Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.129 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 140 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
21
1 Star
38
52 out of 8859%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike Air Monarch IV A hardwearing multipurpose trainerThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning solid support and excellent traction along with an updated sleek design built for rigorous training on the field and in the gym BenefitsLeather overlays for durability and supportFulllength Phylon midsole for lightweight cushioningMultipattern durable rubber outsole for enhanced traction on a variety of surfacesComfortThe Nike Air Monarch IV Training Shoe is the ultimate in comfort with a soft fabric lining for reduced irritation A mesh tongue and perforations in the midfoot and forefoot enhance breathability and keep the air flowing when things heat up And the outsole wraps up the toe for protection and durabilityCushioningThe Nike Air Monarch IV features fulllength Nike Air for softer landings during hardcore training sessions and intense drills A Pylon midsole offers lightweight plush cushioningTractionThis men's training shoe is equipped with a tough rubber outsole and multiple traction patterns to adapt to your changing needs From a pivot circle at the forefoot to aggressive tread in the heel this shoe helps keep your foot grounded on multiple surfaces including grass dirt and hardwoodAdditional DetailsStability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during sidetoside movementsPulltab on the heel for easy on and offFlex grooves for forefoot flexibility
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely the best fit around.

, May 5, 2015
greenmochiball
,Rio Vista, CA, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"After going through extra wide shoes of all brands all these years, including some ultra expensive 6E versions, my husband said his original pair of Nike Air 4E extra wide gave him the best fit. It's worn to shreds already. We did not know that Nike still make those shoes!
Out of desperation, I checked the Nike site. THANK YOU Nike! No more hunting and wasting efforts and money. Though there will not be any more ill fitting shoe donations to Good Will.
"
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

THIS PRODUCT KEEPS MY ANKLES FROM PRONATING

, May 4, 2015
Anonymous
,WEST HARTFOR, CT
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I HAVE INOPERABLE TORN SPRING LIGAMENTS IN BOTH ANKLES...THESE SHOES ARE A SAVING GRACE. WHEN THEY ARE NEW, THERE IS NO 'BREAKING IN' PERIOD, THEY ARE COMFORTABLE FROM DAY ONE....PLEASE DON'T STOP MANUFACTURING THIS SHOE!"
-8points
0of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very Comfortable

, Apr 28, 2015
markg621
,Baltimore, MD, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I have had numerous pairs of the Air Monarchs. They fit my feet great. It helps that they have these in wide sizes. I have had salesmen try and sell me other brands but none of them fit like these or feel as comfortable on my feet.
The only drawback on these is that they will start to squeak when you walk in them. It can happen at any time. I have had a pair start squeaking after about 3 weeks and others don't squeak for months but they all seem to squeak. It can be embarrassing because they do get loud. I wish Nike would look into this because it has made me want to try other brand shoes, but I can't find any that fit like these.
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Have bought these before, please keep them

, Apr 26, 2015
Anonymous
,Waterbury, VT, USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I like the sneakers from Nike, please keep them in stock"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Shoes

, Apr 24, 2015
DOUGLAS
,West Palm Beach, FL
,
I Train primarily for:Football
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Be a Starter
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fits like a glove right out of the box. The only shoes I buy and so convieniant to buy online. I ordered two pairs within a week. Used one for work, one for training"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Comfortable and extremely durable

, May 6, 2015
Davee1966
,Massachusetts
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had lots of sneakers over the years, none have lasted this long."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The most unreliable shoe ever!

, May 3, 2015
aberamati
,Lawrence, NY, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have used the older versions of this shoe in the past and really liked them. They offer real comfort for long distance walking, have look that blends almost anywhere, and they're made of leather, something that helps in rainy situations.
I was Very disappointed with this pair. A week after I took them out of the box I notice that the leather started to scratch off. The same happened to the soles. A month later the entire upper of the shoe started to peel off. Another month of use and the soles broke entirely apart from the shoes.
"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe!!!!!!!!

, Mar 15, 2015
Buckhunter88
,Urbana, OH 43078, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Shoe fit well, Very comfortable I wore these shoes all day at a trade show on concrete and no sore feet. Very good arch support."
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoe I've ever owned

, Apr 23, 2015
ConstanceHH
,Brooklyn, NY, USA
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've been wearing this shoe since my orthopedist said get a cross trainer thats durable. I've been wearing this since the style came out. I hope Nile never changes it.
Wears like iron under all kinds of abuse, and cleans up easily and quickly.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Monarch

, Apr 22, 2015
K.J.B.
,Little Rock, AR
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased this shoe for work purposes and I'm totally satisfied. I do a lot of walking and this is the most comfortable shoe that I've had on my feet in a long time."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

finally a magic FIX for these Monarchs :)

