Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.414 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(140 reviews) 140
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 140 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
4
1 Star
6
The Nike Free 3.0 v2 Running Shoe: Lighter feel, improved supportFeaturing a restructured upper for enhanced comfort and support, the Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe delivers the extraordinary feel and natural benefits of running barefoot, without sacrificing underfoot protection or multi-surface traction. Benefits#8226; Minimalist design to help strengthen the foot and ankle muscles #8226; Seamless, one-piece mesh upper for lightweight comfort, breathability and flexibility #8226; No-sew overlays for support and a barefoot-like fit and feel#8226; Molded sockliner that mimics the natural curve of the foot for a great fit, comfort and support#8226; Deep, gender-specific Nike Free flex grooves for enhanced flexibility and stability#8226; Weight: 7.2 ounces (men's size 10)FitOn Nike's barefoot scale, the 3.0 most closely mimics the barefoot experience. The Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe has a one-piece mesh upper with minimalistic, strategically placed no-sew overlays that provide the proper amount of structure while allowing the foot to move in a dynamic, barefoot-like manner. An updated, more traditional heel shape improves the fit and comfort around the heel. CushioningLow-profile cushioning in the Phylite midsole creates a resilient ride--so much so that it doubles as an outsole, dramatically reducing the overall weight of the shoe. FlexibilityDeep Nike Free grooves make this shoe super-flexible, yet sturdy enough to protect the sole of the foot and provide great traction. A wider tread pattern across the midfoot enhances stability through footstrike. Broader forefoot grooves allow the foot to move more naturally, enhancing the flex and grip of the toes during forward motion while strengthening core muscles that aren't activated in conventional running shoes. Origins After learning that Stanford athletes had been training barefoot on the university's golf course, three of Nike's most innovative and creative employees set out to develop a shoe that felt natural and weightless, just like bare feet. In 2002, they examined a group of men and women with pressure-measuring insoles taped to their feet, using high-speed cameras to capture images of each foot in motion. The team spent eight years studying the biomechanics of shoeless running. The results yielded a profound understanding of the foot's natural landing angle, pressure and toe position, allowing Nike designers to build an unconventional and flexible running shoe from the inside out.Additional Details#8226; Fused foam and rubber midsole/outsole for lightweight cushioning and durability#8226; Durable rubber outsole with Waffle pattern for improved traction and a more neutral, efficient stride
Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

best minimalist shoe

, Oct 22, 2011
aces10x0
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"So i bought these last year after the outdoor season, and used them thoughout the summer training for xc. ive put about 150-200 miles on them and they are still holding up great. The only durability issue is that the upper is a little flimsy, which is good for running, but bad for games and stuff. i got a small hole in the upper while playing ultimate frisbee, but i sewed it shut, and nothing else has happened. I would advise easing into the shoes as working out in them too much hurts your feet and muscles. Out of all the minimalsist shoes ive tried, nothing else comes close. Also, if you are going to get a pair of 3.0's, seach for the v2's. I think that the v3's have too much support to be a truly great minmalist shoe, and i hate how they dont have tounges. Looking forward to buying my second pair before outdoor starts."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great Running Shoe!

, Sep 3, 2011
Hornet 123
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a great shoe if you are training for races or just getting in shape. It really works out your gastrocnemius muscles (part of your calf). It will hurt your legs the first two or three times you run in these, but after that it becomes normal. This isn't a shoe made for comfort. It is made to feel like you are running barefoot. They feel very comfortable when you are just walking around in them, but when you run in them, it feels like the sole gets harder. At about the start of the second mile, my feet always got hot, but that's the same with most shoes. Overall, this shoe is great for running and training."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Perfect training shoe

, Aug 12, 2011
runpre24
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The 3.0 V2 shoes are my favorite running shoes right now. Very light and flexible. You get a much better ground feel than you do with the Free Runs.
Great shoe NIKE. I can't wait to see 3.0 V4!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

sehr klein geschnitten

, Sep 7, 2011
hoeschi
,ÖSTERREICH
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
very small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
very narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Ich musste den Schuh 2 x umtausc hen, ich trage normalerweise Größe 42 und bin bei diesem Schuh bei Größe 44 angelangt, die aber noch immer eng anliegt.."
NikeEmea
Review 5 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
This review is fromNike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe.
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Free 3.0 series

, Aug 31, 2011
lapster81
,SWEDEN
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Best shoe for free running, I combine this with running completely barefoot and it have made wonders to my calves and foot muscles!
I have size 44 EUR and this fits like a glove true to it's size. I also bought the v3 but that i needed 44,5 for the same fit, i guess it has to do with the change in the upper design.
Love it!"
NikeEmea
Review 6 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Business Owner

, Jul 15, 2011
matboro
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Great running shoe. Took a couple of times to adjust to but now I love it ."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The ONLY running shoe

