Customer reviews for Nike Special Field Men's Boot

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Special Field Men's Boot

Overall rating:
4.501 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(435 reviews) 435
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 435 reviews
5 Stars
300
4 Stars
92
3 Stars
17
2 Stars
13
1 Star
13
113 out of 12690%of reviewers recommend this product
BUILT FOR HIGHSPEED RESPONDERSA modern athletic boot designed for first responders the Nike Special Field Men's Boot was engineered to the specifications of worldclass heroes from military professionals to rescue and law enforcement personnel The result the lightest fastestdrying highestmobility performance boot Nike has ever madeDesignFirst responders are athletes in every sense of the word but their moves are infinitely more vital To meet their intense physical demands the Nike SFB was built with the latest athletic footwear technology Parts of the forefoot are puncture and lacerationresistant while the midsole is supercushioned and extra flexible ensuring a smooth heeltotoe transition The directionaltraction outsole features reverse edges and a slightly raised heel for better grip when walking and running downhillFitSynthetic leather overlays make the Nike SFB tough yet flexible requiring no breakin period It's comfortable right out of the box The sturdy outer shell creates a snug fit protects against scuffing and helps keep water out while the anatomical sockliner moves easily with the foot and adds support and cushioning A special locklace system helps keep the foot in place and maintain a comfortable customized fit during extended wearVentilationThe Nike Special Field Boot is made for hot weather Breathable quickdrying fibers work to keep the foot comfortable in warm conditions and sweatwicking materials help the boot dry out fastMore BenefitsQuickdrying synthetic leather overlays for durability and supportMultiple ventilation zones that allow the boot to breathe and drain quicklyGenuine leather footbed for durability flexibility and comfortNike Freeinspired outsole designed for traction and natural range of motionSticky rubber forefoot lugs for exceptional traction on all terrainWeight 159 ounces men's size 9Design OriginsDuring World War II Nike CoFounder Bill Bowerman served as a member of the 10th Mountain Division in Italy Upon his return he became the head track and field coach at his alma mater the University of Oregon It was there that he honed a gift for creating highperformance footwear for his athletes This boot is a realization of both of Bowerman's worlds
Customer reviews for Nike Special Field Men's Boot NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 21 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

SFC

, Jun 14, 2010
Jdeazy
,USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I purchased a pair of these boots while I was in Afghanistan. I got them in August of 2009 and returned from Helmand Province in June of 2010. I wore these boots every day for the entire ten months in some very austere areas. They were by far the most comfortable boots I have worn in the Army. My only issue is that Nike would not ship to an FPO or APO, so I had to ship them to my home and have my wife send them to me. I was worried about the durability, but they are still good to wear. I wear a size 10R and bought a 10. the 10 is perfect."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 22 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The best

, Mar 15, 2010
deanvalbuena1971
,USA
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I have to say that after wearing summer , steel toe and winter boots, this is the best investment I've made for my feets. After running 4 miles during PT and walking all over the motor pool I don't get as tired by the end of the day, it feels like I have my running shoes on.
Valbuena
Ft Hood
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 23 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Military

, Dec 1, 2009
TJ
,USA
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Great boot, light, comfortable, no break in time needed, ready to wear. I would recomend these boots to anyone who plans on doing any amount of running in combat boots. Soles are light and flexible feels like a running shoe. Great addition to my kit."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 24 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Boots

, Dec 18, 2008
sgarrett8403
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The boot fits well, very light weight, durable, with great ankle support. One of the most comfortable I have worn in 30 years of deploying. Ventilation could be better but over all a great boot."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 25 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Boots....hands down.

, Jun 13, 2012
kibler23
,Fort Drum, NY
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I bought these boots almost half way through my twelve month deployment to the Stan. They lasted me the rest of the tour and were even good enough to still wear home. I'm not sure if they would fair very well in N. Afghan but for flat terrian (RC South), when you need to shoot and move there is no better boot. MY entire platoon, including my PL wore these and still do even back in garrison. So roughly at 10 months or so now I see wear. Which is pretty typical for grunt boots. Can't beat the comfort. Buying a new set...time now."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 26 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Very comfortable not so durable

, Apr 25, 2011
ttanyallynn
,USA
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I got my boots exactly 12 days from when I ordered them- which is pretty good for an apo address. They are very light, and super breathable. I have a really nice time running in these especially compared to my flight line military issue boots. I'm in Kandahar, Afghanistan right now and these do fine as far as walking on the rocks but they don't do very well in slippery settings. I'm a 15D and do alot of climbing on the birds, walking the flight line, and usually have sharp parts and tools around my feet scuffing up my boots and these have not held up well to that. We spend alot of walking time on the flight line so im suprised at the amount of wear already on my boots. They already have a cut in the thin fabric on the inside of the foot, the sole is starting to seperate from the boot. and a rip is forming in the front tongue part so I'm hesitant as to how much longer these will hold up. I ordered a half size bigger than my running shoe and they fit perfect- but alot of the guys have ordered there normal running shoe size and say they fit great too... also I think these boots run wide. So overall if you are looking for a comfortable boot these are the way to go but just don't expect them to last long in a deployment setting if you are a worker. But I guess the tradeoff for lightness and comfort you lose a little on durability. These would make an awesome garrison boot."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 27 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

One of the best boots ever!

