Customer reviews for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.574 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(115 reviews) 115
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 115 reviews
5 Stars
80
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
The Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe emphasizes natural foot movement while delivering an extraordinary feel, combined with the cushioning, traction and underfoot protection of a shoe. Updates to this version of the Free 5.0 make it even better for runners who want to reap the benefits of barefoot training. A new tongue design reduces pressure over the top of the foot while adding support by wrapping up around the medial arch. And soft, microfiber synthetic overlays are bonded wherever possible to minimize stitching and maximize comfort. Overlays balance the fit, durability and support of a shoe with the dynamic flexibility of the foot Molded sockliner mimics the natural curve of the foot for a great fit, comfort and support Soft foam inserts under the forefoot and heel for added cushioning Phylite midsole for durability, a resilient ride and reduced overall weight Deep Nike Free sipes for enhanced flexibility and stability Wider sipes across the forefoot for muscle activation and a more barefoot-like experience Strategic placement of multiple types of rubber and Waffle traction pattern for durability, proprioceptive feedback and a smooth, sure-footed stride from heel-strike to toe-off Weight: 8.2 ounces (men's size 9)
Customer reviews for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome Shoe

, Mar 5, 2010
Deeker D
,Lafayette, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have been running barefoot quite a lot recently, mainly on a track and mostly sprint work. With the cold wet weather it can be less than an enjoyable experience so I wanted to find a shoe that was lightweight and would let me "feel the road", as it were.
I found the Nike Free 5.0 on this site, read about it and the reviews of those who have tried it and decided to give them a try myself. I decided also to design my own shoe - this was very cool and easy to do. Love this whole Nike ID thing!
It took a few weeks for my design to be custom-made and shipped to me, but that was the expectation going into this and not a problem. I was updated regularly on the progress, which was cool and informed when they shipped.
They are brilliant! Exactly what I ordered. Running in them is a delight and I'm getting just what I wanted from them. Really, I couldn't be anymore pleased. That is except this:
They run about a half size small. From the reviews I read it sounded like they ran normal, but mine are tight. I can live with it and the next pair I buy (and I will buy another pair) will be a half-size larger."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome

, Feb 15, 2010
Justin Tong
,Wichita, KS, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Perfect shoes. It fits well and is really comfortable. It provides me the wonderfult spirit when I run."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Buy This Shoe!

, Oct 13, 2009
loweralabama
,Enterprise, AL, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"When I first put it on, the asymetrical tongue seemed weird. Then about 20 steps into the run, I turned to my running partner and said, "I can feel the technology. All shoes should be made like this." He thought I was being sarcastic, but seriously these are by far the best shoes I have ever run.
I had the free 3.0s before and loved those, but these fit better. I would guess they weigh one ounce more (size 11).
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

THE shoe for healthy Ultra running

, Jun 16, 2010
Kiwipaul
,UNITED KINGDOM
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"1500k on my 5.0 -> still fits like a glove. I don't wear socks in them (socks give me blisters because of restricted toe movement). The sole wears out, but is not a problem. I expect them to last at least another 1000k. Only annoying feature is removing the collection of pebbles from road chip or trails in the grooves of the sole after each run."
NikeEmea
Review 5 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoes, beside the blisters

, Apr 23, 2010
tommybunger
,DENMARK
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I must say that these are one of the most comfortable shoes i've tried. I ran 6 km the first time, and beside the two blisters they made (a problem i always have in the beginning), they are great to run in. They're really light weight and flexible, and the also expand with the foot.
I'm picking up running again, after a break at several years, and haven't regretted my purchase of these shoes."
NikeEmea
Review 6 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Apr 6, 2010
sshmoo
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is very lightweight and comfortable. I lke the fact that it feels like theres nothing there while your running. I would definetely recommend this shoe to everyone."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

fixes whats wrong.

, Mar 29, 2010
mortemore1
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"great shoes. ran a 20 miler in them on my first run and they are great!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Kicks...

, Mar 15, 2010
vshiz
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is now my 4th pair of free's and I still think they are the best shoe i have gone running in. I just tried out my new pair a few weekends ago and while I am not a strong runner I feel like I can run for days in them."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

NICE!!!

, Mar 15, 2010
ace2die
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I run on a treadmill two miles a day. I know by no means am I an expert on running shoes but these are much more comfortable and create much better toned muscles in my legs. Anyone who needs new shoes for athletics shoudl consider."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Comfortable shoe

, Mar 15, 2010
John
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Nike 5.0 is a perfect place to start for the barefoot experience.
My first week of runs in the 5.0 made me feel "free." My feet were no longer bogged down by heavy weights. After my first week, my plantar fasciitis went away, but my calves were super sore. After two weeks, I was back to my regular running routine of 20 miles a week with no problems, and a new-founded enthusiasm for running
I used the 5.0 to transition to barefoot running completely. I now notice how "heavy" the 5.0's feel. Every ounce counts, so in that regards, the 3.0 would be a great choice. Actually, my next shoe will be the 3.0 (or lower if Nike comes out with it).
I wear these shoes around everywhere. They feel like slippers for your feet. Even if you don't run, you really have to check out a pair of these. Anyone on their feet all day, like bartenders, would love these.
If you are split between these and something else, just get these. You can't go wrong. Plus, in 6 months, you'll know if you want less or more shoe.
Also, I had to order half a size larger."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoe I've ever worn!

