Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.09 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(134 reviews) 134
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 134 reviews
5 Stars
43
4 Stars
21
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
21
1 Star
37
47 out of 8257%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every stepBenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with fulllength AirSole unit for lightweight cushioningMultipattern rubber outsole for durability and multisurface tractionFlex160grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always a favorite!!

, Jul 9, 2014
mjn0388
,Seaside Park, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fit is perfect, comfortable and wears very durable. I wear these almost every day and they take a beating. Great support and comfort at the same time."
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
onAug 2, 2014
Good fit, very uncomfortable! I must have a bad pair NO CUSHION....and I mean NO CUSHION!
+1point
3of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wonderful Shoe

, Jun 28, 2014
mnash358
,Pearland, TX, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have alot to say, but i am short on time. I love the shoe. This is my fourth or fifth pair of Air Monarchs. I wear them for walking/running. My current pair is the black ones, but I did not like them from the start. I normally buy the white, red, and black ones. I just bought a new pair today. I run on the outside of my feet. I think it is over-pronate or supinate.... Whatever the term, but the outside of my feet especially my left foot really hurts. I did not have that issue with the white, red, and black ones; so I bought another pair today. I have also bought these shoes for family and friends who have started fitness routines to help support them in their fitness goals. Awesome shoe!!!! I do admit that the Air Zoom Structure 17s look interesting. I might try them on my next purchase. Hopefully, the price will drop for us poor people. lol... Until then, these shoes are excellent! Good luck...."
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love this shoe

, Jun 26, 2014
COkid69
,Parker, CO, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe! These are one of the most comfortable and highly durable pair of shoes."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes and how to fix squeak

, May 25, 2014
wyonts
,raleigh nc
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had several pairs of the Monarchs. I'm 6'5" with a rather small foot. Size 12 and they fit great. They do have a tendency to squeak badly. I fixed the squeak by removing the insole and dumping powder in and then inserting the insole. After 24 hrs of wear the squeak is gone."
+7points
12of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, May 25, 2014
intimidator3fan
,Montgomery, AL, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"was skeptical about this shoe after reading the reviews. decided to give them a try. very glad i did. i read about the sound they make but have had no problems with that. would highly recommend this shoe"
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byquijibo1
,Albany, Or.
onJul 21, 2014
Comfortable when you first put them on, but after a few hours on my feet they start to hurt...sound like a frog also when walking, way too noisy....would not recommend for 65 dollars
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

"Talking Shoes"

, May 7, 2014
911RN
,Middleton, ID
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased these shoes for my husband a year ago since these have been his favorites for years; he can barely stand to wear them as they started to squeak days after he started wearing them. We were about to purchase another pair but I now see from other reviews that this problem is not exclusive to his shoes alone. I would think that Nike could do a better job than this."
+11points
15of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeaky sneakers

, Apr 28, 2014
vmccabe
,Harrisburg, PA, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased 3 air monarch type shoes. One pair last Christma(2012), one pair over the summer and the last pair around this Christmas(2013) each time with in a few days of purchace the shoes squeaked, and continured squeaking the entire time they were worn."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comApr 30, 2014
Nobody likes noisey shoes so we get where you're coming from. We do have some options you can pursue so that you're not stuck with these, though:

1. Give the original retailer a shout and talk about your return/exchange options there.
2. If you don't have any luck or if you purchased them online, check out Nikeclaims.com. That site has all the info you'll need to setup a claim for your kicks.

Lastly, if you'd rather talk over the phone, give our team a call at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) and we'll go from there. Deal?
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Pain free walking!

, Apr 27, 2014
SoreToe
,Nebraska
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I have a Morton's neuroma and the Monarch is the ONLY shoe I have found that lets me walk pain free. I originally bought them for walking because they're so comfortable. I just bought two more pair just in case they are discontinued. I wear them everyday."
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

air monarch

, Apr 5, 2014
Anonymous
,Southern California
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is actually the only sneaker i can wear because of the 4e wide width to soothe ankle arthiritis and swelling and low back and leg pain."
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Can't sneak up on ANYBODY!!!

, Apr 2, 2014
WSBillP
,Western NY
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"C'mon Nike...90% of the feedback on this shoe is squeak related...what is your official position on this ?...Talc powder ?....really ?......just FIX it!!!"
+7points
17of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeakers

, Mar 30, 2014
MICHAEL
,California
"I purchased three pairs of Air Monarchs for work and play. They are comfortabe, but all three squeak. I've sent in two pair for warranty already. I tried one more pair for work, because comfortable black shoes are hard to come by. My next voucher I'm just going to get some skayeboard shoes and be done with the Monarchs."
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Comfortable, tripping hazard

, Mar 9, 2014
GERUSSE
,PA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These Monarch Air are not comfortable. They hurt at the top of the heel portion. Most importantly is the sole extends too far at the heel and I trip going down stairs."
Response from NikeBy NikeConsumer ServiceMar 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on here and we'll definitely pass your feedback along. As for your shoes, have you tried contacting the original retailer to discuss your options? If not, we recommend giving that a shot. Also, if you'd prefer to talk to us over the phone, we can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily).
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bymphemh
,High Desert California
onMay 8, 2014
why should we contact the retailer your the one that made the shoe. just make the shoe right.
+7points
8of 9voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This shoe stays comfortable for a long time.

