Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
The Nike Free 3.0 v2: Barefoot-like fit and feelThe lightweight Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe offers the extraordinary feel and natural movement of barefoot training#8212;without sacrificing support, cushioning, underfoot protection or traction. BenefitsSeamless, one-piece mesh upper for comfort and breathability Soft foam inserts under the forefoot and heel for cushioningDeep Nike Free flex grooves for enhanced flexibility and stabilityWeight: 6.0 oz (women's size 8)FitThe breathable, seam-free mesh upper of the Nike Free 3.0 v2 is designed to reduce irritation that can be caused by chafing. It also enhances flexibility and provides a barefoot-like fit and feel. Minimalist, no-sew overlays add seam-free support while allowing the foot to move in a barefoot-like way, and a molded sockliner mimics the natural curve of the foot for great fit, comfort and support.FlexibilityDeep Nike Free flex grooves on the outsole allow the foot to flex more naturally. For muscle activation and a more barefoot-like run, the Free 3.0 v2 also features wider flex grooves across the forefoot. Additional DetailsPhylite midsole for durability, a resilient ride and reduced overall weightDurable rubber outsole with Waffle pattern for traction
Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike's Best Free

, Jun 8, 2011
theboydens
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Closest thing I've found to the discontinued 7.0 IV Free Trainer (my personal "no pain" favorite running shoe of all time!
I run 36-70 miles a week, and I'm liking this shoe. I have several versions of the Nike Free and after trying them all, this is the one I'll be using the most.
NOTE: I take out the insole (of all my running shoes, not just this one) Fit is great. Flexibility is nice. The upper part of the shoe has nice stability with extra on the toe, which is nice. I also like a runner with flexibility in the heel, which this one has. Miss the lacing of the 7.0 IV, but I'm really picky when it comes to lacing. Overall great shoe."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Nice light running shoe...

, Nov 4, 2010
LynnAA
,Newark, DE, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I bought the shoe because I wanted to transition to barefoot and my feet weren't very accepting of other minimal shoes. I really like the lightness of the shoe and have had no foot problems with the shoe. It "runs" so quietly, while it seems others go clumping along and I've had complements on the style.
I had to buy a whole size up for it to fit (wear 6.5 bought a 7.5) and now with cold weather, I'm debating whether I should go up another half size for thicker socks. Even up a size the shoe is a little narrow. I wish Nike would make their toe boxes a teeny bit wider and the shoe would be be absolutely perfect.
I agree with another reviewer about stones and sticks getting caught in the groves. It can be annoying, but it is a minor thing."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Pure Awesomeness

, Sep 12, 2011
lesnla
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"1) I threw away all of my other running shoes. Goodbye Pegasus. May we never meet again.
2) I swear I run faster. If I don't, I think I do, I feel like I do, and that's what matters.
3) Shin splints: gone. Bursitis: gone. Wierd aches and pains: gone. Well, when I first transitioned to the Free's, wow. Muscles hurt I didn't even know existed! But now, there is no pain at all. Now, I feel nothing but my muscles working through each mile, which is pure pleasure.
Now, Pegasus, let's discuss why it is that with you I got Bursitis, Shin splints, and various mystery aches and pains shall we?
Lastly, 1 neg: I am afraid to run with them here in the northeast in the winter- I'm sure I'll tear them to bits. I am considering getting a minimalist trail runner to alternate with in incliment weather, so I can save my Free's. Nike? What about a "Free Trail"?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
1.0 / 5
1.0 / 5

Not as good as the original

, Aug 14, 2011
JOY PADAYHAG
,SACRAMENTO, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
very small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I don't care for these shoes at all. I've worn my original Nike Free's into the ground, and unfortunatley Nike no longer makes them in the original cut. These are way too narrow now, and they no longer feel as stable as my other pair. Today is my first day wearing them around, and I was hoping to run in them, but I'm concerned this newer shallow toe box will irritate my toes like they are currently irritating the sides of my feet.
Any chance I can still return these? Any chance they will once again make these with a wider base and toe box as opposed to his ballerina shoe I ended up with? For the record, I did buy a half size bigger than I normally do."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AWESOME

