Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
2.965 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(114 reviews) 114
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 114 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
21
1 Star
32
33 out of 6253%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every stepBenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with fulllength AirSole unit for lightweight cushioningMultipattern rubber outsole for durability and multisurface tractionFlex160grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Support with comfort

, Jan 3, 2014
SHERRI
,
I Train primarily for:Football
,
My NIKE SPARQ Training goal is to:Be a Starter
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Bought these for my son for football training and he loved them. Very comfortable."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

air monarch

, Dec 30, 2013
rpm123
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying NIKE Cross Training shoes for as long as I can remember and primarily wear them for everyday use. I generally purchase 1 pair every year. For about the past 7 years, I have been buying Air Monarch's. They are reasonably priced and very comfortable. They fit me like a glove. Unfortunately, for about the past 3 years, my Air Monarch's develop a very loud and annoying squeak after 2 or 3 months. People can hear me coming from 20 feet away. Last year I tried switching brands. I honestly prefer NIKE's but cannot tolerate that squeak. Internet searches, blogs and videos reveal that this squeak is a common problem. I tried a suggested internet fix on a pair of my old Air Monarch's. The fix entails lifting the insole and making an incision in the canvas at the ball of foot area, and/or adding powder, then replacing the insole. I believe this fix releases an air pocket that causes the squeak. It did work. My Air Monarch's are completely squeak free. I would like to believe that NIKE has the knowledge and craftsmanship to permanently resolve this issue for the consumer. NIKE, please make be a believer. I really do love my Air Monarch's, minus the squeak. Thanks."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome

, Dec 27, 2013
IndigoMX9
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"First the bad - The shoes squeak after a while. There I said it, it's an obvious flaw and nothing is perfect.
Now the Good - These are the most comfortable, durable, performance shoes I have ever owned. They provide support and stability when I run and train.
I bought three pairs and would still buy them if they sold them in stores."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Glad to come back to Nike

, Nov 22, 2013
Anonymous
,PA Furnace, Pa
"I used to wear nike sneakers all the time when i was younger. Since beeing older and on a budget, i bought other cheaper brands. My feet have been hurting more and more as the years go on and i made the decision to go back to nike. My decision was the right one. These sneakers are well worth it. They are very light and comfortable for all I do, not to mention they look great. Thanks so much Nike!!!!!!!!!!"
-2points
4of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

WHITE AIR MONARCHS

, Nov 3, 2013
Anonymous
,Perry Hall, MD
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought this shoe for everyday wear. Found to be comfortable no matter how long I wear them."
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Comfortable, SQUEEK very bad

, Oct 30, 2013
Dale K
,Clio, MI 48420, USA
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought these shoes for 10 years at least 7 pair, but after abought two weeks to a month they squeek so bad and has nothing to do with smooth floors or power in the inner sole"
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

mikeys nikes

, Oct 18, 2013
mdavlin79
,hope ar
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"These shoes are stylist, comfortable, supportive, and they have them in wides. I absolutely love these Nike monarchs."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Comfort

, Oct 13, 2013
TUSI
,Honolulu, Hi
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This shoe is very comfortable on your feet, especially if your require to be on your feet for a long period of time. I use these shoes for work and I'm require to be on my feet and moving around and allows me to do my job instead of worrying how sore my feet will be at the end of my shift."
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Most comfortable

, Oct 11, 2013
Anonymous
,Alliance, OH 44601, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Football
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been having problems with gout. This is the only shoes that I can wear for long periods of time. Felt so good, I ordered a second pair."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeek problem

, Oct 9, 2013
Anonymous
,Eastport, New York
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes fit well and look good. Unfortunately they are not well made. I have returned multiple pairs because, within 7 to 60 days. they begin to creek and squeek like an un-oiled door hinge. Amazing that no fix can or has been found. More amazing they continue to sell them on Nike.com; just bought a different shoe with my latest credt."
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
3 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRunningWildDeer
onJun 27, 2014
The squeaks are caused by a product malfunction or anomaly. The grip on the floor is irrelevant.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-4points
2of 8voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-2points
3of 8voted this comment as helpful.
3 Comments
Read comments (3)
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

This product does not last ..