, Mar 9, 2010
speedybedo
,Visalia, CA, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Ever since I started wearing this shoe, I loved it! No matter what I'm doing, my feet have never ached or given me trouble! Usually when going to theme parks, or working all day, my feet would ache from all the walking, yet with this shoe, I've never had that problem. I'm glad to have found the last shoe I want to wear!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

Not overly impressed.

, Mar 3, 2010
southpawo5
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Was looking for a shoe that would be close to barefoot running, Sorry, these are not it. The heel is WAY too built up in it. Going from Chuck Taylor's to these felt like wearing high heels. I also really don't like the inserts and ended up just taking them out.
In traditional running shoes I've had issues with IT Band tightness in my knee and hip. On only my second run in these I got hip pain later in the day. Running barefoot or in Vibram Five Fingers usually corrects my gate and relieves stress on my IT band. I was hoping to get that same type of relief with a bit more shoe.
Nike is headed in the right direction but this is still nothing like running barefoot. I'm going back to my Vibram's. If you have hip and knee pain, don't think these will automatically correct it."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

I miss the 3.0 v2!

, Feb 19, 2010
!G
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
"Will they come back? They were so great at foot-strengthening and learning to be patient with my stride."
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoes; Nike convert here.

, Feb 18, 2010
NarrowSparrow
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Narrow feeted people will love this shoe. They run small even for narrow footed people like me. I'm 6'2", 177lbs, and have a low arch in my narrow feet. I normally wear size 13 but for the Nike Free, I have to wear size 14. If size 13.5 were available, I'd still buy the 14 because these shoes run that small.
Nike hit a home run with this shoe design. I tried the Free 7.0 version (less flexible) of this shoe and it's totally different, with a much higher arch that hurt my feet. Unfortunately, the inventory on this shoe appears to be diminishing at all the retailers, leaving us to wonder if the Nike Free 5.0v5 is coming soon. Roadrunner lists the Free 5.0v4 as an endangered shoe now. Pick up that second pair now if you like this particular design.
I never liked Nike shoes until finding the Free. Now I guess you can consider me converted. I run in Vibram Fivefingers once per week, but need a real shoe on pavement. These are the best I've found for that purpose."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

NIke Free...

, Feb 15, 2010
jimsronce
,Bellevue, NE, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are great. I wore out my first pair and I could not do any running until I got my new pair. They are so light that I feel that I have no shoes on at all. Makes running not a chore but a pleasant experience."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Woman in a Men's Shoe

, Feb 15, 2010
SaBean
,Hopewell Junction, NY, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I love Nike Free's. Had the 5.0 in the previous version and this shoe is FAR more attractive than its predecessor. I made the mistake of not buying another pair and by Christmas, the women's version was totally sold out in the colors I was looking for. I ended up buying another brand and within a week, returned them. I missed the Free's! So I sucked it up and bought the men's version. Yay!
Nike mentions on the site that there is a physiological difference in m/f feet and that their shoes cater to that. I am here to tell you, they aren't lying.The men's version, looks just like the women's, except the sole is different. AND apparently, so is the cushioning. I tried on the women's and found a definite difference in the cushioning and so to cater to these female feet, I added a gel insole. That made all the difference and now I'm back to logging in a 5K a day with my new Free's. Love em. But i'm stocking up in the women's version for next time!
P.s. This color is great (looks even better in real life)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

These are my everyday shoes

, Feb 15, 2010
TotalBS
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I traded in my worn out Sparqs for these. It takes a little getting used to the heel being higher than the Sparq Frees. Very comfortable and very light. They fit a little snug but seem to hug your feet more. Also there is very little structure in the heel, it feels like you are wearing thick socks. One complaint is that the shoes pick up every small pebble that can be found.
I use these for everyday and Airmax 2009 for running. I weigh 240 and need the extra cushion when running.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

great shoe

, Feb 10, 2010
CHays21
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a great shoe. They're lightweight and dont take long to break in. They are also very durable, I had them for about 7 months before they even tore. I would reccomend these shoes for running and lifting."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Completely satisfied

, Feb 4, 2010
EmilianoKaptain
,Winchester, VA, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Being an avid runner, I do 6-10 miles a day, and these shoes work beautifully. The fit is great, and it feels just like you're wearing a sock while running, don't let the light weight fool you! These shoes are very good for heavy running. Avoid sudden turns though, they tend to be a bit painful. Nike's done it again though!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free 5.0 V4 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 115 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Physical Therapist

, Feb 2, 2010
Canon
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"Good construction, not right for my foot type. Had difficulty with arch aching. Love the look of the shoe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>