, Mar 8, 2014
Wmh
,Penn Run, PA 15765, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying these shoes a long time. They also last a long time making them a great value. I like these shoes because they come in a solid black color and are available in 4E width. I have bad feet and my foot doctor said these shoes are "good and solid", and they would be a good shoe to keep wearing. I have a Sunday pair I keep clean to wear to Church, and a everyday pair."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

It's a Squeaker

, Feb 9, 2014
MarkRip
,Stafford, VA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I am so disappointed in this shoe. It squeaks so bad, nothing seems to help them. This is a shame, cause Nike was the only brand I wear, that fits well, and this Monarch was one the few that is all black, which is great as casual wear, but this squeaking I just can't stand it any longer. I've only had this shoe for two months and there is so much wear left in the shoe, but I can't stand the squeaking. I have doubts now that I'll ever buy another pair of Nike's. DO NOT BUY THIS SHOE, YOU'LL REGRET IT."
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak, squeak

, Feb 8, 2014
squeakygoiomonachs
,California
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought three pairs of these. The first were black for work. They are well cushioned and comfortable. After about four months, EVERY flipping pair squeak. I almost bought another set with my credit voucher, but they obviously haven't fixed the problem. Watch out, Nike warrantues their shoes for 2 years, one pair I bought was "Old Stock", so I'm stuck with one pair of squeakers. I was walking down the street the other day, and some random chick just stares at this fool wearing SQUEAKING SHOES !!!! Stay away from these !!!"
0points
10of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Air Monarch

, Feb 2, 2014
Anonymous
,VA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've worn Air Monarchs for several years. This is one of the few shoes made in solid black which make them easy to wear for casual dress. They are quite comfortable and can be worn all day without any discomfort to my feet.
The only negative aspect to these shoes is that the last pair I had began to squeak after several months. However, they were replaced by Nike without any problems."
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 134 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Limited Comfort, Limited Choice

, Jan 17, 2014
Anonymous
,Marshall, MI 49068, USA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Have bought seven pairs over the years. Have 7 1/2 EEEE shoe size. Nike has very limited choices at that size. Need the all black shoes for work. Two jobs both require all black shoes. Shoes don't breath well. Feet often warm after work, even at job where temp is kept very cool. Use white pairs for casual use. Have had some issues with sole coming loose, but usually last. Never had the size blowout that I get with too narrow a shoe."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very disappointed

, Jan 17, 2014
Eric.
,Frederick, MD, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"On, my second pair, should have learned after the first. Not long after getting the shoes, the incredible squeaking started. Based on the fact that it is a comfortable shoe, fit well and assuming I just had a bad pair, I went back and got a new pair when the current ones more squeaked out than wore out. Not more than one month into the new pair and it is squeaking as bad as the old ones. Holy cow. Like I said - I could understand one bad pair, but two? Plus I see lots of other complaints about this issue. I will not be buying again - which is too bad, cause they were comfortable."
+6points
17of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Like a cat wearing a bell

, Jan 11, 2014
SlowPokeRodriguez
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"These shoes squeak so bad, I can't wear them in public. My wife can hear me take every step, from all the way across the house. Sounds like rubbing two balloons together -- amplified. It's not just my shoes, either -- there's more than one person on YouTube who have exchanged the same Air Monarch model multiple times, and every pair squeaks. Just go to youtube and search "air monarch squeak" for many results, and lots of bad advice about how to fix the problem (though ripping up the insert and putting a bunch of talcum powder under it does help a little)."
+5points
14of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 134 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Air Monarchs in Black

, Jan 4, 2014
Anonymous
,Chicago area
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Ordered these online (as not available in black at Sports Auth.). Had reservations due to the many comments from other reviewers about "squeaks'', etc., but after multiple months of active daily use, the shoes remain dead quiet. Makes me wonder if those prior authors had another agenda. Before buying online, tried a pair of the whites in a store. The comfort of this shoe far exceeded that of all others I tried. Because of that I took a chance (despite the alleged 'sound' issue), and am glad I did. Nike, keep on making these!"
-13points
7of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted by51fordor
,Washington State
onMay 25, 2014
I have had multiple pairs of this series of Nike as I like all black and comfortable to wear all day long and all have eventually squeaked, but did so after about a year and a half later. And the tread is barely worn at that point for me. You would think that Nike would be able to fix that because they are really great fitting and the most comfortable shoes that I have found. My only agenda in replying is that Nike take notice and fix. I can almost guarantee that your shoes will squeak. Even so I will buy another pair!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bySlowPokeRodriguez
,Seattle, WA
onJan 11, 2014
Sixteen pages of reviews, 90% of them complaining about squeaks, some with video proof... but the first review on the top of page 1 suggests they have an agenda. If I had to guess who had an agenda, it wouldn't be the people on pages two through sixteen.
+6points
10of 14voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>