Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe

Overall rating:
4.694 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
The Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe is cushioned and lightweight, helping to get you up and down the track in a hurry.BenefitsFlashlon foam for lightweight, responsive cushioning and arch support Removable four-pin spike configuration and horseshoe-shaped Pebax plate for aggressive traction and support Sharkskin heel pad for optimal traction and reduced weight on a variety of surfacesAdditional DetailsWeight: 3 ounces (men's size 10) Different left/right colorWomen, order 1.5 sizes smaller than your usual size to ensure the proper fit.
Customer reviews for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Currently the Best Track Spike.....

, May 23, 2009
Babster
,Indianapolis, IN, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To challenge myself
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is the best pair of spikes I have ever worn. The Matumbo is very fast and light and perfect for 1600m and up. On the indoor 800m however, it is not quite agressive anough for the tight turns as it has only 4 pins. You should also tie them tight so that the flywire can do its job and the shoe basically becomes part of your foot. You dont feel the hole in the back at all except maybe when ur on the ground stretching and no socks necessry which really helps in rainy weather because you don't have wet socks weighing you down. The only downside with these is the fact that they are so nice....mine got stolen towards the end of the season. I hope nike comes out with a xc version of these.
I LOVE THESE SPIKES!!!"
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Best Shoe Ever!!!!!

, Dec 15, 2010
RacingFlatts
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This shoe is amazing! ive worn the red shoe for a whole season and i just got the new blue and orange ones. I've never had any problems with this shoe, and i would wear them in xc if there was rubber on the bottom. I would rather run a workout in these than my trainers, because they are THAT comfortable... i would recomend this shoe to anyone that wants the best of the best. and wont complain that the shoe is too light. :)"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Matumbos

, Nov 11, 2009
OBI HARRIMAN
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To challenge myself
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are AMAZING! In track I range from the 400 through the 3000 and it is good for all of the races. Whenever you put these shoes on you feel like a champ. When you run, it feels as if nothing is on your foot.THIS SHOE IS AMAZING!"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing but some quick tips

, Dec 30, 2011
CWILLY
,Colorado Springs, CO, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These spikes are the boss. Ive used them in everything from the 800 to the 3200. advice though: get a separate pair of practice spikes to practice in...only save these bad boys for races. The material is durable but it is still very thin and a friend of mine tore through his victories because he did sprint practices in them. The lightweight flywire and mesh on the matumbo and victory is only for distance and races. Also, lose the socks. These are as light as a sock (literally) and you dont want to weigh yourself down; their comfy enough without the socks too. Oh and keep your feet clean before you put them on because all your foot grime will show in the mesh as the season goes on!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lightning Fast!

, Apr 3, 2011
frisbeefreak95
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I got these on thursday and used them in a meet I had on friday. I knocked 13 seconds on my 1600 PR!!! They were like running in nothing at all! I even customized them with a pair of neon green shoe laces! Thanks for an awesome shoe nike!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

AWESOMENESS!!!

, May 11, 2011
the_9_Mile_Runner
,Nine Mile Falls, WA, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
"I just got these shoes, they are the lightest shoes I have ever seen. My old spikes were the nike waffle xc from three years ago and they are 6 ounces, i thought only taking 3 ounces away wouldn't be much but I was way wrong. These shoes are so light and are so fast, I was using them in my interval workout and they can be used for every distance from the 100 on up during a workout and there is just something about these shoes that make you run fast. The first intervals that I ran with these were my fastest intervals I have ever ran and am very excited to run my first race with them."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Distance Spikes Ever

, Apr 25, 2011
Samminer
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had about 5 pairs of zoom victory's and matumbo's. These are far more comfortable and work anywhere from 400 workouts to a 10k tempo. These shoes are the lightest, fastest, and most comfortable distance spikes I have ever raced in. The best shoes EVER."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Almost flawless

, Dec 18, 2011
kevsal
,Illinois, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This crazy light spike was outstanding with the flywire, support and cushion. It was like running on a cloud. There was also a ton of freedom and support that really helped.
But:
wore down easily (not too bad)
only wear for: 1600-10k
Amazing distance spike that will make you feel great and run great.
So only use it for distance and only one season and it will be the complete distance spike for you."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

can be used for many long distances

, Mar 27, 2012
Anonymous
,Illinois, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To challenge myself
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"the matumbo is a spike that can be used for 1500m all the way to xc races.
it has a ton of mid foot support for those long distances.
for xc, get the matumbo, the victory xc is just a little more supportive and is more ideal for xc, but the matumbo is almost 2 ounces lighter and is more comfortable(ive had both) the matumbo is perfect if you are a competitive athlete that races on their midfoot, remember to only use for a season.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lightwieght with a touch of Cushion

, Mar 21, 2012
Crossfire29
,California, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To challenge myself
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have had my pair for the past month and I have smashed all my PRs across the board. These shoes are the prime long distance spike, especially for the 3200. Not only are they the lightest spikes in existence, but they are also one of the most cushioned as well. Every time I wear them, I feel like i am running on little clouds. These, to me, are the only distance spikes worth getting."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Distance Spikes Ever!

