Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.016 / 5
3.0
 / 
5
(121 reviews) 121
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 121 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
19
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
21
1 Star
34
38 out of 6955%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every stepBenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with fulllength AirSole unit for lightweight cushioningMultipattern rubber outsole for durability and multisurface tractionFlex160grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

It's a Squeaker

, Feb 9, 2014
MarkRip
,Stafford, VA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I am so disappointed in this shoe. It squeaks so bad, nothing seems to help them. This is a shame, cause Nike was the only brand I wear, that fits well, and this Monarch was one the few that is all black, which is great as casual wear, but this squeaking I just can't stand it any longer. I've only had this shoe for two months and there is so much wear left in the shoe, but I can't stand the squeaking. I have doubts now that I'll ever buy another pair of Nike's. DO NOT BUY THIS SHOE, YOU'LL REGRET IT."
+7points
19of 31voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak, squeak

, Feb 8, 2014
squeakygoiomonachs
,California
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Play Div 1
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought three pairs of these. The first were black for work. They are well cushioned and comfortable. After about four months, EVERY flipping pair squeak. I almost bought another set with my credit voucher, but they obviously haven't fixed the problem. Watch out, Nike warrantues their shoes for 2 years, one pair I bought was "Old Stock", so I'm stuck with one pair of squeakers. I was walking down the street the other day, and some random chick just stares at this fool wearing SQUEAKING SHOES !!!! Stay away from these !!!"
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Air Monarch

, Feb 2, 2014
Anonymous
,VA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've worn Air Monarchs for several years. This is one of the few shoes made in solid black which make them easy to wear for casual dress. They are quite comfortable and can be worn all day without any discomfort to my feet.
The only negative aspect to these shoes is that the last pair I had began to squeak after several months. However, they were replaced by Nike without any problems."
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Limited Comfort, Limited Choice

, Jan 17, 2014
Anonymous
,Marshall, MI 49068, USA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Have bought seven pairs over the years. Have 7 1/2 EEEE shoe size. Nike has very limited choices at that size. Need the all black shoes for work. Two jobs both require all black shoes. Shoes don't breath well. Feet often warm after work, even at job where temp is kept very cool. Use white pairs for casual use. Have had some issues with sole coming loose, but usually last. Never had the size blowout that I get with too narrow a shoe."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very disappointed

, Jan 17, 2014
Eric.
,Frederick, MD, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"On, my second pair, should have learned after the first. Not long after getting the shoes, the incredible squeaking started. Based on the fact that it is a comfortable shoe, fit well and assuming I just had a bad pair, I went back and got a new pair when the current ones more squeaked out than wore out. Not more than one month into the new pair and it is squeaking as bad as the old ones. Holy cow. Like I said - I could understand one bad pair, but two? Plus I see lots of other complaints about this issue. I will not be buying again - which is too bad, cause they were comfortable."
+5points
15of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Like a cat wearing a bell

, Jan 11, 2014
SlowPokeRodriguez
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"These shoes squeak so bad, I can't wear them in public. My wife can hear me take every step, from all the way across the house. Sounds like rubbing two balloons together -- amplified. It's not just my shoes, either -- there's more than one person on YouTube who have exchanged the same Air Monarch model multiple times, and every pair squeaks. Just go to youtube and search "air monarch squeak" for many results, and lots of bad advice about how to fix the problem (though ripping up the insert and putting a bunch of talcum powder under it does help a little)."
+5points
13of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Air Monarchs in Black

, Jan 4, 2014
Anonymous
,Chicago area
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Ordered these online (as not available in black at Sports Auth.). Had reservations due to the many comments from other reviewers about "squeaks'', etc., but after multiple months of active daily use, the shoes remain dead quiet. Makes me wonder if those prior authors had another agenda. Before buying online, tried a pair of the whites in a store. The comfort of this shoe far exceeded that of all others I tried. Because of that I took a chance (despite the alleged 'sound' issue), and am glad I did. Nike, keep on making these!"
-12points
7of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted by51fordor
,Washington State
onMay 25, 2014
I have had multiple pairs of this series of Nike as I like all black and comfortable to wear all day long and all have eventually squeaked, but did so after about a year and a half later. And the tread is barely worn at that point for me. You would think that Nike would be able to fix that because they are really great fitting and the most comfortable shoes that I have found. My only agenda in replying is that Nike take notice and fix. I can almost guarantee that your shoes will squeak. Even so I will buy another pair!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bySlowPokeRodriguez
,Seattle, WA
onJan 11, 2014
Sixteen pages of reviews, 90% of them complaining about squeaks, some with video proof... but the first review on the top of page 1 suggests they have an agenda. If I had to guess who had an agenda, it wouldn't be the people on pages two through sixteen.
+6points
10of 14voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Support with comfort

