Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.301 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(166 reviews) 166
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 166 reviews
5 Stars
62
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
14
2 Stars
22
1 Star
40
73 out of 11464%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every stepBenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with fulllength AirSole unit for lightweight cushioningMultipattern rubber outsole for durability and multisurface tractionFlex160grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Comfortable, strong, dynamic shoe!

, Jun 16, 2015
LucasD366060693
,Elk Grove, CA
,
I Train primarily for:Baseball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Shoe is very comfortable with cushion, flexibility, and durability. Great to weight lift and cross train in. Supportive yet allows for quick cuts. Amazing and solid all the way around!"
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

not once, but twice

, Jun 15, 2015
einbit
,Space Coast, FL
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"First pair lasted 4 months, the second pair lasted 6 months. Both pairs the adhesive that is used for bonding the upper shoe to the lower sole failed. The shoe is used for walking."
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

good shoes

, Jun 10, 2015
Spoklina
,Bronx, NY
"I have a wide feet and I have to stand on my feet all day so I bought these extra wide and it fit's me perfectly. I feel comfortable and have no pain when I stand alot. Good price. I bought them in two colors."
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

A squeak away from perfect

, Jun 8, 2015
RabidHybrid
,Milwaukee
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My last two pairs of nikes both blew out their sides at the end, so I went with XWides. Very comfortable, but the squeak the right one makes is rather irritating. Comes from under balls of the foot. And only one show does it."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byTirtzah
,NC
onJun 23, 2015
That "squeak" happens when the "AIR" that is encased within the ball or heel, bursts open and the "AIR" is GONE. If purchased online and this happens in first 30 days you can get an exchange.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Jun 7, 2015
S8NRULES
,Brathanal, Ohio
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Over the years I have purchased at least a dozen of these shoes."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Extremely comfortable to wear

, Jun 5, 2015
Anonymous
,Palm Desert, CA, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This training shoe being Air filled is extremely comfortable to the foot. I personally have neuropathy and my feet hurt and ache all the time, but when wearing these trainers, my feet during the day are almost pain free.
This of course is only one of the benefits for me along with I can walk for miles now and feel comfort and stability in my gait. As a senior, I always am fearful of falling with this ailment, but, this shoe is by far the best on the market. Oh yes, being a senior I use these for exercise and walking, not for sports
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Comfortable and extremely durable

, May 6, 2015
Davee1966
,Massachusetts
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had lots of sneakers over the years, none have lasted this long."
+2points
10of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Absolutely the best fit around.

, May 5, 2015
greenmochiball
,Rio Vista, CA, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"After going through extra wide shoes of all brands all these years, including some ultra expensive 6E versions, my husband said his original pair of Nike Air 4E extra wide gave him the best fit. It's worn to shreds already. We did not know that Nike still make those shoes!
Out of desperation, I checked the Nike site. THANK YOU Nike! No more hunting and wasting efforts and money. Though there will not be any more ill fitting shoe donations to Good Will.
"
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

THIS PRODUCT KEEPS MY ANKLES FROM PRONATING

, May 4, 2015
Anonymous
,WEST HARTFOR, CT
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I HAVE INOPERABLE TORN SPRING LIGAMENTS IN BOTH ANKLES...THESE SHOES ARE A SAVING GRACE. WHEN THEY ARE NEW, THERE IS NO 'BREAKING IN' PERIOD, THEY ARE COMFORTABLE FROM DAY ONE....PLEASE DON'T STOP MANUFACTURING THIS SHOE!"
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byTirtzah
,NC
onJun 23, 2015
Yes, I hope Nike reads these. I had 2 low back surgeries in 1988 & 90. Also have degenerative discs. So NO CUSHIONING left in my spine. These Air Monarchs are the only Nike Air shoes that still provide enough AIR to act as a "SHOCK ABSORBER" to ALLEVIATE my HIP PAIN! I don't know why they reduced the amount of AIR cushioning in ALL of their other AIR shoes? Even these AIR MONARCHS DON'T HAVE AS MUCH AIR in them as they used to have! I wish they would go back to the way they used to make their AIR shoes! I have purchased these shoes once every 9 months since 1988, so the last 27 years! Over these last 4 years, sometimes Reebok will have the better shock absorbent shoe and I have to go with it instead. My husband also has to wear these due to his back injury. I worked in the food industry and used to recommend these "AIR's" to everyone. Last few years I haven't been able to convince people. You used to be able to just stick one foot in one shoe and stand on that foot and instantly tell a huge difference! Maybe they will stop experimenting and realize the way they used to make their AIR's was great and go back to making them that way again! I sure hope so because I can not walk without them!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

