Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.031 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(130 reviews) 130
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 130 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
21
1 Star
37
43 out of 7855%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike Air Monarch IV A hardwearing multipurpose trainerThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning solid support and excellent traction along with an updated sleek design built for rigorous training on the field and in the gym BenefitsLeather overlays for durability and supportFulllength Phylon midsole for lightweight cushioningMultipattern durable rubber outsole for enhanced traction on a variety of surfacesComfortThe Nike Air Monarch IV Training Shoe is the ultimate in comfort with a soft fabric lining for reduced irritation A mesh tongue and perforations in the midfoot and forefoot enhance breathability and keep the air flowing when things heat up And the outsole wraps up the toe for protection and durabilityCushioningThe Nike Air Monarch IV features fulllength Nike Air for softer landings during hardcore training sessions and intense drills A Pylon midsole offers lightweight plush cushioningTractionThis men's training shoe is equipped with a tough rubber outsole and multiple traction patterns to adapt to your changing needs From a pivot circle at the forefoot to aggressive tread in the heel this shoe helps keep your foot grounded on multiple surfaces including grass dirt and hardwoodAdditional DetailsStability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during sidetoside movementsPulltab on the heel for easy on and offFlex grooves for forefoot flexibility
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

finally a magic FIX for these Monarchs :)

, Feb 5, 2015
FriendlyManitoba
"these shoes are awesome.
I have worn the different generations of Nike Monarchs for years.. but they always squeaked, made farting sounds.. etc..
they were basically embarrassing to wear in public.........
...which really sucks as they are the most comfortable, long lasting shoes ever! (I have tried other shoes/brands and always go back)
after years of throwing out good shoes I started returning them to NIKE under the warranty process. (FYI: they warranty any shoe for 2 YEARS from the date on the label in the shoe... AWESOME!!)
this was OK but it still took time.
months sometimes.. especially when they had inventory issues...
then I figured out the magic FIX!!!!!
i always thought the trouble was with the NIKE AIR pocket.. this is NOT the problem at all
what it is is actually an AIR POCKET that gets created BETWEEN the INSOLE and the shoe itself! ..
i don't know why this affects only this specific model of NIKE shoe.. every single generation of it.. and it has never been fixed... but I have my own fix now.
very simply this is the problem....
the insole is glued down to the shoe.. the glue wears out (likely with walking, sweating, etc) and air manages to sneak in wherever there is no glue contact anymore.. then with walking the air is pushed in/out all around.. making the sounds like whoopee cushion
NOW THE FIX!
pull out the existing insole..
this is easier than it sounds.. remember it is glued.. so wherever the glue is holding you will need to PULLLLL!!
once you remove the insole it will all make sense and you will see exactly which parts were no longer glued together just by looking at the bottom of the insole.
so.. two options.. glue the parts that are missing glue.. (I HAVE NEVER TRIED THIS)
or stop the parts with glue from sticking (VERY EASY)
simplest way.. BABY POWDER..
dump some baby powder in the shoe and replace the insole.. if it still makes noise, take it out and add some more powder cause the glue is still holding somewhere
THATS IT!!
dozens of my shoes wasted that could have been fixed and worn for much much longer with PRIDE :)
GOOD LUCK!!!
(one more thing..
I have thought of using BAKING SODA instead of baby powder but have not had a chance to try it.
it may work like magic to remove any foot odor same as it works in fridges.. just a thought)"
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Work shoe

, Dec 11, 2014
matteoS290104903
,Jersey Shore
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I use these shoes for my job which requires me to be on my feet for 8 - 10 hours a day. They are great and help to alleviate my leg pain which I suffer from due to veins taken out of my legs for heart by-pass surgery. They have made a difference."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Long time Monacch wearer

, Jan 16, 2015
chipslip
,Milford, MA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"My wife started wearing the Monarch about 10 years ago. Previously she had continual problems with her feet. Her doctor suggested that she try a mens shoe in a wide size. She chose the Monarch wide and her foot problems were cured. I tried the Monarch also and liked it. We have been wearing them ever since."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What the heck?

, Jan 13, 2015
avrz10
,Indianapolis
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have worn these for years, the new shoes start squeaking after a short time. Nike shame on you for continuing to put out something like this. Why ruin your reputation, fix the stupid squeaking issue. Look on the internet, youtube posts, forums."
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Extra wide shoes

, Nov 15, 2014
BillC812281242
,Menomonee Falls, WI, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Nice shoes, but even too wide for my feet. The product is nicely constructed."
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeakers not Sneakers

, Dec 14, 2014
JeffWearingSneakers
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are incredibly comfortable for running. As many of you know, they have a big squeaking problem. The solution is to turn up the volume on your headphones. Problem solved."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comDec 16, 2014
Blasting good music can really get you going on your run; however, if that squeak gets to be a little too much for you to handle, don't hesitate to reach out to our Nike.com team to discuss your options. We can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-11p PT, daily).
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Squeakers!!!

