Customer reviews for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
4.39 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
The Nike Free TR2: Superior handling to accelerate your trainingUltra-lightweight. Flexible. Tough. Combining a barefoot-like feel with outstanding support, the Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe delivers flexibility and ground-gripping traction for responsive, precise control at lightning speed.BenefitsMulti-directional Free pattern for increased flex in every directionBack heel-lock and forefoot overlay for a secure fit.Seamless mesh inner-sleeve for a contoured fit and ventilationSupportThe Nike Free TR2 combines heavy-duty yet lightweight breathable mesh with strategically placed synthetic overlays for support during demanding training sessions. A large overlay wraps the heel and another covers the outside forefoot for lockdown during quick multidirectional movements. The seam-free, breathable mesh half-innersleeve hugs the foot, helping it to stay in place, while a stability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during side-to-side movements.FlexibilityFeaturing Nike Free technology, this men's training shoe delivers the feel of training barefoot with a natural fit and enhanced flexibility. Deep Nike Free-inspired flex grooves along the length and width of the midsole enhance flexibility and articulation, allowing the foot to easily move in any direction. Wider grooves in the forefoot allow toes to engage more during landings and push-off.TractionFrom the field to gym floors, the DiamondFLX traction of this shoe brings flexible, multidirectional grip to a variety of surfaces. Solid rubber pods in the heel and perimeter of the forefoot are configured in an aggressive, delta-node pattern for added traction and durability.
Customer reviews for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good all around shoe

, Apr 25, 2012
Sportsplayer59
,Mequon, WI
,
I Train primarily for:Football
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a freshmen in highschool who used these for training both preseason, season, and postseason football. Now I wear them around regularly. They have tears in the breathable mesh and lining. Mostly from the type of training I do. Its a little uncomfortable at first but once you break them in they become a perfect fit. Other then that this shoes is perfect. I recently bought these for indoor track and they are holding up perfectly."
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love Love Love

, Apr 20, 2012
shaderu
,London, UK
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am 14 years old and run recreationally a few miles daily to keep in shape, when i first got these after my first 3 runs using them my shins were in agony, only now, after the initial pain, i realised it was just my muscles adjusting to the new type of free cut sole on the shoe.This type of shoe really strengthens up your legs very quickly. STICK WITH IT. Ive been using them for a few months now and i have fallen in love with them, i feel so much more powerful now. If you are willing to go through a little pain, the pros far outweigh the cons. happy buying!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best workout shoe ever

, Apr 15, 2012
fpknuckles
,CT
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Great for crossfit style workouts which involve lifting and running combined. Great support, light weight, super comfortable! I have three pairs..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I wanted to like them...

, Apr 11, 2012
kenp703
,San Francisco, CA, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Really like the look of this shoe and was pumped to start wearing them. However, about 3 hours into the first time using them (just casual walking around) I started feeling a lot of pain about an inch under my right ankle. After that first time use my ankle hurt for about 3-4 weeks. When they got better I thought it was a freak accident. I used these again and sure enough a few hours in the pain came back and was out for another few weeks.
I didn't think it was the shoes at first but since I waited to use them after my injury it was passed the 30 days to return...
If these are your first "Free" shoes, I would recommend buying them at a store and getting a good feel for them. I was really disappointed they didn't work for me. I only wear nikes too for athletic shoes and have never had a problem."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Free TR2.
Overall rating 41 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not suitable

, May 6, 2012
chamski
,scotland
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"As a group fitness instructor who requires high performance training shoes I was really disapointed with this shoe.
The fit was reallyy snug and held my foot in place well, something I look for in a shoe as I teach a lot of multi directional fitness classes like body attack.
The thing that let me down with this shoe was the lack of cushioning. For the level of impact and speed of music in my classes I require a shoe that will absorb lots of impact for high impact aerobic and plyometric moves.
If you are a gym goer who likes to use the cross trainer, rowing machine etc this could be the shoe for you. If you take part in high impact group fitness classes I would look at what else is avaiable."
NikeEmea
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byashar
,London
For, " Bad Review Anonymous 12 June 2012"
onJun 16, 2012
FYI..As per NIke itself these are Men's Training Shoe ( i.e. NIKE FREE TR2) and not running shoes. Nike Free Run are different shoes and as far as I know "Free" is type of shoe-sole and not type of Shoe...:)..
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
Bad Review
onJun 12, 2012
The shoe is made for running and improving the strength of the foot, you can't give it a bad review because you brought the wrong product, nike free are perfect for what they do & what they advertise to do, run, not exercise classes.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 6 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My Favorite Nike Free Product next to the Free Run 2

, Mar 17, 2012
JMcFly
,So Cal
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are the greatest nike free shoes ever made. Out of the box they are going to fit like a glove in the forefoot, super snug, but once you go through a couple workouts they feel amazing! I primarily use them for speed training and the gym, but then I ran long distance and my feet felt stronger almost immediately! These are so versatile and lightweight I am definetly going to purchase another pair before they change the style up. Mad Props Nike, keep making legit products and providing us athletes with the tools to get from A to B in style. JM"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Not as good as Free TR1

, Mar 12, 2012
drj2
,New York, NY, USA
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I owned the free TR1 and I liked them so much I was excited when Nike decided to bring them back. Unfortunately, the free TR2 runs a lot narrower than its predecessor. Get them in the wider version and they are a little better but it becomes a bit looser than you want. I used to do a lot of sprint work with the TR1. Other shoes that I've tried usually have too much cushion and is not very favorable for sprinting. The free TR1's were excellent. the free TR2 falls a bit short because of the complications with the shoes width."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great

, Mar 1, 2012
onestepABOVE
,Louisiana, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Make Varsity
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had these shoes for a few months now. They are very light and easy to run in, and have great grip and traction."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

verdict guarded

, Jan 24, 2012
chaz52
,ATL
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I now have two pair, cause I ordered another when I got the 1st and liked the style and looks. wore them to work (15 hrs.) right out the box and I stand a good 11 hrs/day. the TR2's arenot the greatest on traction on a wet tile floor, but let's face it, it's a training shoe. I happen to feel that training shoes are the best to wore to work if you stand for extended periods.so So for so good! I wish they still made the sparqs, with their all leather body!!!!!"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is great for serious athletes as well as beginners

, Jan 11, 2012
Dcro
,New York, NY, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this product is very comfy and fits nicely. They look great and are easy to run in."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

GREAT shoe!

