Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
2.879 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
8
1 Star
9
6 out of 1443%of reviewers recommend this product
The Nike Air Monarch IV: A hard-wearing, multipurpose trainerThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning, solid support and excellent traction, along with an updated, sleek design built for rigorous training on the field and in the gym. BenefitsLeather overlays for durability and supportFull-length Phylon midsole for lightweight cushioningMulti-pattern, durable rubber outsole for enhanced traction on a variety of surfacesComfortThe Nike Air Monarch IV Training Shoe is the ultimate in comfort with a soft fabric lining for reduced irritation. A mesh tongue and perforations in the midfoot and forefoot enhance breathability and keep the air flowing when things heat up. And, the outsole wraps up the toe for protection and durability.CushioningThe Nike Air Monarch IV features full-length Nike Air for softer landings during hardcore training sessions and intense drills. A Pylon midsole offers lightweight, plush cushioning.TractionThis men's training shoe is equipped with a tough rubber outsole and multiple traction patterns to adapt to your changing needs. From a pivot circle at the forefoot to aggressive tread in the heel, this shoe helps keep your foot grounded on multiple surfaces including grass, dirt and hardwood.Additional DetailsStability feature at the outsole helps keep the foot from rolling during side-to-side movementsPull-tab on the heel for easy on and offFlex grooves for forefoot flexibility
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeakers

, Mar 30, 2014
MICHAEL
,California
"I purchased three pairs of Air Monarchs for work and play. They are comfortabe, but all three squeak. I've sent in two pair for warranty already. I tried one more pair for work, because comfortable black shoes are hard to come by. My next voucher I'm just going to get some skayeboard shoes and be done with the Monarchs."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This shoe stays comfortable for a long time.

, Mar 8, 2014
Wmh
,Penn Run, PA 15765, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying these shoes a long time. They also last a long time making them a great value. I like these shoes because they come in a solid black color and are available in 4E width. I have bad feet and my foot doctor said these shoes are "good and solid", and they would be a good shoe to keep wearing. I have a Sunday pair I keep clean to wear to Church, and a everyday pair."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak, squeak

, Feb 8, 2014
squeakygoiomonachs
,California
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought three pairs of these. The first were black for work. They are well cushioned and comfortable. After about four months, EVERY flipping pair squeak. I almost bought another set with my credit voucher, but they obviously haven't fixed the problem. Watch out, Nike warrantues their shoes for 2 years, one pair I bought was "Old Stock", so I'm stuck with one pair of squeakers. I was walking down the street the other day, and some random chick just stares at this fool wearing SQUEAKING SHOES !!!! Stay away from these !!!"
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Limited Comfort, Limited Choice

, Jan 17, 2014
Anonymous
,Marshall, MI 49068, USA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Have bought seven pairs over the years. Have 7 1/2 EEEE shoe size. Nike has very limited choices at that size. Need the all black shoes for work. Two jobs both require all black shoes. Shoes don't breath well. Feet often warm after work, even at job where temp is kept very cool. Use white pairs for casual use. Have had some issues with sole coming loose, but usually last. Never had the size blowout that I get with too narrow a shoe."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Comfortable, SQUEEK very bad

, Oct 30, 2013
Dale K
,Clio, MI 48420, USA
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought these shoes for 10 years at least 7 pair, but after abought two weeks to a month they squeek so bad and has nothing to do with smooth floors or power in the inner sole"
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

mikeys nikes

, Oct 18, 2013
mdavlin79
,hope ar
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"These shoes are stylist, comfortable, supportive, and they have them in wides. I absolutely love these Nike monarchs."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Most comfortable

, Oct 11, 2013
Anonymous
,Alliance, OH 44601, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Football
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been having problems with gout. This is the only shoes that I can wear for long periods of time. Felt so good, I ordered a second pair."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeek problem

, Oct 9, 2013
Anonymous
,Eastport, New York
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes fit well and look good. Unfortunately they are not well made. I have returned multiple pairs because, within 7 to 60 days. they begin to creek and squeek like an un-oiled door hinge. Amazing that no fix can or has been found. More amazing they continue to sell them on Nike.com; just bought a different shoe with my latest credt."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-4points
1of 6voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-4points
1of 6voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 9 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

This product does not last ..

, Oct 4, 2013
dhowes01
,Buffalo, NY, USA
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought many pairs of Air sneakers and the quality is not there...Sneaker was shot in less than 8 weeks"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Sweeking ugh..