, Nov 16, 2014
stnygaard
,Jamestown ND
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable shoe, good for my back pain but, they are soooo noisy. Sorry Nike."
+5points
11of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Durable

, Sep 28, 2014
Anonymous
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My brother is in a wheel chair and these shoes are comfortable, durable, and good looking. He is able to learn to walk with them because the soles grip very well."
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Nike's best

, Nov 7, 2014
rycrow99
,Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This shoe really disappointed me, I have always been a Nike fan and purchased these due to the amount of side and top padding that was built in, and at the time they were comfortable to walk in. Over the past year that I have owned these shoes they never broke in, hurt my feet and constantly squeak on hard and soft floor. I am not sure who could use these for training or running.
I would not recommend these shoes, again, not Nikes best work. Sorry Nike."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comNov 10, 2014
We always love to hear from long time Nike fans and appreciate the feedback about these Air Monarch IV.

If you would like any help or are curious about some other possible shoe options we offer, feel free to talk to us live over the phone at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-10 PT, daily). Our top of the line experts would be happy to lend a hand.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This product is great.

, Nov 1, 2014
Larry_Wick
,Great Lakes Area
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been wearing air monarch's for a long time. I can always depend on Nike to send me a pair that fits and is a good product."
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

this product sucks

, Oct 7, 2014
bobverizon
,nj
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
"the shoe squeaks and will not stop except to put trainers white tape on the bottom.
Slippery to say the least
And unsafe
"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byrcMac
,San Jose, CA
onOct 27, 2014
You have to put baby powder under the cushion insert. Stinks to have to do that I know but it works great. These shoes have been a life-saver for my feet - great support and helped cure my plantar fasciitis. And they're lasting twice as long as my New Balances did.
+4points
6of 8voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nice shoe

, Aug 20, 2014
prodigal1012
,Houston, TX, USA
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a nice comfortable shoe. I bought them primarily for use on my job as I am on my feet nearly the whole time, lifting, carrying, pushing and pulling loads, etc. Go figure, a workout shoe excelling when working on a job!
My only issue with them is with the sizing. My size has always been an 8, with a somewhat narrow foot, but I had to get a size 9 extra wide! My advice is to join up and become a 'member'. The free returns policy allowed me to make the needed adjustment to get a proper fit. It also allowed me to interact with the very knowledgeable and helpful help desk personnel, who probably preserved me as a customer going forward. Good job guys!
"
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Confortable

, Sep 22, 2014
oldtreker
,Long Island, New York, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Retired six months ago and bought these since I do lots of walking. Tried several Nike's from their outlets but they didn't have any full sole air shoes there. The full sole airs are much more comfy, and flexible. Haven't had any squeaking issues. My only complaint is on the exterior of both shoes on the right side of the left shoe and the left side of the right shoe they are turning a light blue color. Its not on the leather part but rather on the sides of the soles. Just curious if anyone has had this happen?
PS I don't wear jeans.
"
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best

, Aug 1, 2014
mariota8
,Eugene, OR, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
"best shoe i have had, i work in a hospital, wonderful"
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fit

, Jul 23, 2014
dawn8162
,Youngstown Ohio USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It is very difficult for me to find shoes that don't cause me severe pain within minutes, but these shoes don't hurt me when I wear them. I absolutely love them."
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

UNCOMFORTABLE

, Aug 2, 2014
hatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Purchased a couple weeks ago for work. Have worn the shoes to try to break them in. The shoe platform I have no problem with it is the insole.THERE IS NONE! They have no cushion at all I mean NONE. They state full length air. What does that mean? Mine rarely squeak but maybe I do not hear the squeak because the soles of my feat are screaming at me. I have bought CHEAP shoes that feel better than this and these are only about two weeks old. ANY help or advise would be appreciated."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comAug 3, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these aren't working out for you. We want you to be comfortable and it sounds like that's not the case. So, to get you back on the right track, here some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to discuss your options for a return/exchange.
2. To see if your product qualifies for return (if purchased from Nike.com), go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns. Note, if you’re a registered Nike.com member, you’ll be eligible for free returns.

Hope this helps.
-1point
8of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always a favorite!!

, Jul 9, 2014
mjn0388
,Seaside Park, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fit is perfect, comfortable and wears very durable. I wear these almost every day and they take a beating. Great support and comfort at the same time."
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
onAug 2, 2014
Good fit, very uncomfortable! I must have a bad pair NO CUSHION....and I mean NO CUSHION!
+1point
3of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 18 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wonderful Shoe

, Jun 28, 2014
mnash358
,Pearland, TX, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have alot to say, but i am short on time. I love the shoe. This is my fourth or fifth pair of Air Monarchs. I wear them for walking/running. My current pair is the black ones, but I did not like them from the start. I normally buy the white, red, and black ones. I just bought a new pair today. I run on the outside of my feet. I think it is over-pronate or supinate.... Whatever the term, but the outside of my feet especially my left foot really hurts. I did not have that issue with the white, red, and black ones; so I bought another pair today. I have also bought these shoes for family and friends who have started fitness routines to help support them in their fitness goals. Awesome shoe!!!! I do admit that the Air Zoom Structure 17s look interesting. I might try them on my next purchase. Hopefully, the price will drop for us poor people. lol... Until then, these shoes are excellent! Good luck...."
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love this shoe

, Jun 26, 2014
COkid69
,Parker, CO, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe! These are one of the most comfortable and highly durable pair of shoes."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 130 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes and how to fix squeak

, May 25, 2014
wyonts
,raleigh nc
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had several pairs of the Monarchs. I'm 6'5" with a rather small foot. Size 12 and they fit great. They do have a tendency to squeak badly. I fixed the squeak by removing the insole and dumping powder in and then inserting the insole. After 24 hrs of wear the squeak is gone."
+9points
12of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>