, Jun 4, 2011
crystall
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"these are the best shoes ever. these are the only shoes i have ever bought were i didnt need new insoles to minimize the hurt in my shins and feet while running. i feel NO PAIN with these shoes!!!! please dont ever stop making these shoes nike, these are the running shoes i will always buy!!!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

thumbs up

, May 16, 2011
neisie
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is my second pair, so I definately would recommed these for the minimalist runner. I purchased this in attempt to transition to barefoot running and I like them so much that I have not progressed in my transition. They are VERY comfortable without socks but I found that I personally like to use a thin sock so that I don't have to wash them often. The only improvement I might suggest is the tongue of the shoe is a bit long. The tongue design of the Nike 5.0 might be a bit more comfortable in this shoe. Good Job NIKE and happy running!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Lovee itt!

, May 5, 2011
katemh202
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"This shoe is so great! It is very good looking in any type of pants you wear and are most importantly comfortable!!! OMG! They feel like walking on clouds. I've been able to run in these shoes so much quicker that I now have beat my timed mile record by 20 seconds! I run about 3 miles a day....and I used to get really bad ankle pains and shin splints in my old running sneakers but now not any more! I've had them for 3 weeks now and I havn't noticed a thing wrong with them. I give them only a 4 because the "cushioning" is not as soft as I was expecting and for some reason my foot seems to slide to the creases of the shoe inside while running. 4/5 not bad :) I highly recommend this shoe for runners who want to stay in shape."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best fit Ever

, Apr 14, 2011
MadForHats
,Aylesbury. Bucks, UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love these shoes. After time out from an operation to the hip. (arthroscopy) and getting back to fitness. I wanted somthing light on the foot. I also always find one part of a shoe rubs somewhere.
Not these though! I love the feel of these, when walking and using the treadmil. Next step, small runs!!!
If your feet arn't wide then these will be a perfect fit.
"
NikeEmea
Review 9 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The shoe that's right for you!

, Apr 4, 2011
Lucy Hilgendorf
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These shoes i fell in love with triing on in my local shoe store, because i felt as if i wasnt even wearing shoes at all. i have sensitive feet because i have a high arch and my feet are narrow so these shoes were just right because they werent too firm.
If you want a flexible lightweight shoe these are the right ones for you!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

superduper!

, Apr 1, 2011
disney.girl
,camas, WA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are my absoloute favorite shoes. They are so lightweight that i thought the box was empty before i opened it. I am one hundered and one percent satisfied with this product. They are so comfortable and I will never buy any other running shoes. BUY THEM!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

More than a running shoe

, Mar 31, 2011
chocolatemaj
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"This is a great shoe. Not only performs as a running shoe, but gives me great support and flexibility when I'm helping my husband with his physical rehab. My ankles and toes can flex and grab and turn on a dime. Don't change this shoe."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AHHH!!! I'M IN LOVE!!!!

, Mar 25, 2011
agentile322
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I was looking for a shoe that would be comfotable for long miles and since my foot doesn't have a big arch, cushioned shoes can start to hurt. Right now i run around 16 miles a week, and increasing ea. week, and while i thought i had good sneakers- my feet have really gotten the best of me! These are a God send, I've never experienced such a flexible shoe! Its crazy!!! I'M IN LOVE!!!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The best running shoes!

, Mar 21, 2011
LS
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I really enjoy these running shoes. They seem to run true to size, and I really didn't feel like I needed to wear them in. They do get small stones stuck in the soles, but it rarely effects my run, and stones are easy to remove afterwards by bending the shoe.
I rated these shoes lower on durability as the light structure seems to succumb to a lot of wear (which they get as they are so comfortable!) however the 3.0 Frees are great for a natural stride, light weight and comfort. Definitely a favorite - keep making them Nike!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Runner

, Sep 13, 2010
KoaBalboa
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Love running in it. Use it for High School Cross Country. Very light but small pebbles and rocks tend to get stuck between the ridges and segments of the sole. Tongue has an added cushion for comfort but this seems to be very bothersome instead. I have wide feet and this fit just right. Did not need to break it in"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great shoe