The most unreliable shoe ever!

, May 3, 2015
aberamati
,Lawrence, NY, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have used the older versions of this shoe in the past and really liked them. They offer real comfort for long distance walking, have look that blends almost anywhere, and they're made of leather, something that helps in rainy situations.
I was Very disappointed with this pair. A week after I took them out of the box I notice that the leather started to scratch off. The same happened to the soles. A month later the entire upper of the shoe started to peel off. Another month of use and the soles broke entirely apart from the shoes.
"
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Very Comfortable

, Apr 28, 2015
markg621
,Baltimore, MD, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I have had numerous pairs of the Air Monarchs. They fit my feet great. It helps that they have these in wide sizes. I have had salesmen try and sell me other brands but none of them fit like these or feel as comfortable on my feet.
The only drawback on these is that they will start to squeak when you walk in them. It can happen at any time. I have had a pair start squeaking after about 3 weeks and others don't squeak for months but they all seem to squeak. It can be embarrassing because they do get loud. I wish Nike would look into this because it has made me want to try other brand shoes, but I can't find any that fit like these.
"
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Have bought these before, please keep them

, Apr 26, 2015
Anonymous
,Waterbury, VT, USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I like the sneakers from Nike, please keep them in stock"
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Shoes

, Apr 24, 2015
DOUGLAS
,West Palm Beach, FL
,
I Train primarily for:Football
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Be a Starter
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fits like a glove right out of the box. The only shoes I buy and so convieniant to buy online. I ordered two pairs within a week. Used one for work, one for training"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoe I've ever owned

, Apr 23, 2015
ConstanceHH
,Brooklyn, NY, USA
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've been wearing this shoe since my orthopedist said get a cross trainer thats durable. I've been wearing this since the style came out. I hope Nile never changes it.
Wears like iron under all kinds of abuse, and cleans up easily and quickly.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Monarch

, Apr 22, 2015
K.J.B.
,Little Rock, AR
,
I Train primarily for:Basketball
,
My Nike Training goal is to:Take Home a Championship
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased this shoe for work purposes and I'm totally satisfied. I do a lot of walking and this is the most comfortable shoe that I've had on my feet in a long time."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe!!!!!!!!

, Mar 15, 2015
Buckhunter88
,Urbana, OH 43078, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Shoe fit well, Very comfortable I wore these shoes all day at a trade show on concrete and no sore feet. Very good arch support."
0points
8of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

finally a magic FIX for these Monarchs :)

