Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.024 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(127 reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 127 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
21
1 Star
36
41 out of 7555%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike Air Monarch IV A hardwearing multipurpose trainerThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning solid support and excellent traction along with an updated sleek design built for rigorous training on the field and in the gym BenefitsLeather overlays for durability and supportFulllength Phylon midsole for lightweight cushioningMultipattern durable rubber outsole for enhanced traction on a variety of surfacesComfortThe Nike Air Monarch IV Training Shoe is the ultimate in comfort with a soft fabric lining for reduced irritation A mesh tongue and perforations in the midfoot and forefoot enhance breathability and keep the air flowing when things heat up And the outsole wraps up the toe for protection and durabilityCushioningThe Nike Air Monarch IV features fulllength Nike Air for softer landings during hardcore training sessions and intense drills A Pylon midsole offers lightweight plush cushioningTractionThis men's training shoe is equipped with a tough rubber outsole and multiple traction patterns to adapt to your changing needs From a pivot circle at the forefoot to aggressive tread in the heel this shoe helps keep your foot grounded on multiple surfaces including grass dirt and hardwoodAdditional DetailsStability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during sidetoside movementsPulltab on the heel for easy on and offFlex grooves for forefoot flexibility
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Work shoe

, Dec 11, 2014
matteoS290104903
,Jersey Shore
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I use these shoes for my job which requires me to be on my feet for 8 - 10 hours a day. They are great and help to alleviate my leg pain which I suffer from due to veins taken out of my legs for heart by-pass surgery. They have made a difference."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Extra wide shoes

, Nov 15, 2014
BillC812281242
,Menomonee Falls, WI, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Nice shoes, but even too wide for my feet. The product is nicely constructed."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeakers not Sneakers

, Dec 14, 2014
JeffWearingSneakers
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are incredibly comfortable for running. As many of you know, they have a big squeaking problem. The solution is to turn up the volume on your headphones. Problem solved."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comDec 16, 2014
Blasting good music can really get you going on your run; however, if that squeak gets to be a little too much for you to handle, don't hesitate to reach out to our Nike.com team to discuss your options. We can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-11p PT, daily).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Squeakers!!!

, Nov 16, 2014
stnygaard
,Jamestown ND
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable shoe, good for my back pain but, they are soooo noisy. Sorry Nike."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Durable

, Sep 28, 2014
Anonymous
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My brother is in a wheel chair and these shoes are comfortable, durable, and good looking. He is able to learn to walk with them because the soles grip very well."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Nike's best

, Nov 7, 2014
rycrow99
,Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This shoe really disappointed me, I have always been a Nike fan and purchased these due to the amount of side and top padding that was built in, and at the time they were comfortable to walk in. Over the past year that I have owned these shoes they never broke in, hurt my feet and constantly squeak on hard and soft floor. I am not sure who could use these for training or running.
I would not recommend these shoes, again, not Nikes best work. Sorry Nike."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comNov 10, 2014
We always love to hear from long time Nike fans and appreciate the feedback about these Air Monarch IV.

If you would like any help or are curious about some other possible shoe options we offer, feel free to talk to us live over the phone at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-10 PT, daily). Our top of the line experts would be happy to lend a hand.
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is great.

, Nov 1, 2014
Larry_Wick
,Great Lakes Area
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been wearing air monarch's for a long time. I can always depend on Nike to send me a pair that fits and is a good product."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

this product sucks

, Oct 7, 2014
bobverizon
,nj
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
"the shoe squeaks and will not stop except to put trainers white tape on the bottom.
Slippery to say the least
And unsafe
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byrcMac
,San Jose, CA
onOct 27, 2014
You have to put baby powder under the cushion insert. Stinks to have to do that I know but it works great. These shoes have been a life-saver for my feet - great support and helped cure my plantar fasciitis. And they're lasting twice as long as my New Balances did.
+1point
3of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 9 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nice shoe

, Aug 20, 2014
prodigal1012
,Houston, TX, USA
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a nice comfortable shoe. I bought them primarily for use on my job as I am on my feet nearly the whole time, lifting, carrying, pushing and pulling loads, etc. Go figure, a workout shoe excelling when working on a job!
My only issue with them is with the sizing. My size has always been an 8, with a somewhat narrow foot, but I had to get a size 9 extra wide! My advice is to join up and become a 'member'. The free returns policy allowed me to make the needed adjustment to get a proper fit. It also allowed me to interact with the very knowledgeable and helpful help desk personnel, who probably preserved me as a customer going forward. Good job guys!
"
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Confortable

