Customer reviews for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.857 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
After extensive research and testing,the Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe emerges, delivering dynamic support, superior cushioning and a great ride in an ultra-lightweight package.Considered Design for high performance and low environmental impactNike+ enabled for instant workout feedback when used with a Nike+ SportBand or iPod#174; nano and Nike + iPod Sport KitMesh upper with synthetic overlays for long-run supportPartial bootie construction for long-lasting comfortLunarLite plate form at midsole for ultra-lightweight cushioning and adaptive supportRubber outsole with deep flex-grooves for flexibility and traction
Customer reviews for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Distance Running Shoe

, Oct 26, 2009
MarkC1976
,Cedar Park, TX, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I went to the store with the intention of buying the Lunarglide+, but after trying on the Run Avant, I was pleasantly surprised by the comfy fit and design. Very lightweight and supportive of my high arch. No complaints here. Less expensive than the Lunarglide too. I bought the grey/red style, and just ordered a second pair in black/grey because good running shoes are hard to come by and it can be difficult to replace discontinued or old style shoes. Currently training for a marathon and these shoes will do the job."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Present for Son

, Dec 1, 2009
Bodhi34
,Blythe, CA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These were a gift to my High School Freshman son. He refused to wear running shoes for years. They are his first real running shoes and he loves them. He says they are so light that he wishes he had let me buy him running shoes before. He has increased his 400m time by eight seconds the first day out (63 seconds to 55 seconds)."
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

GREAT shoe

, Nov 29, 2009
Brownballer
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a fabulous shoe. I bought one from the store I worked at, just as a working out kinda shoe, but these changed my mind on shoes. They are so lightweight, look nice, and breathable. I would recommened this shoe to anyone."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Runner

, Nov 21, 2009
DashingDan
,Truro, UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"These Trainers are so comfortable for running in, only down fall is stones get stuck in the cut out in the sole if you run a gravel. Otherwise TOP TRAINERS"
NikeEmea
Review 5 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best of the Best

, Nov 13, 2009
dmez21
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I had been running in my Nike+ Shox but there is no compairon between the two. the avants are lighter, much more cushoned and fit so much better. i wore 11.5 in the shox because of my wider foot but In the avants I am wearing an 11 because the run a little wider and stretch out. Amazing running shoes! i am leaving durability just over a bit towards durable. I have only had them a month."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Good

, Nov 3, 2009
mrtk21
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very light and comfortable shoe great support. This shoe is why I love Nike. After a few days to break in the cushoning lovley fit. Feels like I am barefooted. Shoe strings need to be doulble tied which is only negative."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

BEST RUNNING SHOES EVER.THANKS NIKE

, Oct 28, 2009
jc1surfer
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"BUY THIS SHOE.!! i've gone through many different pairs of running shoes and today was my fist day in these, and i must say, i am in LOVE...Super light and it grabs the road on each stride, like i am barefoot.
the only problem is, i'm already having a hard time trying to decide what color should i order my 2nd pair in. They all look and feel AWESOME. THANKS NIKE for the price and comfort of this shoe, cant go wrong. definitely owning more.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Light, springy, and FAST

, Oct 15, 2009
Ben-Jr
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I was first contemplating the purchase of the Lunar Glides before I tried these shoes. What initially swayed me to the Avants were the price, but I soon found out that they offer great performance per dollar value - extremely light, more than adequate cushioning for a flat footer such as myself, and mileage durability over roads and/or trails. As an over pronator, they provide sufficient support, making it easy on the knees, arches, and hamstrings over long runs. In addition, their light weight offers excellent response for speed and tempo training runs. Since then, I have purchased more pairs specifically for training and racing purposes. That said, I highly recommend these shoes."
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

TOP - BEST FOR RUNNING!

, Oct 12, 2009
pdrmartins
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are the perfect choice for running and training! Very Confortable and excellent performance! And the Price is very good!"
NikeEmea
Review 10 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Shoe

, Oct 7, 2009
jhshaff
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is lightweight and has excellent support. I usually buy size 10 but purchased size 10.5 in this shoe. The shoe has a great fit - no blisters out of the box. I purchased it with the Nike+ SportBand and the combination of recording runs online and this shoe have increased my motivation to run. You won't be disappointed in this product."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Excellent !!!

