Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(118 reviews) 118
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 118 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
21
1 Star
33
36 out of 6655%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike Air Monarch IV A hardwearing multipurpose trainerThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning solid support and excellent traction along with an updated sleek design built for rigorous training on the field and in the gym BenefitsLeather overlays for durability and supportFulllength Phylon midsole for lightweight cushioningMultipattern durable rubber outsole for enhanced traction on a variety of surfacesComfortThe Nike Air Monarch IV Training Shoe is the ultimate in comfort with a soft fabric lining for reduced irritation A mesh tongue and perforations in the midfoot and forefoot enhance breathability and keep the air flowing when things heat up And the outsole wraps up the toe for protection and durabilityCushioningThe Nike Air Monarch IV features fulllength Nike Air for softer landings during hardcore training sessions and intense drills A Pylon midsole offers lightweight plush cushioningTractionThis men's training shoe is equipped with a tough rubber outsole and multiple traction patterns to adapt to your changing needs From a pivot circle at the forefoot to aggressive tread in the heel this shoe helps keep your foot grounded on multiple surfaces including grass dirt and hardwoodAdditional DetailsStability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during sidetoside movementsPulltab on the heel for easy on and offFlex grooves for forefoot flexibility
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nice shoe

, Aug 20, 2014
prodigal1012
,Houston, TX, USA
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a nice comfortable shoe. I bought them primarily for use on my job as I am on my feet nearly the whole time, lifting, carrying, pushing and pulling loads, etc. Go figure, a workout shoe excelling when working on a job!
My only issue with them is with the sizing. My size has always been an 8, with a somewhat narrow foot, but I had to get a size 9 extra wide! My advice is to join up and become a 'member'. The free returns policy allowed me to make the needed adjustment to get a proper fit. It also allowed me to interact with the very knowledgeable and helpful help desk personnel, who probably preserved me as a customer going forward. Good job guys!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best

, Aug 1, 2014
mariota8
,Eugene, OR, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
"best shoe i have had, i work in a hospital, wonderful"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fit

, Jul 23, 2014
dawn8162
,Youngstown Ohio USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It is very difficult for me to find shoes that don't cause me severe pain within minutes, but these shoes don't hurt me when I wear them. I absolutely love them."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

UNCOMFORTABLE

, Aug 2, 2014
hatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Purchased a couple weeks ago for work. Have worn the shoes to try to break them in. The shoe platform I have no problem with it is the insole.THERE IS NONE! They have no cushion at all I mean NONE. They state full length air. What does that mean? Mine rarely squeak but maybe I do not hear the squeak because the soles of my feat are screaming at me. I have bought CHEAP shoes that feel better than this and these are only about two weeks old. ANY help or advise would be appreciated."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comAug 3, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these aren't working out for you. We want you to be comfortable and it sounds like that's not the case. So, to get you back on the right track, here some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to discuss your options for a return/exchange.
2. To see if your product qualifies for return (if purchased from Nike.com), go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns. Note, if you’re a registered Nike.com member, you’ll be eligible for free returns.

Hope this helps.
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always a favorite!!

, Jul 9, 2014
mjn0388
,Seaside Park, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fit is perfect, comfortable and wears very durable. I wear these almost every day and they take a beating. Great support and comfort at the same time."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
onAug 2, 2014
Good fit, very uncomfortable! I must have a bad pair NO CUSHION....and I mean NO CUSHION!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wonderful Shoe

, Jun 28, 2014
mnash358
,Pearland, TX, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have alot to say, but i am short on time. I love the shoe. This is my fourth or fifth pair of Air Monarchs. I wear them for walking/running. My current pair is the black ones, but I did not like them from the start. I normally buy the white, red, and black ones. I just bought a new pair today. I run on the outside of my feet. I think it is over-pronate or supinate.... Whatever the term, but the outside of my feet especially my left foot really hurts. I did not have that issue with the white, red, and black ones; so I bought another pair today. I have also bought these shoes for family and friends who have started fitness routines to help support them in their fitness goals. Awesome shoe!!!! I do admit that the Air Zoom Structure 17s look interesting. I might try them on my next purchase. Hopefully, the price will drop for us poor people. lol... Until then, these shoes are excellent! Good luck...."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love this shoe

, Jun 26, 2014
COkid69
,Parker, CO, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe! These are one of the most comfortable and highly durable pair of shoes."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes and how to fix squeak

, May 25, 2014
wyonts
,raleigh nc
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had several pairs of the Monarchs. I'm 6'5" with a rather small foot. Size 12 and they fit great. They do have a tendency to squeak badly. I fixed the squeak by removing the insole and dumping powder in and then inserting the insole. After 24 hrs of wear the squeak is gone."
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, May 25, 2014
intimidator3fan
,Montgomery, AL, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"was skeptical about this shoe after reading the reviews. decided to give them a try. very glad i did. i read about the sound they make but have had no problems with that. would highly recommend this shoe"
-9points
4of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byquijibo1
,Albany, Or.
onJul 21, 2014
Comfortable when you first put them on, but after a few hours on my feet they start to hurt...sound like a frog also when walking, way too noisy....would not recommend for 65 dollars
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeakers

, Mar 30, 2014
MICHAEL
,California
"I purchased three pairs of Air Monarchs for work and play. They are comfortabe, but all three squeak. I've sent in two pair for warranty already. I tried one more pair for work, because comfortable black shoes are hard to come by. My next voucher I'm just going to get some skayeboard shoes and be done with the Monarchs."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

"Talking Shoes"

, May 7, 2014
911RN
,Middleton, ID
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased these shoes for my husband a year ago since these have been his favorites for years; he can barely stand to wear them as they started to squeak days after he started wearing them. We were about to purchase another pair but I now see from other reviews that this problem is not exclusive to his shoes alone. I would think that Nike could do a better job than this."
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeaky sneakers

, Apr 28, 2014
vmccabe
,Harrisburg, PA, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased 3 air monarch type shoes. One pair last Christma(2012), one pair over the summer and the last pair around this Christmas(2013) each time with in a few days of purchace the shoes squeaked, and continured squeaking the entire time they were worn."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comApr 30, 2014
Nobody likes noisey shoes so we get where you're coming from. We do have some options you can pursue so that you're not stuck with these, though:

1. Give the original retailer a shout and talk about your return/exchange options there.
2. If you don't have any luck or if you purchased them online, check out Nikeclaims.com. That site has all the info you'll need to setup a claim for your kicks.

Lastly, if you'd rather talk over the phone, give our team a call at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) and we'll go from there. Deal?
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Pain free walking!

, Apr 27, 2014
SoreToe
,Nebraska
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I have a Morton's neuroma and the Monarch is the ONLY shoe I have found that lets me walk pain free. I originally bought them for walking because they're so comfortable. I just bought two more pair just in case they are discontinued. I wear them everyday."
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This shoe stays comfortable for a long time.

, Mar 8, 2014
Wmh
,Penn Run, PA 15765, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying these shoes a long time. They also last a long time making them a great value. I like these shoes because they come in a solid black color and are available in 4E width. I have bad feet and my foot doctor said these shoes are "good and solid", and they would be a good shoe to keep wearing. I have a Sunday pair I keep clean to wear to Church, and a everyday pair."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

air monarch

, Apr 5, 2014
Anonymous
,Southern California
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is actually the only sneaker i can wear because of the 4e wide width to soothe ankle arthiritis and swelling and low back and leg pain."
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Can't sneak up on ANYBODY!!!

, Apr 2, 2014
WSBillP
,Western NY
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"C'mon Nike...90% of the feedback on this shoe is squeak related...what is your official position on this ?...Talc powder ?....really ?......just FIX it!!!"
+4points
12of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak, squeak

, Feb 8, 2014
squeakygoiomonachs
,California
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought three pairs of these. The first were black for work. They are well cushioned and comfortable. After about four months, EVERY flipping pair squeak. I almost bought another set with my credit voucher, but they obviously haven't fixed the problem. Watch out, Nike warrantues their shoes for 2 years, one pair I bought was "Old Stock", so I'm stuck with one pair of squeakers. I was walking down the street the other day, and some random chick just stares at this fool wearing SQUEAKING SHOES !!!! Stay away from these !!!"
-2points
6of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Comfortable, tripping hazard

, Mar 9, 2014
GERUSSE
,PA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These Monarch Air are not comfortable. They hurt at the top of the heel portion. Most importantly is the sole extends too far at the heel and I trip going down stairs."
Response from NikeBy NikeConsumer ServiceMar 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on here and we'll definitely pass your feedback along. As for your shoes, have you tried contacting the original retailer to discuss your options? If not, we recommend giving that a shot. Also, if you'd prefer to talk to us over the phone, we can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily).
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bymphemh
,High Desert California
onMay 8, 2014
why should we contact the retailer your the one that made the shoe. just make the shoe right.
+4points
5of 6voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 118 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Limited Comfort, Limited Choice

, Jan 17, 2014
Anonymous
,Marshall, MI 49068, USA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Have bought seven pairs over the years. Have 7 1/2 EEEE shoe size. Nike has very limited choices at that size. Need the all black shoes for work. Two jobs both require all black shoes. Shoes don't breath well. Feet often warm after work, even at job where temp is kept very cool. Use white pairs for casual use. Have had some issues with sole coming loose, but usually last. Never had the size blowout that I get with too narrow a shoe."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 118 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

It's a Squeaker

, Feb 9, 2014
MarkRip
,Stafford, VA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I am so disappointed in this shoe. It squeaks so bad, nothing seems to help them. This is a shame, cause Nike was the only brand I wear, that fits well, and this Monarch was one the few that is all black, which is great as casual wear, but this squeaking I just can't stand it any longer. I've only had this shoe for two months and there is so much wear left in the shoe, but I can't stand the squeaking. I have doubts now that I'll ever buy another pair of Nike's. DO NOT BUY THIS SHOE, YOU'LL REGRET IT."
+8points
19of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>