Customer reviews for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 115 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
The Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe emphasizes natural foot movement while delivering an extraordinary feel, combined with the cushioning, traction and underfoot protection of a shoe. Updates to this version of the Free 5.0 make it even better for runners who want to reap the benefits of barefoot training. A new tongue design reduces pressure over the top of the foot while adding support by wrapping up around the medial arch. And soft, microfiber synthetic overlays are bonded wherever possible to minimize stitching and maximize comfort. Overlays balance the fit, durability and support of a shoe with the dynamic flexibility of the foot Molded sockliner mimics the natural curve of the foot for a great fit, comfort and support Soft foam inserts under the forefoot and heel for added cushioning Phylite midsole for durability, a resilient ride and reduced overall weight Deep Nike Free sipes for enhanced flexibility and stability Wider sipes across the forefoot for muscle activation and a more barefoot-like experience Strategic placement of multiple types of rubber and Waffle traction pattern for durability, proprioceptive feedback and a smooth, sure-footed stride from heel-strike to toe-off Weight: 8.2 ounces (men's size 9)
Customer reviews for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 81 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great Sprint Training Shoe

, Jul 18, 2009
applecrissp01
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is by far the best in terms of sprint training; because it does not give much support, you're forced to strike the ground correctly and efficiently. Also it is lightweight and comfortable. I am a sprinter/Triple Jumper and these shoes also work well in plyometric exercises, strengthening your feet in more than just running. They're excellent shoes for speed work and snug-fitting like spikes. The durability from the first models was very poor, but this one does not seem to be wearing away as quickly. GREAT shoe. I've been using Frees for 5 years."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 82 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Versatile Shoe.

, Jul 13, 2009
ComboWorkouts
,Livermore, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"This is the best shoe that I have tried for years. Corrected chronic issues I've had with calf pain and back stiffness.
Ran track sprints before the weekend. 10k during the weekend. And I think threw in some Olympic lifting in the middle and had no issues.
And of late I've had issues with every run.
Today jumped rope, shadow boxed, and rowed in the morn and ran a quick 5k for lunch. No issues.
Am trying Chi and Pose methods on running. This shoe is probably not as minimal as they would recommend but worked great for me. Pose in normal shoes just didn't work and probably added to calf pain. With these I get the kinesthetic awareness of foot placement so not rolling forward too much.
My only suggestion is since this is supposed to mimic barefoot training, the footbed should be wider. Since I've had such great results this is probably just quibbling.
Also would suggest a trail version as probably not enough protection for rocky areas.
Went out and bought a pair for the wife and she is having great results as well. Whoever designed this and got into production, I owe you a beer. Cheers!
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 83 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

I Love Running Again

, Jul 13, 2009
tim dodge
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I have been running in Nike Free 5.0s for almost three years. Bottom line is that these shoes make me love running again every time I wear them.
My running style: Quick heel strike, 6:30 pace, 4-10 miles.
My foot: Narrow with moderate arch.
The Free soles make this shoe. The flexibility and sensitivity of the sole (you can really feel the surface you are running on) make it seem like you are running barefoot with cushioning. Not too much cushioning though, just the right amount. I grew up near the beach, doing a lot of dry sand running as a teenager. No, these shoes don't feel like the beach, but they remind me a little of how that felt... foot flexing, ankles working.
The shoes are highly breathable. They are light. And they don't have much (any?) stabilization to hinder your stride. If you've got good form and you're biomechanically sound then you should consider rocking a pair.
Highly recommeneded: I am on my 5th or 6th pair at this point."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 84 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My new favorite shoes

, Jul 11, 2009
getlooseonthegoose24
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are the lightest shoes i think i have ever had. good fit, super comfortable, almost dont know you are wearing them. the best part is they look really good, i have actually gotten complements both in and out of the gym. I just ran a 5k in them, it was outdoors with a mix of asphalt and grass fields - not one problem with my feet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 85 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Greatest Shoes Ever!

, Jul 4, 2009
Billhornung
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I don't run in these, but I do wear them around. My feet are building so much strength with these shoes. It really helps the finishing kick at the end of the race when you need that power. Very light, very fun and pretty cool looking too!"
-5points
3of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 86 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

amazing

, Jul 2, 2009
nickeaddict
,Marana, AZ, USA
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i just got these shoes and there amazing most shoes hurt my feet but these dont ill tell all my friend about them i loves these shoes"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 87 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Comfy and Lightweight.