, Jan 3, 2014
SHERRI
,
I Train primarily for:Football
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Be a Starter
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Bought these for my son for football training and he loved them. Very comfortable."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

air monarch

, Dec 30, 2013
rpm123
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying NIKE Cross Training shoes for as long as I can remember and primarily wear them for everyday use. I generally purchase 1 pair every year. For about the past 7 years, I have been buying Air Monarch's. They are reasonably priced and very comfortable. They fit me like a glove. Unfortunately, for about the past 3 years, my Air Monarch's develop a very loud and annoying squeak after 2 or 3 months. People can hear me coming from 20 feet away. Last year I tried switching brands. I honestly prefer NIKE's but cannot tolerate that squeak. Internet searches, blogs and videos reveal that this squeak is a common problem. I tried a suggested internet fix on a pair of my old Air Monarch's. The fix entails lifting the insole and making an incision in the canvas at the ball of foot area, and/or adding powder, then replacing the insole. I believe this fix releases an air pocket that causes the squeak. It did work. My Air Monarch's are completely squeak free. I would like to believe that NIKE has the knowledge and craftsmanship to permanently resolve this issue for the consumer. NIKE, please make be a believer. I really do love my Air Monarch's, minus the squeak. Thanks."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome

, Dec 27, 2013
IndigoMX9
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"First the bad - The shoes squeak after a while. There I said it, it's an obvious flaw and nothing is perfect.
Now the Good - These are the most comfortable, durable, performance shoes I have ever owned. They provide support and stability when I run and train.
I bought three pairs and would still buy them if they sold them in stores."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Glad to come back to Nike

, Nov 22, 2013
Anonymous
,PA Furnace, Pa
"I used to wear nike sneakers all the time when i was younger. Since beeing older and on a budget, i bought other cheaper brands. My feet have been hurting more and more as the years go on and i made the decision to go back to nike. My decision was the right one. These sneakers are well worth it. They are very light and comfortable for all I do, not to mention they look great. Thanks so much Nike!!!!!!!!!!"
-1point
5of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

WHITE AIR MONARCHS

, Nov 3, 2013
Anonymous
,Perry Hall, MD
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought this shoe for everyday wear. Found to be comfortable no matter how long I wear them."
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Very Comfortable, SQUEEK very bad

, Oct 30, 2013
Dale K
,Clio, MI 48420, USA
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought these shoes for 10 years at least 7 pair, but after abought two weeks to a month they squeek so bad and has nothing to do with smooth floors or power in the inner sole"
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

mikeys nikes

, Oct 18, 2013
mdavlin79
,hope ar
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"These shoes are stylist, comfortable, supportive, and they have them in wides. I absolutely love these Nike monarchs."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Comfort

, Oct 13, 2013
TUSI
,Honolulu, Hi
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"This shoe is very comfortable on your feet, especially if your require to be on your feet for a long period of time. I use these shoes for work and I'm require to be on my feet and moving around and allows me to do my job instead of worrying how sore my feet will be at the end of my shift."
-4points
5of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Most comfortable

, Oct 11, 2013
Anonymous
,Alliance, OH 44601, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Football
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been having problems with gout. This is the only shoes that I can wear for long periods of time. Felt so good, I ordered a second pair."
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeek problem

, Oct 9, 2013
Anonymous
,Eastport, New York
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes fit well and look good. Unfortunately they are not well made. I have returned multiple pairs because, within 7 to 60 days. they begin to creek and squeek like an un-oiled door hinge. Amazing that no fix can or has been found. More amazing they continue to sell them on Nike.com; just bought a different shoe with my latest credt."
+1point
6of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (3)
3 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRunningWildDeer
onJun 27, 2014
The squeaks are caused by a product malfunction or anomaly. The grip on the floor is irrelevant.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-5points
2of 9voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted bymdavlin79
,arkansas
onOct 18, 2013
Maybe you should listen to a basketball game. If you find shoes that don't squeak on hard floor you have a pair that doesn't grip.
-3points
3of 9voted this comment as helpful.
3 Comments
Read comments (3)
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

This product does not last ..

, Oct 4, 2013
dhowes01
,Buffalo, NY, USA
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have bought many pairs of Air sneakers and the quality is not there...Sneaker was shot in less than 8 weeks"
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak and uncomfortable

, Oct 2, 2013
drpea
,Chicago, IL, USA
,
I Train primarily for:Soccer
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoes began to squeak as if the glue holding the sole to the upper failed. You could feel is separate when you walk. This shoe is a miserable replacement for the excellent Air Definition IV. I have looked everywhere in stores and online to get the old version and it is gone forever. I won't buy another Nike until they bring back the Definition."
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
2 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byRunningWildDeer
,Trussville, AL
onJun 27, 2014
I agree 100%. The Air Definition was the best cross training shoe I have ever worn. I am a runner and can not even wear Nike running shoes but the Definition was the best casual/work shoe I have ever worn. I wore the black shoes to work being on my feet all day and wore the white shoes everywhere else. BRING BACK THE CLASSIC DEFINITION!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAnonymous
,Roswell, NM
onDec 30, 2013
fix for the squeak - remove the insole and generously sprinkle some talc inside .... voila, squeak gone!
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
2 Comments
Read comments (2)
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 121 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeak sound

, Sep 29, 2013
msdhedhi
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am very disappointed with these shoes. Within one month, they started to squeak. I cannot wear them anywhere. Never buying a Nike product again."
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>