Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
2.89 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(73 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 73 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
12
1 Star
22
21 out of 4052%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper. Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every step.BenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with full-length Air-Sole unit for lightweight cushioningMulti-pattern rubber outsole for durability and multi-surface tractionFlex#160;grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth, efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

THEY SQUEAK

, Aug 6, 2013
Jordan_McAllister
,Cockeysville, MD, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Shoes are comfortable but they squeak all the time. I use them for work and customers get a good laugh over it. I want a refund or replacement"
+7points
18of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byCraigbtx
,Austin TX
onAug 24, 2013
Read the reviews. Baby powder is the answer for now until Nike gets with it. Its been 4 months and NO SQUEAK.
+3points
3of 3voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Squeak! Quack! Aweful!

, Jun 12, 2013
brock4681
,Mechanicsburg, PA 17050, USA
"Nike! Are you seeing these reviews? The Shoe looks and feels great, but no one can stand the dam squeaking. Fix or recall them already...."
+21points
40of 59voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Same review as everyone...squeak

, May 6, 2013
lakawak
,Binghamton, NY
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have worn Air Monarch IIIs for at least 8 years. I never noticed any squeak. But now after reading all these reviews for the Air Monarch IVs, and putting on a fairly new pair of IIIS (I liked them so much I would buy some extra pairs in case they discontinued them), sure enough, even my Air Monarch IIIs are squeaking! These shoes were manufactured in 2008. Amazing that Nike has still not corrected the problem in almost 5 years!"
-2points
19of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Fixing the Squeak

, May 2, 2013
Craigbtx
,Austin TX
"I tried adding baby / foot powder as stated in other reviews and it worked!!!
It may come back later on but we'll see.
I carefully removed the insole, put in some baby powder and the squeak is gone!
Awesome. 5 stars for now!"
-5points
13of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byoldcycleman
,Mchenry, Il
onAug 29, 2013
I am 60 years old and have been struggling to find the right fitting shoes because of my wide feet. When I found the Air Monark it fit me perfect and was a comfort to walk in until, the squeak! After a while it was so obvious I through out the shoes and went back to the New Balance triple e width but they were not the same comfort. So I decided that I would try the Air Monark again hoping they fixed the problem. In two weeks the sqeak was back. I stopped wearing them and went back to New Balance but it was not the same. Recently I gave them another try and the squeak was still there but I used them on my bicycle so it was not so noticable. I came on this site to complain until I read the reviews and found out I was not the only one. Then I saw the baby powder fix and am sitting right next to my shoes to give them another try with the baby powder. I hope it works and thanks for the tip.
+1point
2of 3voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak*Quack*Squeak*Quack

, Apr 20, 2013
extremehiker
,Black Hills, SD
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Let me start by saying I have been a loyal Nike customer for 3 decades. Never had a problem with a shoe before until now. I have owned other Monarch's before and they were all great. Been wearing the new Monarch IV for a few weeks now. It is a very comfortable shoe with great forward and lateral movement. A very comfortable shoe to wear to work or to work out. It is even a great looking shoe. I wish I could rate this shoe a 4 or a 5 because of these high points, but I can't. The problem is the annoying squeaking and quacking duck noises the shoe makes. I feel like a clown walking around wearing these noisy honking shoes. People at work can hear me coming down the hall from the other side of the building. The noise these shoes make has become so loud and annoying that just after a few weeks I have decided I will not wear these in public ever again! I am hoping to return them, but if not, then I will turn these into my official lawn mowing shoes."
+5points
21of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Shoe after you know how to fix the squeaking

, Mar 3, 2013
IndyRebe1
,Indiana, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had the older style of Monarcs and had the same squeak problem but after reading: tsloven ,NC Coast post about how to fix the squeak I will now buy a new pair. Just grab some baby powder or foot powder and gently remove the insole and dump a lot of power inside, put the insole back in and the jog in place, jump around and the squeak starts to go away. I had to add more to my left shoe because it still had a slight squeak...the problem comes from your feet sweating in that enclosed leather shoe....it's the sweat...add powder!"
+2points
24of 46voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Air Monarch!

, Feb 20, 2013
garysgirl6360
,Savannah, GA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have purchased this shoe several times as it is the only one my husband wants to wear! He works on his feet all the time and says that the Monarch has the best comfort of any tennis shoe he's ever worn! We will continue to buy them until Nike does away with them! (hint hint, don't!)"
-1point
10of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Do not buy this product

, Feb 17, 2013
JD9999
,PA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased a pair of Nike sneakers about a year ago and after a month or so they started to squeak, very loud. I bought another pair of sneakers (different brand) and relagated the Nike's to my daily bike rides. I recently needed a new pair of sneakers and thinking that the squek was just an anomaly, I foolishly purchased another pair of Nike's. Only took two weeks for the left one to start squeking. I will never again purchase a Nike product."
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Monarch Squeek

, Feb 17, 2013
chessdac
,Henderson, NV, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
"I have purchased Monarch's for years and within the past couple of years the shoes developed a loud squeek. The replacement shoes sent to me are from 2010 and will shortly most certainly develop the "squeek"
Too bad that Nike has not been able to discover the problem and fix it!"
+7points
11of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

You're doomed.