, Feb 5, 2015
FriendlyManitoba
"these shoes are awesome.
I have worn the different generations of Nike Monarchs for years.. but they always squeaked, made farting sounds.. etc..
they were basically embarrassing to wear in public.........
...which really sucks as they are the most comfortable, long lasting shoes ever! (I have tried other shoes/brands and always go back)
after years of throwing out good shoes I started returning them to NIKE under the warranty process. (FYI: they warranty any shoe for 2 YEARS from the date on the label in the shoe... AWESOME!!)
this was OK but it still took time.
months sometimes.. especially when they had inventory issues...
then I figured out the magic FIX!!!!!
i always thought the trouble was with the NIKE AIR pocket.. this is NOT the problem at all
what it is is actually an AIR POCKET that gets created BETWEEN the INSOLE and the shoe itself! ..
i don't know why this affects only this specific model of NIKE shoe.. every single generation of it.. and it has never been fixed... but I have my own fix now.
very simply this is the problem....
the insole is glued down to the shoe.. the glue wears out (likely with walking, sweating, etc) and air manages to sneak in wherever there is no glue contact anymore.. then with walking the air is pushed in/out all around.. making the sounds like whoopee cushion
NOW THE FIX!
pull out the existing insole..
this is easier than it sounds.. remember it is glued.. so wherever the glue is holding you will need to PULLLLL!!
once you remove the insole it will all make sense and you will see exactly which parts were no longer glued together just by looking at the bottom of the insole.
so.. two options.. glue the parts that are missing glue.. (I HAVE NEVER TRIED THIS)
or stop the parts with glue from sticking (VERY EASY)
simplest way.. BABY POWDER..
dump some baby powder in the shoe and replace the insole.. if it still makes noise, take it out and add some more powder cause the glue is still holding somewhere
THATS IT!!
dozens of my shoes wasted that could have been fixed and worn for much much longer with PRIDE :)
GOOD LUCK!!!
(one more thing..
I have thought of using BAKING SODA instead of baby powder but have not had a chance to try it.
it may work like magic to remove any foot odor same as it works in fridges.. just a thought)"
+13points
26of 39voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byTirtzah
,NC
onJun 23, 2015
Yes, you are right, as to how to "FIX" the "squeaky" sound once that "squeak" starts. However...you were also correct about the "AIR POCKET"! As you know, when you first try on the shoe, it does NOT make that "squeak". It happens after some time has passed. I have read reviews here today that some it happens to after 3 weeks. I have been wearing a Nike "AIR" shoes since my back surgery in 1988. The "AIR POCKET" used to last from 9 months to a year before that "POCKET" would burst, letting out the encased trapped "AIR"! Now mine average 4 to 5 months! Also the amount of "AIR CUSHION" is not as much as they used to encase in the "AIR POCKETS"! So now I would rate the "SHOCK ABSORBENCY" at only 35%, instead of the 60% they used to absorb! (I wish they'd go back to the old way of making ALL of the "AIR's", instead of just the Monarch's now)! Anyway, what CAUSES that "squeak" is the "AIR POCKET" busts and lets the "encased" AIR out...This AIR has no where to go except it gets trapped between inside the shoe sole and under the "INSOLE"....as the glue begins to separate, it allows this air to get squished out from under the insole into where your foot is and is what we are hearing in that "squeak"! I did not know about the 2 year guarantee though! I will certainly contact them with this last pair as this time is the first time that the "AIR"----"SQUISHED OUT" and now "SQUEEKS" in ONLY just barely 4 months this time!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Long time Monacch wearer

, Jan 16, 2015
chipslip
,Milford, MA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"My wife started wearing the Monarch about 10 years ago. Previously she had continual problems with her feet. Her doctor suggested that she try a mens shoe in a wide size. She chose the Monarch wide and her foot problems were cured. I tried the Monarch also and liked it. We have been wearing them ever since."
-8points
9of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

What the heck?

, Jan 13, 2015
avrz10
,Indianapolis
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have worn these for years, the new shoes start squeaking after a short time. Nike shame on you for continuing to put out something like this. Why ruin your reputation, fix the stupid squeaking issue. Look on the internet, youtube posts, forums."
+12points
18of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 166 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Squeakers not Sneakers

, Dec 14, 2014
JeffWearingSneakers
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are incredibly comfortable for running. As many of you know, they have a big squeaking problem. The solution is to turn up the volume on your headphones. Problem solved."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comDec 16, 2014
Blasting good music can really get you going on your run; however, if that squeak gets to be a little too much for you to handle, don't hesitate to reach out to our Nike.com team to discuss your options. We can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4a-11p PT, daily).
-7points
7of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>