, Mar 3, 2009
mikeee
,Palm Coast, FL, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Just picked up a pair of these today and they are by far the best distance spikes I've ever owned! Firt impresstion out of the box was man these are light!
I'm a High School runner, I run primarily the 1600m, 3200m and the 5K XC and I prefer a less agressive plate than most do. This is just agressive enough of a spike that I would be right at home running just a mile, or even and 800m in where some people say you should get the victory spike instead. If your debating which to get and you prefer a less-agressive spike go with the matumbo.
Everything has been thought through on these spikes! The tounge is stitched on one side to keep it from rolling over on itself which is neat.
The lockdown on the spike is amazing, it literally feels like the spikes are apart of your feet. There is zero side flex with the flywire.
You don't notice the hole in the back, I know many people are weary of trying it out.
I wear a size 13 training shoe and I got these is a 13 and they fit awesome. There is alot of room in the toe box, but it isn't bad. I find it as a plus because my toes don't feel restricted what so ever.
My only complaint is the the sock liner came up in the fore foot of the shoe on both shoes the first time I took them off. I have herd of other people having this issue to and it's somethign nike should look into fixing. Its nothing a little dab of glue wouldn't fix at home."
+46points
47of 48voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

ATTENTION: ALL ATHLETES

, May 16, 2009
Tommy.C
,Marlow, UNITED KINGDOM
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Stunning spike, astonishingly light. Would recommend to any middle or long-distance athlete. My only reservation is the very poor durability. If only NIKE could find a way of preventing ripping, from being spiked by other athletes. I would recommend using these spikes as 'race spikes', meaning you should only use them for races, and perhaps a few training sessions to get used to them when you first receive them. I would also highly recommend NIKE offer customers the opportunity to personalize these spikes (NIKEiD), as many people I have spoken to have been put off these spikes because of their appearance. Overall though, an absolutely superb distance spike which will shave seconds off your times effortlessly. 9½/10."
+18points
19of 20voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

light but they rip SUPER easy

, Mar 12, 2009
ForTheWin08
,Chino Hills, CA, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"these shoes are so light! they feel amazing. A downside though is that most of my friends matumbos and victories are pretty much destroyed after getting spiked. moral of the story be careful with these."
+28points
30of 32voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Lightest Shoe Ever

, May 10, 2009
Ian
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I planned on having a 2 mile oriented season, so i purchased these on the basis of longer distance running. My season quickly changed to being 800 m oriented and these have suited shorted distances perfectly. I reccomend purchasing a pair thats 1 to .5 sizes smaller and wear the shoes with out socks. They are light and stylish and makes you want to just run..."
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Matumbo

, Nov 7, 2008
udcc11
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"They are awesome spikes. When I first got them I wasn't sure how comfortable the flywire and the hole in the back would be but as soon as i tried them on I loved how they felt. They are so light its amazing. They do fit a little narrow like most spikes but other than that they are perfect. I have witnessed some amazing races in these spikes including my friend winning the state meet the first time he wore them. They need to put these and their other new spikes on NikeiD."
+141points
153of 165voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

amazing

, Mar 10, 2010
BabyFacePaint
,carteret, NJ, USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"just opened the box and wow their like a feather i tried them on and they are very comfortable i wasnt sure between 10.5 and11 so i ordered
11 and im glad i did cause its perfect with a little bit of toe room
White/Black-Chile Red colors look prety nice and u dont even notice the hole in the heel
great shoe recommend it to any long distance runner
"
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Flawless

, Apr 13, 2010
ANDRCASP
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"the nike matumbo is flawless my pair went through everything 2 seasons of racing could provide and there still asking for more. they're intended for 3 to 10 thousand meters but dont let that fool you they can handle the 400m and up end of story. although use ing the 400m may cut the life down of your shoe the fly wire is so durable it doesnt matter! the shoe is perfect and beleive me i test it.
50.3 400m
1:58.6 800m
4:31.4 1600m
10:09 3200m
16:21.8 5K
ALL TIMES ARE IN NIKE MATUMBO! congrats nike best shoe yet."
+17points
19of 21voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Awesome shoe

, Mar 17, 2011
coolster333
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I love this shoe. I would reccomend people only the 1600 or above to wear these because short distance needs a little bit more agressive spikes. But distance is great and they do a great job too."
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Review

, Mar 8, 2010
IrunSTH
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"One of the best spikes i have owned so far. They have done well, giving me PRs every meet even for the 800 even though it was not made for that distance. The mile, however, works espicially well with these spikes. The weight is unnoticible as you are running. These spikes are amazing and if you are a exceptional and serious runner, then get these spikes. For the best only"
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Zoom Matumbo Track Shoe
Overall rating 36 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing shoe

, Mar 13, 2010
AZ Cheetahs
,USA
,
I primarily compete in Track & Field doing:Distance
,
I compete:To Win
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I really like these shoes, very very light. I use theres shoes for distance and some sprints. They never hurt my feet when running. The only bad thing about them is they could get ruined quickly if you dont take care of them."
+10points
12of 14voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>