, Oct 4, 2013
dhowes01
,Buffalo, NY, USA
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought many pairs of Air sneakers and the quality is not there...Sneaker was shot in less than 8 weeks"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak and uncomfortable

, Oct 2, 2013
drpea
,Chicago, IL, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoes began to squeak as if the glue holding the sole to the upper failed. You could feel is separate when you walk. This shoe is a miserable replacement for the excellent Air Definition IV. I have looked everywhere in stores and online to get the old version and it is gone forever. I won't buy another Nike until they bring back the Definition."
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRunningWildDeer
,Trussville, AL
onJun 27, 2014
I agree 100%. The Air Definition was the best cross training shoe I have ever worn. I am a runner and can not even wear Nike running shoes but the Definition was the best casual/work shoe I have ever worn. I wore the black shoes to work being on my feet all day and wore the white shoes everywhere else. BRING BACK THE CLASSIC DEFINITION!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,Roswell, NM
onDec 30, 2013
fix for the squeak - remove the insole and generously sprinkle some talc inside .... voila, squeak gone!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak sound

, Sep 29, 2013
msdhedhi
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am very disappointed with these shoes. Within one month, they started to squeak. I cannot wear them anywhere. Never buying a Nike product again."
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Superior product!

, Sep 25, 2013
freak4f1
,Iowa, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have owned a few pairs of these shoes and will continue to buy them simply for the comfort. They are just my running around shoes and my current pair is almost 2 years old and almost as comfy as when new. Love'em!"
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Sweeking ugh..

, Sep 19, 2013
Anonymous
,Blythewood, SC, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes feel great on my feet but when I wear them they start sweeking when I walk. Very Anoying.."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Get the white air monarchs, not the black

, Sep 19, 2013
MyaMoe
,St. Louis, MO, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had 6 pairs of the white air monarchs and had no problems with them. I bought a pair of black ones because the store didn`t have my size in white. I liked the looks of the black ones but after a couple of weeks they started to squeak loud enough that I wouldn`t were them in public,I returned them to nike and they replaced them with white ones and there fine.I had to pay to ship them to nike was the only lose to me. Paul"
-5points
1of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Unsatisfied customer!

, Sep 17, 2013
jperezgdt
,California, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"HORRIBLE SQUEAK!!! UGGGHHH I tried these shoes on at the store and they are some of the most comfortable shoes I have worn just loved them. A week later they started developing a noise as if you were rubbing wet rubber gloves together, it started low but now after only a little over a week they are horrendous!! I so upset I have to return them, and just cannot believe how loud they are. The noise completely overshadowed such a great shoe. This issue needs to be addressed!"
+8points
20of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 114 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Wishing this shoe wasn't being discontinued

, Sep 12, 2013
Anonymous
,Lubbock, TX, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm a Disabled Vet (Marines) that has back and knee problems. I have found through the years that Nike is the only manufacturer that makes a shoe in wide that is soft soled and is super comfortable. This shoe does not hurt my back or knees as so many others have done in the past. I am really DISAPPOINTED to find out that this type/style of shoe is no longer being made. I have worn it for over 10 years in which the sole bottom has had changed but not the shoe it's self. I would really like to know what to do now that it is no longer available. Over all an Awesome shoe."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Embarrassing Squeak

, Sep 11, 2013
GreggKob
,Sugar Grove, IL, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I was having trouble with my heels hurting so I went to the store and tried on every shoe that either had an air ride or plenty of cushioning. Nike Air Monarch made my feet feel the best so I bought them. Within a week or two they started squeaking. When I asked other people what makes a shoe squeak, they tell me it is probably worn out, and clearly that can't be the case. The squeak is very annoying and very embarrassing to me."
+3points
9of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 114 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

THEY SQUEAK

, Aug 6, 2013
Jordan_McAllister
,Cockeysville, MD, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Shoes are comfortable but they squeak all the time. I use them for work and customers get a good laugh over it. I want a refund or replacement"
+6points
18of 30voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byCraigbtx
,Austin TX
onAug 24, 2013
Read the reviews. Baby powder is the answer for now until Nike gets with it. Its been 4 months and NO SQUEAK.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>