, Feb 8, 2013
Squeak4547
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"If you already purchased these shoes, cry now. You are doomed. DOOMED. In just 3 months you will start to notice a litte squeak. And in no time at all you'll be squeaking down the halls at school and church forcing everyone to akwardly stare and snicker behind your back. I feel remorse for you, but they are quite comfortable. That's a plus. It will help ease your pain."
+14points
21of 28voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very comfortable.

, Feb 5, 2013
mkwhitmer
,Toledo, OH, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I like the full length air sole. I have not been able to find another shoe with it. I like the extra wide. I like that the Monarch comes in more than one color now. I weigh over 300lbs so these shoes take a beating. I am on my feet all day, working long shifts (over 10 hours). I have been wearing the Monarch for many years. I did get bored of wearing the same shoe for so long, that I did attempt to find another shoe that I could wear. After shoe salesmen sold me their best shoes...I ended up throwing them out and buying another pair of Monarchs (over and over). I have not noticed much difference between the Monarch III and IV. The only thing I would change would be the "pivot circle" on the bottom - the squeeking has always been bad...but with the III, the squeeking started when the sole started to wear away. Now with the IV, it has started right away. I have even tried to shave the circle off...it helped a little, but still squeeks."
+3points
6of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

A Very Good Shoe

, Jan 26, 2013
Waynewill1410
,Texas
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Shoe has a good fit. Size is right on length and width. The shoe feels a little heavy towards the front. A good value in a all black training shoe."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRou57
,Tucson AZ
onFeb 3, 2013
The monarch IV has a very noticible squeak, so much so my coworkers can hear me coming from up to 20 feet away. I will not buy another pair until Nike corrects this problem.
+9points
9of 9voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

comfortable from day one

, Jan 26, 2013
bobbysturdivant
,hopacca ms
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I wear these shoes to work. On my feet all day, on concrete. Fifty-one years on the job and i've found nothing comparable to these!"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Shoes are very comfortable

, Jan 12, 2013
rc5115
,Mesa, AZ
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"So far these shoes have been working well for me. They are comfortable. I walk a lot on concrete surfaces during the day, and these shoes really help with walking fatigue. So far after 1 week, these shoes have not started the "squeaking" that seems to be a problem with these shoes the past couple of years. I had some of those shoes, and one started the "squeak" only after one day of wearing. I hope that Nike have looked at their quality control, as it seems this has been a real problem lately."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,Omaha, NE, USA
onJan 16, 2013
For me, the squeaking started about two weeks after I started wearing them. This has happened with two pair of these recently (in the last six months). I'm guessing you're headed for a squeak soon...
+5points
5of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoes

, Dec 30, 2012
Linda Hesler
,Felicity, Ohio
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Gave shoes as gift for Christmas. Son was very happy with the size, fit and look."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,mesa.arizona
onJan 8, 2013
The last two sounded like a duck when I walked. I threw them away. The first pair I thought were defected, but I discovered they are built that way for duck hunting.
+9points
10of 11voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

SQUEEKY SHOES

, Dec 27, 2012
dbar55
,Palm Desert, CA, USA
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had at least 10 pairs of the air monarch and have found them very comfortable. I stand and walk on concrete all day! The last three or four pair has a horrible squeek!"
+4points
8of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

NOISE

, Dec 16, 2012
chriscoleen
,Texas
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I like these shoes...They are very comfortable and fairly durable BUT they make noise. When we go to the library or in a quiet store I feel like I have to stay still or people stare and giggle because my shoes make loud noises. It doesn't matter how I walk...slow or fast or on the toes...They still squeak LOUDLY. PLEASE fix this. I don't want to change to a different shoe. Thank you.(Air Monarch IV)"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Great Shoe, But Plagued With "THE SQUEAK"

, Dec 13, 2012
BMcCue
,Litchfield, NH
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This is my second pair of these shoes. THe last pair are about a year old and probably have a couple of hundred miles on them. The right shoe of that pair developed a slight squeak towards the end.
MY new pair of Nikes have a HORRENDOUS squeak eminating from BOTH shoes. I am self conscious when I wear them now because it sounds like I'm passing gas or something. They are embarassing!!! However, they are comfortable. I should have returned them but I didn't..."
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

comfortible shoe

, Nov 16, 2012
blinkey
,Fremont,Ca
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this shoe use to be really good every since they changed the bottom and the sole this shoe is terrible seems every 3 months i send them back when you walk they have this stupid squeeking noise that can drive you crazy i have been buying this shoe over 9 years all of a sudden the change to the shoes has make it bad nike will not do anything about it i know alot of people who wear this shoe they have the same problem nike do something about this shoe if not i will just keep returning them just received a new pair about one month now this pair starting to squeek when you walk the bad thing is i only wear these shoes for walking thank you for changing a good shoe in to a bad one Thank you Erik Empert"
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 73 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

the squeek

, Oct 5, 2012
thepartsguy1900
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This has been a very comfortable shoe, every day use and hiking great, the down side is they are the most horrible squeeking shoes i have ever herd, on carpet and tile and cement floors just about any surface the same thing. if you need to not be noticed in the office or church or library dont buy these."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>