, Aug 26, 2010
jlomb
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've run in Nikes for years, but after training for a half marathon and having foot pain in every shoe I tried (my arches and the balls of my feet were killing me on every run) I thought I'd give these a shot. Happy to report, they completely did away with the foot pain- I'm a convert! Felt like they also helped with stride, on the first couple of runs I definitely felt my hamstrings and calves working more than usual for a flat run, but you get used to that pretty quickly.
Only (small) complaint: the laces refuse to stay tied. You pretty much have to double-knot. Other than that, these are fantastic shoes and I'll be replacing my current pair with the latest incarnation soon!
"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

good shoes but

, Aug 16, 2010
ukeva
,BOCA RATON, FL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
very small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoes are very comfortable but the size is minimum half size smaller. I wear size 5 and bought 5.5 but still small."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Almost there Nike!!

, Jun 22, 2010
Running Barefoot
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought these Frees because I jumped on the barefoot running bandwagon. I bought the popular toe shoes and I ended up with a ton of blisters on the pads of my feet and big toes. I thought, why not get a transitional pair of shoes? Here's my analysis:
Good side: These are a good transition shoe if you're looking to go from regular shoes to barefoot/minimalist. The heel is lower than you find on most running shoes so it interferes with your gait less than the average shoe. They are also padded enough on the inside that I don't get blisters as I did with the toe shoes
Down side: the heel still isn't low enough if you're looking to go minimalist. While it doesn't force you into a heel strike gait like most shoes, I can still feel the heel of the shoe hit the ground before I want it to.
Bottom line: If you're looking for a "barefoot" shoe, this isn't it. If you want to use it to transition from regular shoes to barefoot /minimalist, it's a good shoe to buy.
Nike - here's my challenge to you: MAKE A LEGITIMATE MINIMALIST RUNNING SHOE!!! The "toe shoe company" has shown you there's a serious market out there for this. Lose the arch support or at least make it removable, and make the sole flat - no wedge! I want the heel the same height as the pad of my foot. If you do this, I'll buy Nike Frees forever. They're comfortable and they protect your feet from glass/twigs/etc. A few more changes, and I will be able to run completely uninhibited. Thanks for listening."
+50points
53of 56voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Good shoe for the (reduced) price

, Jun 3, 2010
laurenlit82
,UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I have been running at least five times per week for a year now and although I should have gone through a couple of pairs of trainers in that time, these are the first new pair I have bought.
To be honest I haven't experienced a big difference between these and my old pair. They are a good fit for sure and very very comfortable from the first time you put them on which is always a bonus. The tech stuff is maybe a bit of a nonsense though, the niggles I have are still there and I seem to run the same as I did before. I would say they allow your foot to spread, that is quite noticable, the mesh top over the foot is not restricting whatsoever. Some people may like this, some may not.
All in all they are I great shoe though, so light and breathable for the summer, no good in the wet weather.
"
NikeEmea
Review 19 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

nike free 3.0 II- amazing

, May 18, 2010
Colaz33
,UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Just recieved my Nike free 3.0 II's yesterday. Before i opened the box, i thought they had sent me the wrong item because the parcel seemed far too light to me. That is how light this trainer is. It's appearance looks identical to the image shown. Very thin material so that your feet can breath, and exremely comfortable, the best trainer i have ever bought.
I was worried about the size being right, because some reviews had said they come up small. however, i didn't find this myself, they fit perfectly.
The only minor negatives for me:
- I am quite flat footed and this trainer doesn't give that much support.
- Not great in wet weather, as the material isn't waterproof and is quite thin.
Other than that, great trainer that i would recommend to all.
"
NikeEmea
Review 20 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Women's Running Shoe
Overall rating 29 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoes ever

, May 9, 2010
sandrunner
,pompano beach, FL, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The shoes are lightweight and treat your feet to a true running sensation. No need for overdone shoes with supposed bells and whistles for support and cushion. This is the only shoe you need. Nike please continue to make them."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>