Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe

Overall rating:
3.129 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 140 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
21
1 Star
38
52 out of 8859%of reviewers recommend this product
CUSHIONED COMFORT AND DURABLE SUPPORTThe Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe delivers lightweight cushioning and durable support with a Phylon midsole and a leather upper Flex grooves provide natural flexibility with every stepBenefitsLeather upper for durability and supportPhylon midsole with fulllength AirSole unit for lightweight cushioningMultipattern rubber outsole for durability and multisurface tractionFlex160grooves for enhanced flexibility and a smooth efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Durable

, Sep 28, 2014
Anonymous
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"My brother is in a wheel chair and these shoes are comfortable, durable, and good looking. He is able to learn to walk with them because the soles grip very well."
+2points
6of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Confortable

, Sep 22, 2014
oldtreker
,Long Island, New York, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Retired six months ago and bought these since I do lots of walking. Tried several Nike's from their outlets but they didn't have any full sole air shoes there. The full sole airs are much more comfy, and flexible. Haven't had any squeaking issues. My only complaint is on the exterior of both shoes on the right side of the left shoe and the left side of the right shoe they are turning a light blue color. Its not on the leather part but rather on the sides of the soles. Just curious if anyone has had this happen?
PS I don't wear jeans.
"
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

nice shoe

, Aug 20, 2014
prodigal1012
,Houston, TX, USA
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a nice comfortable shoe. I bought them primarily for use on my job as I am on my feet nearly the whole time, lifting, carrying, pushing and pulling loads, etc. Go figure, a workout shoe excelling when working on a job!
My only issue with them is with the sizing. My size has always been an 8, with a somewhat narrow foot, but I had to get a size 9 extra wide! My advice is to join up and become a 'member'. The free returns policy allowed me to make the needed adjustment to get a proper fit. It also allowed me to interact with the very knowledgeable and helpful help desk personnel, who probably preserved me as a customer going forward. Good job guys!
"
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

UNCOMFORTABLE

, Aug 2, 2014
hatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"Purchased a couple weeks ago for work. Have worn the shoes to try to break them in. The shoe platform I have no problem with it is the insole.THERE IS NONE! They have no cushion at all I mean NONE. They state full length air. What does that mean? Mine rarely squeak but maybe I do not hear the squeak because the soles of my feat are screaming at me. I have bought CHEAP shoes that feel better than this and these are only about two weeks old. ANY help or advise would be appreciated."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comAug 3, 2014
We're sorry to hear that these aren't working out for you. We want you to be comfortable and it sounds like that's not the case. So, to get you back on the right track, here some options for you to look into:

1. We recommend contacting the original retailer to discuss your options for a return/exchange.
2. To see if your product qualifies for return (if purchased from Nike.com), go to Nike.com and scroll to the bottom of the page. There, under Orders, you'll find Returns. Note, if you’re a registered Nike.com member, you’ll be eligible for free returns.

Hope this helps.
0points
9of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best

, Aug 1, 2014
mariota8
,Eugene, OR, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
"best shoe i have had, i work in a hospital, wonderful"
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great fit

, Jul 23, 2014
dawn8162
,Youngstown Ohio USA
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"It is very difficult for me to find shoes that don't cause me severe pain within minutes, but these shoes don't hurt me when I wear them. I absolutely love them."
-7points
1of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Always a favorite!!

, Jul 9, 2014
mjn0388
,Seaside Park, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Fit is perfect, comfortable and wears very durable. I wear these almost every day and they take a beating. Great support and comfort at the same time."
+2points
7of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byhatnpat
,Rocky Point, NC
onAug 2, 2014
Good fit, very uncomfortable! I must have a bad pair NO CUSHION....and I mean NO CUSHION!
+1point
3of 5voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 28 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Wonderful Shoe

, Jun 28, 2014
mnash358
,Pearland, TX, USA
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have alot to say, but i am short on time. I love the shoe. This is my fourth or fifth pair of Air Monarchs. I wear them for walking/running. My current pair is the black ones, but I did not like them from the start. I normally buy the white, red, and black ones. I just bought a new pair today. I run on the outside of my feet. I think it is over-pronate or supinate.... Whatever the term, but the outside of my feet especially my left foot really hurts. I did not have that issue with the white, red, and black ones; so I bought another pair today. I have also bought these shoes for family and friends who have started fitness routines to help support them in their fitness goals. Awesome shoe!!!! I do admit that the Air Zoom Structure 17s look interesting. I might try them on my next purchase. Hopefully, the price will drop for us poor people. lol... Until then, these shoes are excellent! Good luck...."
+4points
9of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love this shoe

, Jun 26, 2014
COkid69
,Parker, CO, USA
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe! These are one of the most comfortable and highly durable pair of shoes."
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoes and how to fix squeak