, Jul 11, 2011
draco
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Please DO NOT EVER discontinue this product. I will run in nothing else. LOVE them"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

my 3.0s

, Jul 6, 2011
victiz
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i coustum made some 3.0s and i will have 2 say those are the greatest pair of shoes i have ever worn ... ever ya they may be a liittle heaver than these but not by much and because there so light u might think there non durable but there like steel toed boots made out of elk hide. They do run a little small about a half a size so buy a size larger than u usualy would wear. there also good 4 people with knee problems. my 50 year old uncle used 2 run marathons then his knees blew out and couldnt run 2 miles without knee pain and he found frees and kneepainbegone. There verry comfy i used 2 be a army nurse deployed in iraq and i now work in the local hospital in california and thts the only shoe i have ever liked wearing 2 work so ya very comfortable. I have my moms feet ,long and slim so 4 me these r the perfect fit 4 me. So ya"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

first pair of free

, Jul 6, 2011
nikenut
,Tupelo, MS, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"decided to give barefoot-styled running a try. a friend had a pair of the free run and she has greatly enjoyed them. big difference in the free 3.0 v2 and the free run. the free run has an integrated tongue for that socklike feel. but not the free 3.0 v2. the long tongue has dug into my ankle regardless of how loose i tie the laces. the 2nd sticking point was the insole. it would dig into the arch of my foot so i took them out. i find that if i lace them ever slightly tight that the inside of the socklike upper still has stitching that will dig into arch. i am going to give the free run a try; i like nike way too much."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Jul 4, 2011
tarmily
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I love these shoes. They have a very breatheable mesh upper. The colors are bright the blue isn't as intense as it is in the picture, and the neo lime green ones should actually say neon green. That is how bright they are. Hahaha always been a fan on neon green shoes. Well the midsole is very flexible. I can't compare this to the nike free + 2, which has a nike free 5.0 midsole. If you think the insole is adding to resistance making it less minimalistic, one can just pull it out and have no insole. The heel is kinda big for something that says it promotes barefoot like movement. The larger the heel the more likely it is to heel strike, but there isn't too much protection. If there isn't enough protection than your body will feel more of the impact and more likely want to forefoot strike instead of heel striking. I transitions from a heel striker to a forefoot. It wasn't a hard transition. I was easy to mantain form- back up right, forefoot striking, landing under my center of gravity (if not under it then pretty close to it). The first time I used it my calves, and the achilles tendons, and the other muscles of the foot ( this is all yor suspension) would fail before my cardio system. I am running 3 miles in them and running anymore would overload my calves. It takes some time to transition just keep running and let the calves heal. Most important mantain form. This shoe is for those who aren't intense and running barefoot or in skinny VFF's. These still train the calves."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome shoe

, Jul 1, 2011
Shelldogg
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
"Super light and comfortable shoe. Best running shoe I have ever worn.
Hopefully they will keep making them.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Thums up.

, Jun 29, 2011
Nikegoder
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love the look of these shoes. These shoes are great. the weight of them is exceptionally light. Little rocks get in them but thats alright. I honestly wouldnt mind running racing in them. I've put ~100 miles in them and they still look brand new. I'm hoping to get atleast another 250-300. Great job nike."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great shoe

, Jun 24, 2011
hattrickster
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"This is one of the best pairs of training shoes I have ever owned. Lightweight, comfortable, and it just FEELS right to run in them. Awesome!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very good

, Jun 14, 2011
Mr. Free
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"They have a very barefoot fell to them. i love the nike free line and i dont think im going back to others shoes very soon. i have the NIke Tr2 as well and they are very good. i love the free technology so much! i can alreday feel my feet getting stronger! i recomend these shoes to everyone!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

amazing shoe but falls apart

, Jun 8, 2011
t-sull
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"i had this shoe for a few months when both shoes riped apart at the seems makin it imposible to run in without hurting your feet"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

great running shoes

, May 22, 2011
Jake DeBeliso
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are extremely light and comftorable dont let the mimalistic look fool you, and there is still tons of support! i love them."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Set me free.

, May 7, 2011
bodyr0ck
,San Diego, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I had to get my hands on these. It's a great fuse between a running shoe, and going barefoot. I train for my sport barefoot, but wanted all the small muscles in my feet to keep working when I switch to go run. It's a great feel having the freedom within the shoe'srange of motion. It may not be running barefoot, but it is not far away as the next best thing. It's as good as the hype, it surpassed my expectation, you have to try it. I'm sold."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Very cool pair of shoes.

, Apr 25, 2011
hart8581
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I bought these shoes because the construction of the nike free shoe is so different than any other shoe out. They feel great and I love how you can flex your feet while wearing them."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awsome

, Apr 21, 2011
Jax93
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are amazing. They are SOOOOO light, and super flexible. I love running in them. There is very little heel to toe drop, so it is pretty easy to run on your toes. However, I've noticed that if I sprint, I land on the ball of my foot, and if I just jog I land on my heel. I think the only shoe where it is almost impossibile to land on your heels is those funny looking shoes that have the toes. They are super durable, and actually look quite good. The picture dosent show it very well, but if you look really closely you can see a color change near the toe. It seems to be a bunchh of glue just layed out on it. It doesn't bug me, but I just thought I would point it out. I think the shoes run small compared to other shoes of the same size, but I'm not sure because I purposefully ordered them a size large(I'm 5' 2", 13 years old, and whearing this in a 10 1/2, after about a month they fit perfectly). Overall, they are my favorite shoes ever. Life changing!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free 3.0 v2 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 140 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing

, Apr 10, 2011
epcross
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Naturally im a 9.0 but these are the perfect size even in a 10. Extemely light and good material not cheap and seems very durable."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>