought these shoes also. These are the best training/running shoes i have ever had. I literally wear them every day and go from weightlifitng, to track practice to another football workout all in the same day. These shoes can go through it all. the only thing i noticed, was that when you first get them, the heels of the shoes feel too narrow for your feet, but once they have been worn a few times they fit perfectly. also, the light grey get dirty very easily so i think im going to buy the black pair"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe.
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

LA chaussure de running !

, Mar 28, 2012
samantey
,Paris, France
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Simplement incroyables !
J'ai acheté ces chaussures sans grande conviction mais j'ai été complètement conquis dès la première sortie. Pour moi, c'est la chaussure de running que j'attendais. Très légères, un confort incomparable, et une façon de courir (malgré vous) qui déstabilise en peu au début mais qui devient vite évidente et naturelle.
Je conseille ces chaussures à tout le monde. "Petit" ou "grand" coureur. Personnellement, je m'entraine avec trois fois par semaine sur des distances assez longues puisque je m'entraine pour le marathon. J'ai couru le semi-marathon avec elles récemment et inutile de préciser que je courrai les 42,195km, avec elles également!
Si vous les achetez par correspondance, prenez une taille en dessous de votre taille habituelle chez Nike.
Nike Free 3.0... what else ? ;-)
"
NikeEmea
Review 10 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Feb 7, 2012
BFranz7046
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The nike free run 3.0 is a great shoe.It is very comfortable and is great for bearfoot feel running.I would definetly recromend this shoe to anyone looking for a light weight and enjoyable running experience!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe.
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Perfect Parkour shoe!

, Mar 11, 2012
Mxgotland
,Gotland, Sweden
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I got these shoes yesterday since i needed new shoes for parkour, and WOW! they are amazing!
They are so light and it feels like running barefoot, lots of flexibility and excellent grip on walls when doing wall runs etc :)
I def recommend getting these!"
NikeEmea
Review 12 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love these Shoes

, Jan 16, 2012
Cionnn
,Las Vegas, NV, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are a testament to the fact that Nike knows how to make barefoot/transitional shoes. Forget the Nike Free Runs, these are the shoes to run in. I have a pair of Nike Free Runs and Nike Free Run 2's and had a few minor running injuries, but after switching to these, I have been pain free. 200 miles strong and still going in these shoes and will definitely buy another pair when these wear out. Im a size 9 and bought a size 9, so these shoes pretty much fit as is. I like how the forefoot of the shoe has more padding than the heel, resembling almost a negative toe drop that barefoot runners lean towards."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Barefoot Shoe next to Vibrams

, Dec 22, 2011
AKASH_P
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I run on my schools track and xc team and bought these shoes to get something light that permits forefoot running. i have a pair of 2011 airmaxes which are comfortable but far to heavy to be running 13 miles in. i got theses and love them. there are no regrets and after wearing my vibrams, this is an easy way to ease back into a proper shoe"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
onJan 12, 2012
can someone help me i need to know if these will mess up anything bad if they get wet while running i live in chicago so it snows is ok to walk or run in the snow in these
-4points
0of 4voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe.
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Transformed my running

, Feb 5, 2012
austriauk
,Cambridge, UK
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I used to run in Asics Nimbus, high end neutral cushioning shoe as well as as Nike Zoom Vomero and the top of the line neutral cushioned shoes of all major brands.
Distances ranging up to 100km runs. Apart from occasional plantar fasciitis I never really had any injuries.
A friend of mine recommended these and I did a lot of background reading on barefoot running and minimalist footwear.
I did get blisters during the first few weeks and they did not feel so comfortable for running at the start. This quickly changed as I learned to shorten my stride and be more attentive to surface and impact force. If you adapt your stride and impact, running will feel far more natural and enjoyable.
I have given all my other trainers away and only use these and recently vivobarefoots now. I am an absolute convert. I run smoother and suffer from less fatigue than with any other shoes I have used before. Give them a try!
"
NikeEmea
Review 15 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The best shoe I've ever run in

, Dec 16, 2011
Michaelt74
,Shinas, Oman
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought my first Nike Free 3s over a year ago and have run over 1600km (1000 miles) in them and they're still going strong. The great thing about these shoes is that they're minimalist, light and don't have all the unecessary 'cushioning', 'support' and all the nonsense that we've been told we need. The first time I used them I shaved about 10-15 secs per km off my time without any extra effort. I would highly recommend these shoes to anyone from novice to expert runners."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

lightness

, Dec 8, 2011
runningbird1272
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this shoe is great for a barefoot experience. its really light and great for track running or sidewalk running. overall a great shoe"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

NIKE FREE 3.0 SHIELD ID

, Nov 6, 2011
kidkinetic
,miami, FL, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"LOW RATING FOR THE STOCK 3.0 SHOE >> Do yourself a favor and ID them with the shield option ... this solves the HEEL PROBLEM .. awesome shoe don't want to take them off ,bout to order another pair... Just make sure to 1/2 size up and enjoy"
-17points
4of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Bogus sizing

, Nov 2, 2011
G_bby
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
very small
Runs Small
Runs Large
"These run 1 full size smaller than what I normally wear. Oddly, the 3.0 v3 in a size 10.5 is smaller than my 9.5 Free Everyday and Free Run 2. Why Nike? Why?"
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Don't use for anything other than running/comfort.

, Oct 24, 2011
love4therun
,San Diego, CA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are very comfortable but have a very snug feel. I wear a size 11 but had to bump up to a 12 with these. So they run a bit small. There is not much support in the ankle, I rolled it quite a few times just running around catching a football. Overall, very comfortable, with less than adequate support."
0points
7of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free 3.0 v3 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 39 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Big improvement over the v2

, Oct 19, 2011
dan.damaska
,Portage, MI, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Wider toe box makes for a better fit and better running experience. I used this model for my marathon and it was a noticeable upgrade over my spring marathon in the v2. I will be buying another pair after these."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>