, May 25, 2014
wyonts
,raleigh nc
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've had several pairs of the Monarchs. I'm 6'5" with a rather small foot. Size 12 and they fit great. They do have a tendency to squeak badly. I fixed the squeak by removing the insole and dumping powder in and then inserting the insole. After 24 hrs of wear the squeak is gone."
+6points
12of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, May 25, 2014
intimidator3fan
,Montgomery, AL, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"was skeptical about this shoe after reading the reviews. decided to give them a try. very glad i did. i read about the sound they make but have had no problems with that. would highly recommend this shoe"
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted byquijibo1
,Albany, Or.
onJul 21, 2014
Comfortable when you first put them on, but after a few hours on my feet they start to hurt...sound like a frog also when walking, way too noisy....would not recommend for 65 dollars
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 32 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

"Talking Shoes"

, May 7, 2014
911RN
,Middleton, ID
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I purchased these shoes for my husband a year ago since these have been his favorites for years; he can barely stand to wear them as they started to squeak days after he started wearing them. We were about to purchase another pair but I now see from other reviews that this problem is not exclusive to his shoes alone. I would think that Nike could do a better job than this."
+12points
16of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeaky sneakers

, Apr 28, 2014
vmccabe
,Harrisburg, PA, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased 3 air monarch type shoes. One pair last Christma(2012), one pair over the summer and the last pair around this Christmas(2013) each time with in a few days of purchace the shoes squeaked, and continured squeaking the entire time they were worn."
Response from NikeBy Nike.comApr 30, 2014
Nobody likes noisey shoes so we get where you're coming from. We do have some options you can pursue so that you're not stuck with these, though:

1. Give the original retailer a shout and talk about your return/exchange options there.
2. If you don't have any luck or if you purchased them online, check out Nikeclaims.com. That site has all the info you'll need to setup a claim for your kicks.

Lastly, if you'd rather talk over the phone, give our team a call at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily) and we'll go from there. Deal?
+3points
11of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Pain free walking!

, Apr 27, 2014
SoreToe
,Nebraska
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
very wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I have a Morton's neuroma and the Monarch is the ONLY shoe I have found that lets me walk pain free. I originally bought them for walking because they're so comfortable. I just bought two more pair just in case they are discontinued. I wear them everyday."
-3points
4of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

air monarch

, Apr 5, 2014
Anonymous
,Southern California
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is actually the only sneaker i can wear because of the 4e wide width to soothe ankle arthiritis and swelling and low back and leg pain."
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Can't sneak up on ANYBODY!!!

, Apr 2, 2014
WSBillP
,Western NY
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"C'mon Nike...90% of the feedback on this shoe is squeak related...what is your official position on this ?...Talc powder ?....really ?......just FIX it!!!"
+7points
17of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

squeakers

, Mar 30, 2014
MICHAEL
,California
"I purchased three pairs of Air Monarchs for work and play. They are comfortabe, but all three squeak. I've sent in two pair for warranty already. I tried one more pair for work, because comfortable black shoes are hard to come by. My next voucher I'm just going to get some skayeboard shoes and be done with the Monarchs."
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not Comfortable, tripping hazard

, Mar 9, 2014
GERUSSE
,PA
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These Monarch Air are not comfortable. They hurt at the top of the heel portion. Most importantly is the sole extends too far at the heel and I trip going down stairs."
Response from NikeBy NikeConsumer ServiceMar 10, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on here and we'll definitely pass your feedback along. As for your shoes, have you tried contacting the original retailer to discuss your options? If not, we recommend giving that a shot. Also, if you'd prefer to talk to us over the phone, we can be reached at 1-800-806-6453 (4am-11pm PT, daily).
-12points
4of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
1 Comments
Customer avatar
Posted bymphemh
,High Desert California
onMay 8, 2014
why should we contact the retailer your the one that made the shoe. just make the shoe right.
+7points
8of 9voted this comment as helpful.
1 Comments
Read comment (1)
Review 39 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
This review is fromNike Air Monarch IV (Extra-Wide) Men's Training Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

This shoe stays comfortable for a long time.

, Mar 8, 2014
Wmh
,Penn Run, PA 15765, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been buying these shoes a long time. They also last a long time making them a great value. I like these shoes because they come in a solid black color and are available in 4E width. I have bad feet and my foot doctor said these shoes are "good and solid", and they would be a good shoe to keep wearing. I have a Sunday pair I keep clean to wear to Church, and a everyday pair."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Nike Air Monarch IV Men's Training Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

It's a Squeaker

, Feb 9, 2014
MarkRip
,Stafford, VA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
"I am so disappointed in this shoe. It squeaks so bad, nothing seems to help them. This is a shame, cause Nike was the only brand I wear, that fits well, and this Monarch was one the few that is all black, which is great as casual wear, but this squeaking I just can't stand it any longer. I've only had this shoe for two months and there is so much wear left in the shoe, but I can't stand the squeaking. I have doubts now that I'll ever buy another pair of Nike's. DO NOT BUY THIS SHOE, YOU'LL REGRET IT."
+12points
25of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>