, Jul 1, 2009
danvolkov
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
very small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Wow. First time in month that I ran without shin splints.
Very lightweight and comfortable. A little tight.
A shame that they dont have them in wide. My size is 7 wide. So I got these in 7.5 regular. Still a little tight.
From now on I will only run in these shoes.
I will definitely get another pair.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 88 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

PERFECT!!!

, Jun 26, 2009
jwaynejr
,Winder, GA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are exactly what I was looking for. Went for a quick 2 miles yesterday and it felt effortless. Usually wear a size 11.5 or 12 in Nikes but the 11 fits great without socks. I could not be happier with my purchase."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 89 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Walker

, Jun 22, 2009
debmississippi
,Jackson, MS, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"I got the mens red because the other color I wanted didn't come in my size or I should say weren't available at the time. I LOVE these shoes. I am a walker and just did a Half Marathon in them. They were so comfortable. Beside the comfort everybody comments on my RED shoes."
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 90 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

have your shoes hugged you today?

, Jun 22, 2009
kidkinetic
,miami, FL, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"these shoes are the best ........i have the red ones and just ordered the black pair . these fit like a glove that's just how i like it......"
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 91 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

WOW

, Jun 22, 2009
Huskey2
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Wayyyyy comfy I would definitely buy another 10 pairs of these right now if I could afford it. If you're looking for comfort in running, these are definitely the way to go."
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 92 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very Nice Update

, Jun 22, 2009
Sigma
,Gainesville, FL, USA
"I just got these last week and love them. I had the first version of these which ripped at the heel on both shoes (and Nike sent me a check to replace them). The designers have deifinetly taken care of that problem with this version. These are very comfortable. Only using these for speed work though since I have very flat feet and also use them in the gym for strength training. The off-center lacing took a little to get use to but love the shoe otherwise. Great job Nike."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 93 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love E'm

, Jun 15, 2009
free runner
,USA
"Since this years 3.0's are unwearable I have switched to these 5.0 V4's/. They are great. Best 5.0's to date. Just wish NIke could of made the 3.0's as good as these... Highly recommend these 5.0 V4."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 94 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

NIKE FREE'S RULE!

, Jun 13, 2009
cougar1234567890
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"THESE SHOES ARE THE MOST COMFORTABLE SHOES I HAVE EVER HAD IN MY LIFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! this shoe has great arch support and it it fits like a glov. it runs really small though. i am addicted to nike free"s . ALL AROUND GREAT SHOE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 95 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Good Stuff

, Jun 12, 2009
matthewmattio
,orange park, FL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Looked at many different light weight shoes that would give me the experience of being shoeless. I found it with 5.0 walked about 5 miles in them to break them in seem to work well. Great shoe would recommend to everyone. Thanks Nike!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 96 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

EXCELLENT

, Jun 10, 2009
Higgs
,summit hill, PA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"i have "shox", i have "air", i have "shox" AND "air".....these 5.0s are THE MOST COMFORTABLE SNEAKER I HAVE EVER TRIED! i bought my wife a pair immediately after trying mine on! unsure of durability, i only wear them to train,so far-so good tho.....i have some nikeid free trainers for daily wear........."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 97 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Free 5.0

, Jun 9, 2009
Rosemary
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"My son loves this sneaker, they are very lightweight and comfortable"
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 98 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome shoe

, Jun 8, 2009
glfpro
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I am new to running (as a sport!) and I researched these shoes and dug the idea. I usually wear a narrow shoe, but these fit me great. I actually prefer to wear them without socks. Despite a couple of other posts, I have not had any problems without socks. I started out wearing them around the house and running errands but now I run in them a couple of times a week. I can feel the muscles in my feet getting a little more fatigue and also getting a little stronger. I highly recommend these if you use as directed."
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 99 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Free is great!

, Jun 8, 2009
fusion31003
,Hilliard, OH, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Most shoes take a while to break in but not these. I ordered them and they fit perfectly the first time. I was at the gym within an hour; the green color is a little bright;. They are very comfortable and are good to work out in because they give your feet a better balance. more surface area. i highly recommend them."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 100 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

First True Running Shoe

, Jun 4, 2009
killer.tofu
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very comfortable! This is my second running shoe I've ever bought. My last shoe was with a different company and was horrible. This shoe, however, fits my foot perfectly. I feel the pavement with every step."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>