, Feb 5, 2015
FriendlyManitoba
"these shoes are awesome.
I have worn the different generations of Nike Monarchs for years.. but they always squeaked, made farting sounds.. etc..
they were basically embarrassing to wear in public.........
...which really sucks as they are the most comfortable, long lasting shoes ever! (I have tried other shoes/brands and always go back)
after years of throwing out good shoes I started returning them to NIKE under the warranty process. (FYI: they warranty any shoe for 2 YEARS from the date on the label in the shoe... AWESOME!!)
this was OK but it still took time.
months sometimes.. especially when they had inventory issues...
then I figured out the magic FIX!!!!!
i always thought the trouble was with the NIKE AIR pocket.. this is NOT the problem at all
what it is is actually an AIR POCKET that gets created BETWEEN the INSOLE and the shoe itself! ..
i don't know why this affects only this specific model of NIKE shoe.. every single generation of it.. and it has never been fixed... but I have my own fix now.
very simply this is the problem....
the insole is glued down to the shoe.. the glue wears out (likely with walking, sweating, etc) and air manages to sneak in wherever there is no glue contact anymore.. then with walking the air is pushed in/out all around.. making the sounds like whoopee cushion
NOW THE FIX!
pull out the existing insole..
this is easier than it sounds.. remember it is glued.. so wherever the glue is holding you will need to PULLLLL!!
once you remove the insole it will all make sense and you will see exactly which parts were no longer glued together just by looking at the bottom of the insole.
so.. two options.. glue the parts that are missing glue.. (I HAVE NEVER TRIED THIS)
or stop the parts with glue from sticking (VERY EASY)
simplest way.. BABY POWDER..
dump some baby powder in the shoe and replace the insole.. if it still makes noise, take it out and add some more powder cause the glue is still holding somewhere
THATS IT!!
dozens of my shoes wasted that could have been fixed and worn for much much longer with PRIDE :)
GOOD LUCK!!!
(one more thing..
I have thought of using BAKING SODA instead of baby powder but have not had a chance to try it.
it may work like magic to remove any foot odor same as it works in fridges.. just a thought)"
+12points
22of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Work shoe

, Dec 11, 2014
matteoS290104903
,Jersey Shore
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I use these shoes for my job which requires me to be on my feet for 8 - 10 hours a day. They are great and help to alleviate my leg pain which I suffer from due to veins taken out of my legs for heart by-pass surgery. They have made a difference."
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Long time Monacch wearer

, Jan 16, 2015
chipslip
,Milford, MA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"My wife started wearing the Monarch about 10 years ago. Previously she had continual problems with her feet. Her doctor suggested that she try a mens shoe in a wide size. She chose the Monarch wide and her foot problems were cured. I tried the Monarch also and liked it. We have been wearing them ever since."
-7points
9of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What the heck?

, Jan 13, 2015
avrz10
,Indianapolis
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have worn these for years, the new shoes start squeaking after a short time. Nike shame on you for continuing to put out something like this. Why ruin your reputation, fix the stupid squeaking issue. Look on the internet, youtube posts, forums."
+8points
14of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Extra wide shoes

, Nov 15, 2014
BillC812281242
,Menomonee Falls, WI, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Nice shoes, but even too wide for my feet. The product is nicely constructed."
-8points
1of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeakers not Sneakers

, Dec 14, 2014
JeffWearingSneakers
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are incredibly comfortable for running. As many of you know, they have a big squeaking problem. The solution is to turn up the volume on your headphones. Problem solved."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comDec 16, 2014
Blasting good music can really get you going on your run; however, if that squeak gets to be a little too much for you to handle, don't hesitate to reach out to our Nike.com team to discuss your options. We can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-11p PT, daily).
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Squeakers!!!

, Nov 16, 2014
stnygaard
,Jamestown ND
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable shoe, good for my back pain but, they are soooo noisy. Sorry Nike."
+4points
13of 22voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Durable

, Sep 28, 2014
Anonymous
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My brother is in a wheel chair and these shoes are comfortable, durable, and good looking. He is able to learn to walk with them because the soles grip very well."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Nike's best

, Nov 7, 2014
rycrow99
,Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This shoe really disappointed me, I have always been a Nike fan and purchased these due to the amount of side and top padding that was built in, and at the time they were comfortable to walk in. Over the past year that I have owned these shoes they never broke in, hurt my feet and constantly squeak on hard and soft floor. I am not sure who could use these for training or running.
I would not recommend these shoes, again, not Nikes best work. Sorry Nike."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comNov 10, 2014
We always love to hear from long time Nike fans and appreciate the feedback about these Air Monarch IV.

If you would like any help or are curious about some other possible shoe options we offer, feel free to talk to us live over the phone at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-10 PT, daily). Our top of the line experts would be happy to lend a hand.
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is great.

, Nov 1, 2014
Larry_Wick
,Great Lakes Area
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been wearing air monarch's for a long time. I can always depend on Nike to send me a pair that fits and is a good product."
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>