, Oct 2, 2009
JacksonShredder
,UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Had this shoe for a while and all I can say is excellent. Light, comfortable and excellent grip. I've had shox before and although these may not have as fancy looks they out perform them is all areas especailly price. I just hope Nike restock with my size as I would certainly buy another pair!"
NikeEmea
Review 12 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love it

, Sep 26, 2009
pangi
,NETHERLANDS
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Nice combination of lightness and stability. The cushioning is just right and not too soft or wobly."
NikeEmea
Review 13 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

ShonBurt

, Sep 14, 2009
ShonBurt
,Oceanside, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I run about 10 miles a week. This shoe is outstanding for a person with flat feet."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing

, Sep 11, 2009
MooCrew52
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Excellent cushioning, extremely light, and fits my fat foot nicely. This shoe has helped my running efforts immensely."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Gret shoes

, Aug 20, 2009
impulsegt
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are light , supportive and flexible. I love them!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

New Favorite Running Shoe!!

, Aug 18, 2009
lstall
,Milton, WI, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love these shoes!! Very comfortable and lightweight. Plenty of cusioning, but not overly soft. Just enough support for my mild over-pronation. The fit is great: nice and snug in the mid-foot and heel, but roomy enough toe box for my wider-than-average feet (unlike a lot of other Nike models), without being sloppy. The low heel is great for my mid-foot striking gait. No rubbing, no hot-spots, well constructed and finished shoe. My only complaint is the laces. I had to triple knot them tightly to keep them tied.
The store I got them at, only had the grey-orange (way too bright for me) and silver-black, so I got the latter. Not thrilled by either color, but I see other choices here, so may get next pair direct from Nike.
Please don't change or discontinue this shoe!!!"
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing

, Aug 14, 2009
runnercass
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a moderate runner. Probably 5 miles a day. I usually have shin splints and soreness in my feet after each run. I purchased these shoes and I am very flat footed, but these are the first pair of shoes that didn't matter with. Amazing support, super light weight and probably the best running shoes I have ever purchased without a doubt."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Light and comfortable.

, Aug 14, 2009
Frank00
,Clawson, MI, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"The shoes are very comfortable. I was looking for as much cushion as I could get in this price range. They also have decent arch support. I tried these side by side with about 20 other shoes in this price range and couldn't beat the fit, comfort and cushioning. The upper is basically like a glove on your feet with a little wiggle room in the forefoot (good for long runs).
I wanted these even more when my girls told me they were ugly. I love the colors. The orange is almost flourescent. Much brighter than the picture on this site."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Another great new Nike shoe

, Aug 10, 2009
babydoctoral
,Coral Springs, FL, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I recently started running in the LunarGlides, which I think are a phenomenal shoe and have raved about elsewhere on this site. I then came across the Run Avants at Foot Locker, and did not expect them at all. While the Glides have been promoted quite a bit, the Run Avants have not been up until now.
They have a very similar feel and fit to the Glides, except they are about an ounce or so lighter. They provide wonderful cushioning, but are not too soft, with great spring to them. The Run Avants are finished very well, are extremely comfortable with a wide toe box like the Glides, but seem to be more of a performance type shoe, especially for longer races, such as half marathons and above. They are, however, one of the first shoes that I have ever truly felt were as perfectly suited for racing as they are for daily training. If racing is part of your agenda and you don't particularly like racing shoes, Run Avants need some serious consideration. They are simply one great running shoe from Nike."
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Run Avant+ Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 21 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Nike shoe

, Aug 10, 2009
pike14
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
very large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This iw easily my new favorite shoe. I know all the hype is on the new Lunar Glide, and I know it's probably a great shoe, but I'm more of a superlightweight shoe guy. I tried on both the Glide and the Run Avant and choose this shoe as it simply felt like less shoe. I have been a big fan of the Free shoes, so the less the better for me. I alternate these with my Nike Free 3.0's. Please don't discontinue this shoe EVER!"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>