, Sep 19, 2013
Anonymous
,Blythewood, SC, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes feel great on my feet but when I wear them they start sweeking when I walk. Very Anoying.."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Wishing this shoe wasn't being discontinued

, Sep 12, 2013
Anonymous
,Lubbock, TX, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm a Disabled Vet (Marines) that has back and knee problems. I have found through the years that Nike is the only manufacturer that makes a shoe in wide that is soft soled and is super comfortable. This shoe does not hurt my back or knees as so many others have done in the past. I am really DISAPPOINTED to find out that this type/style of shoe is no longer being made. I have worn it for over 10 years in which the sole bottom has had changed but not the shoe it's self. I would really like to know what to do now that it is no longer available. Over all an Awesome shoe."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Exactly what I ordered

, Jul 17, 2013
OMPM
,New York, NY, USA
"Bought these sneakers for my husband and he loves them. Great product and amazing service from Nike.com Ordered the sneakers 7 a.m. on Monday and husband was wearing them by Thursday. Great price great product and fast delivery."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Wish the Squeak Would Go Away

, Jan 16, 2013
Anonymous
,Omaha, NE, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've owned perhaps a half-dozen pair of these over the last several years, and had no problems (loved the shoe). But I bought a pair last October that have a bad squeak that started a couple of weeks after I bought them. Thinking it was a fluke, I ordered another pair in December, and again the squeaking start a couple of weeks after starting to wear them. I'm guessing at this point there's no way to return them; I'm just really sorry at the apparently low quality control standards recently in their manufacturing. I wish Nike would solve the quality issues, and make the squeak problem go away. In all other aspects, this is a really good shoe."
+8points
13of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
onJun 11, 2013
I've worn Monarchs for several years and each pair would squeak. I found that by taking the insert out of the shoe and sprinkling foot powder in and putting the insert back in, cures the squeak. It's woked for me. No more squeak.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,Mattawan, Mi
onMay 15, 2013
I have also only used Monarchs over the years and the last pair squeaked horribly. I love the shoe as it is the only shoe I have found the perfect fit. Please fix the squeak. It is driving my wife near crazy.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 14 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, Dec 8, 2012
mooxer69
,Mount Pleasant
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This will be my 3rd pair of these shoes, they fit and are comfortable,I an disabled so I need good shoes."
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

love these shoes!!!!!

, Sep 28, 2012
Anonymous
,Reading, PA, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a woman and i love these shoes, they are the most comfortable pair i have ever bought.. I wear them hard and yes they squeek after a while but i work in a Factory and it LOUD there so, no one hears them.. And if they do i will tell them these shoes are the most comfortable pair i have ever worn...I also have a very flat foot so the extra wide works great, and i stand on cement floors.. I recommend these to everyone..PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE dont ever stop making them.. or at least till i retire.. Keep up the good work, maybe some other colors will come out too"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Like the fact that it comes in a mostly white shoe!

, Sep 7, 2012
elbatmark1
,Elba, Al
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been wearing this shoe since the Monarch first came out. I have been through all series such as II, III, IV. I was in an accident 20 years ago which crushed my lower legs and feet. These are the only shoes that work with my feet especially my right foot. I have to buy a new pair approxmently one pair every 3 months. all other shoes I have try could not even wear one day. this is one shoe I hope they never stop making."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

I Sounded like a mouse when I walked!

, Aug 28, 2012
cheapskate863
,Pennsylvania
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The right shoe on my 1st pair started to squeak after about 6 weeks. Since extra wide shoes are so difficult to find I bought a 2nd pair (I had high hopes that the 1st pair was a fluke, I was wrong), after only 10 days the right shoe started to squeak! I work in a very quiet office so this was very unacceptable, Fortunately Nike has a 2 year warranty from manufacture date on manufacture defects, so I did get a voucher refund on the 2nd pair. I certainly won't be buying a 3rd pair!"
+3points
8of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeek

, Jul 22, 2012
Mannab22
,Wshington
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Why o Why can't Nike fix the stinking squeek that comes with every pair of these shoes???? I have tried all the styles of the Monarch but every one of them squeek!"
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeaky Shoes = Defective Product

, May 15, 2012
charlton92
,Portland, OR, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"There are a lot of comments here mentioning the squeak in these shoes. The pair I have squeaks in the right heal very loud like a duck every time I step, it is not only very annoying but is embarrassing since it is so loud. I want my money back, Nike."
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bycheapskate863
,Pennsylvania
Burst air bubble heck
onAug 9, 2012
I wear mine for work, I work in an office so they are not worn in a harsh environment. I am on my 2nd pair now and only bought the 2nd pair out of desperation because I can not find extra wide sneakers that fit right. The 1st pair began squeaking after about a month. I have had this pair for 10 days and the right one is squeaking already! You can't tell me it is because they are well worn!
+2points
3of 4voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byht
,Hermosa Beach, Ca
Could be defective.
onMay 24, 2012
If its the same problem I had before, you may indeed have a defective shoe. I've had a squeak in one shoe and eventually learned that it was being caused by one of the AIR bubbles is punctured. You could actually have a "blow out". This is common in the well worn Air Monarch - a shoe salesman told me this just as a comment on the shoes I was wearing (that were not squeaking). Then I found many reviews on-line complaining about the blow-outs. It usually happens on well worn shoes though.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 20 for Nike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 33 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Fits like a glove !!

, Apr 27, 2012
Ravok
,New Port Richey, FL, USA
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"First pair of Nikes that fit properly. I wear a EEE.
These are a god send!! Its about time.
I love em."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>