, Dec 27, 2011
LayinOutMofos
,J-Ville, FL
,
I Train primarily for:Football
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i bought these shoes when i went on a trip to AZ. i was about to choose another shoe but walking around spotted these and had to get them. its been 6 months since that day and theyve held up through football, weight lifting, and running. extremely comfortable, flexible, and durable. i am actually very pleased to see a reduced price cause i am DEFINITELY buying another pair.
the only slight down to these shoes is the black foam mid area scrapes off easily. but that doesnt change my decision one bit.
i strongly suggest getting these shoes, u WILL NOT be disappointed!"
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nice shoe

, Dec 25, 2011
bossman1027
,katy,tx
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this shoe is the perfect width for my foot.[i have narrow feet] they are very comfortable and i had them scince they came out and i still wear them."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

not consistant w/ previous free"s

, Oct 17, 2011
Dennis610
,USA
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"this is my third pair of nike free tr's , and i also have five pairs of nike free run. been a huge fan of nike free for sometime now, and would not workout with anyother sneaker. unfortunitly this pair of free fits a little tighter than the other pairs, might be fine if you have a norrow foot. it also seems to rub on the ankles. ill stick with the nike free running from now on"
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

SNUG, NOT NARROW SNUG, NOT NARROW

, Sep 9, 2011
Boy scout
,USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am very impressed with these shoes. I own the lunar glides and wanted a pair for working out and casual wear. I LOVE THESE! These shoes are the EXACT same weight as my lightweight running shoes and have the right amount of support. I have a wide foot and at first these were too narrow, but I gave them a chance. GLAD I DID. These are made to be snug, but after a couple wear in runs they fit to your foot. THAT IS THE POINT. Don't give up on these if they feel tight right away, you will be glad that you gave them a chance."
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, Sep 9, 2011
bacon12
,USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Be a Starter
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is a great shoe! its light and easy to run in"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Outstanding shoes for the gym

, Aug 24, 2011
sweltman
,USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am very pleased with the fit and the support of these shoes. I have longer and narrow feet and even so, the shoe is outstanding for me in the gym. I train very high intensity and incorporate a lot of balance, lateral movement and jumping/squatting moves into my routines.
I like the weight of the shoe (just enough to know they're on) and the fit (snug) as well as the support (great laterally and enough give to not restrict my stretching).
I liked them so much that my wife bought another pair for me, and I am here to buy the TR2 iD version to replace a pair of not-as-good-fitting TR1.
I hope Nike maintains this line of shoes. I really enjoy the light, close to the ground feeling from them. I don't need big supportive, restrictive pillows on my feet. These are great!"
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

free tr2

, Aug 23, 2011
devildoc1701
,USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"these are very comfortable shoes they look great and feel great on your feet. they are very light in weight. to sum up in one word COOL !"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

mack7859

, Aug 19, 2011
mack7859
,USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I really like the look and feel of this shoe. It is very comfortable. The problem that I have is that after having run in them, my right achilles tendon becomes very sore. My previous shoe of choice was the 5.0. I never had this problem with them"
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Da Shoe

, Aug 18, 2011
MauiBaseball
,Portland, OR, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Once I recieved my shoes and try them on, I knew right there and then that I picked the BOMB.......
Light but yet with the surport I needed for my work outs. This is a home run in my books... Thanks NIKE for thinking of us. Oh yes.... my team mates love the colors... yes I have two pairs,,, yellow are my other color..... Which one to wear... Hmmmmmmm
"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free TR2 Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 41 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Bad Choice

, Aug 15, 2011
echantup
,USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm not a hardcore runner, though I do work running into my weekly routine along with gym and field sports, weights, etc. I chose the Free TR2 over a running shoe based on several reviews citing versatility, and because of the lightness and natural feel, which on their own are great.
However, after just a week in this shoe, I started experiencing consistent knee pains. From what I can tell, the fat outside of the sole--which presumably increases flexibility while correcting for pronation--is causing me to distribute the weight incorrectly in my stride. I thought it might just be short-term adjustment, but no such luck.
I obviously chose the shoe, but I do wish I had a bit more guidance when purchasing it (at a sporting goods store, with very little help). These "natural feel" style shoes are interesting, but quite different from traditional trainers and running shoes, as my legs have found out. I would have been better off sticking with what I was used to. Hopefully this helps others in the same mode of thought."
-1point
9of 19voted this as helpful.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byTommy
,california
not the shoe
onFeb 9, 2012
just some useful advice, its not the shoe which is causing your knee problems, it's flaws in your running technique. Traditional running and training shoes for years have over cushioned us in order to mask inefficient movement patterns, in order to make consistent training more accessible. What you get is more long term injuries (an injury that has slowly built up over time) that are much more serious, or issues such as yours with your knee that immediately present once we switch over to a shoe or platform that forces us to consistently maintain good technique or suffer.
+6points
6of 6voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
1 2 3 next>>