, Sep 22, 2014
oldtreker
,Long Island, New York, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Retired six months ago and bought these since I do lots of walking. Tried several Nike's from their outlets but they didn't have any full sole air shoes there. The full sole airs are much more comfy, and flexible. Haven't had any squeaking issues. My only complaint is on the exterior of both shoes on the right side of the left shoe and the left side of the right shoe they are turning a light blue color. Its not on the leather part but rather on the sides of the soles. Just curious if anyone has had this happen?
PS I don't wear jeans.
"
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best

, Aug 1, 2014
mariota8
,Eugene, OR, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
"best shoe i have had, i work in a hospital, wonderful"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fit

, Jul 23, 2014
dawn8162
,Youngstown Ohio USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It is very difficult for me to find shoes that don't cause me severe pain within minutes, but these shoes don't hurt me when I wear them. I absolutely love them."
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

UNCOMFORTABLE

, Aug 2, 2014
hatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Purchased a couple weeks ago for work. Have worn the shoes to try to break them in. The shoe platform I have no problem with it is the insole.THERE IS NONE! They have no cushion at all I mean NONE. They state full length air. What does that mean? Mine rarely squeak but maybe I do not hear the squeak because the soles of my feat are screaming at me. I have bought CHEAP shoes that feel better than this and these are only about two weeks old. ANY help or advise would be appreciated."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comAug 3, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these aren't working out for you. We want you to be comfortable and it sounds like that's not the case. So, to get you back on the right track, here some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to discuss your options for a return/exchange.
2. To see if your product qualifies for return (if purchased from Nike.com), go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns. Note, if you’re a registered Nike.com member, you’ll be eligible for free returns.

Hope this helps.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always a favorite!!

, Jul 9, 2014
mjn0388
,Seaside Park, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fit is perfect, comfortable and wears very durable. I wear these almost every day and they take a beating. Great support and comfort at the same time."
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
onAug 2, 2014
Good fit, very uncomfortable! I must have a bad pair NO CUSHION....and I mean NO CUSHION!
+1point
3of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 15 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wonderful Shoe

, Jun 28, 2014
mnash358
,Pearland, TX, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have alot to say, but i am short on time. I love the shoe. This is my fourth or fifth pair of Air Monarchs. I wear them for walking/running. My current pair is the black ones, but I did not like them from the start. I normally buy the white, red, and black ones. I just bought a new pair today. I run on the outside of my feet. I think it is over-pronate or supinate.... Whatever the term, but the outside of my feet especially my left foot really hurts. I did not have that issue with the white, red, and black ones; so I bought another pair today. I have also bought these shoes for family and friends who have started fitness routines to help support them in their fitness goals. Awesome shoe!!!! I do admit that the Air Zoom Structure 17s look interesting. I might try them on my next purchase. Hopefully, the price will drop for us poor people. lol... Until then, these shoes are excellent! Good luck...."
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love this shoe

, Jun 26, 2014
COkid69
,Parker, CO, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe! These are one of the most comfortable and highly durable pair of shoes."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes and how to fix squeak

, May 25, 2014
wyonts
,raleigh nc
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had several pairs of the Monarchs. I'm 6'5" with a rather small foot. Size 12 and they fit great. They do have a tendency to squeak badly. I fixed the squeak by removing the insole and dumping powder in and then inserting the insole. After 24 hrs of wear the squeak is gone."
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, May 25, 2014
intimidator3fan
,Montgomery, AL, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"was skeptical about this shoe after reading the reviews. decided to give them a try. very glad i did. i read about the sound they make but have had no problems with that. would highly recommend this shoe"
-10points
4of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byquijibo1
,Albany, Or.
onJul 21, 2014
Comfortable when you first put them on, but after a few hours on my feet they start to hurt...sound like a frog also when walking, way too noisy....would not recommend for 65 dollars
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 127 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeakers

, Mar 30, 2014
MICHAEL
,California
"I purchased three pairs of Air Monarchs for work and play. They are comfortabe, but all three squeak. I've sent in two pair for warranty already. I tried one more pair for work, because comfortable black shoes are hard to come by. My next voucher I'm just going to get some skayeboard shoes and be done with the Monarchs."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 127 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

"Talking Shoes"

, May 7, 2014
911RN
,Middleton, ID
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased these shoes for my husband a year ago since these have been his favorites for years; he can barely stand to wear them as they started to squeak days after he started wearing them. We were about to purchase another pair but I now see from other reviews that this problem is not exclusive to his shoes alone. I would think that Nike could do a better job than this."
+11points
14of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>