, Apr 1, 2011
Ironfist64
,USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I am a sergeant in the US Army.
I used these boots for Air Assault school back in March. Awesome. Rucking made easy with these boots. No blisters or hot spots for the 6 and 12 mile rucks. I also tried the Daner's, but they are more of a winter boot. Finished the Bataan Death March (a 26.2 mile hike in the desert) in 7 hr 30 mins. Did fine for about the first 14-15 miles. The only problem I had was when going down hill, my toes would jam into the front of the boot, so I would recommend getting them a half size bigger if you plan on using them for running or long distance rucks. Best boot ever! I tell everyone about them. Also, NO BLISTERS AFTER 26 MILES!
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 28 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Can't say enough

, Jun 21, 2010
Rogrine73
,USA
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I have been in for nearly 18 years, 8 as a 19D and ten as a 18D and have had many boots over that time period and these are the best. They are the lightest boots I have owned, even lighter than a pair of jungles that I had gutted. Love the vents on the side, most boots now a days are missing that feature. They are true to Nike size, whatever size you wear in nike should work for you, I normally wear a wide but these boots fit me fine. I have been telling everyone that I come across about these boots, even complete strangers. Havn't ran them through any field time yet so I can't really talk about the durability yet."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 29 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike does it again!

, Apr 28, 2010
kmp404
,stone mountain, GA, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I was very skeptical about ordering boots without being able to try them on but the great reviews this boot recieved convinced me to try them. I was not disappointed! These boots fit great right out of the box and are light as a feather. Could not be more satisfied. The advice of buying them in your running shoe size worked out great."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 30 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

great boot

, Feb 5, 2010
20titan04
,USA
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Im a Drill Sergeant so i walk a lot. took boots straight of the box and did a 15k road march. no hot spots no break in period. boots are great lite weight. only held up about a year. the sole started coming off the toe. overall a good boot just wish they had a little more life in them for the money."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 31 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Great overall boots

, Aug 21, 2009
Smythe86
,Basking Ridge, NJ, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These boots are pretty amazing. Extremely lightweight and fairly durable for having a soft outsole. Very comfortable and flexible. However, if you are using these for Air Assault, I suggest different boots. The foam area tends to melt from friction, but this seems to be the only downfall these boots have.
Overall great boots, I would definitely suggest buying them, my feet still feel great after an entire day of training in the desert."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 32 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Running shoes masquerading as boots

, May 21, 2009
JNux
,Bolingbrook, IL, USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Very light, make my issued combat boots feel like free weights.
Fit the same as Nike running shoes, find your size at any sports store and order correct size with confidence."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 33 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Great training boot, with improvement could be the best special purpose boot.

, Apr 27, 2012
adam.hoffman
Size 
moderately large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"Aside from the sizes running a little too large for comparable shoes in the Nike catalog, this boot is a great training boot. Some services are allowed to wear this boot in uniform, and as is, it's an effective garrison/training boot. However, with a few small improvements, this boot could surpass all the other "tactical" boots available. The only fault with the boot is that the ankle support is not rigid enough to support real operations in any environment other than urban. If the ankle support were made more rigid, and the tread made a little more aggressive, this boot would be an excellent all-purpose operator boot. Other than that, this is an excellent boot and I've been happier with this boot than other more expensive models from other companies that specialize in the whole "tacticool" arena."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 34 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Pushing the Limits

, Aug 29, 2011
Teammcmurry
,USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've own these Boots since Dec 2008 and pushed these Boot to the limits wearing them hiking, running, and climbing almost every day for two years. They are without a doubt the most comfortable boot I've owned after some 15 years of trying numerous boot designs. The one major issue I had was that the inner lining started to wear through at the six months mark, so I lined them with mole skin and continued on. I was disappointed that a better materiel wasn't used since this is marketed as a combat boot. I managed to wear the soles down completely after three years. So, as a testament to the comfort and design I just placed an order for another pair. We will see how far I can push this pair. Overall, these boots are money well spent even with the materiel issue. As an active user these SFB light-weight boots performed as prescribed."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 35 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best boot I've worn

, Jul 16, 2011
Linkboy
,Great Falls, MT, USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm really picky about boots and these boots are the best I've worn in my 6 years in the Air Force.
I'm literally going to cry when 1 Oct rolls around and I can't wear these anymore.
I really, really wish Nike would make these in the Sage Green the Air Force decided to go with.
I'd buy another two pairs if that happened."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 36 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Soldiers Opinion

, Jul 11, 2011
Stein
,USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Great boot. Lightweight, comfortable, and didnt need to be broken in. However,they only lasted me a couple months in Afghanistan. The toe cup came apart after a month n a half and a hole developed on the tongue at the bend of the foot. Great if your just looking for a garrison boot, but not out in the field."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 37 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best Boots EVER!!!

, Jun 26, 2011
Subarex
,USA
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've owned my Nike SFB's for 19 months now.
I've gone through AIT, my first duty station, and an entire deployment with these bad boys and they're amazing. Money couldn't buy a better boot! Lightest boots I've ever worn, super comfortable, and they've endured a lot of abuse. Ruck marches, constant run ins with rocks, you name it and they will handle it, period.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 38 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
3.0 / 5
3.0 / 5

Realistic Review

, Mar 30, 2011
TTL6
,USA
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a great boot for working around the office or light duty activities.
These boots are the lightest boots that I have found in the 13 years that I have been in the military. However the lightweight construction is one of the reasons that using these boots for combat patrols is not a good idea. The barefoot technology used for the sole allows rocks to get stuck in the heel area and does ot prevent sharp objects from penetrating into the foot.
The upper material is nice because it allows the foot and lower leg to breathe more than conventional boots, but I have found that the material is not as durable as real leather. Once the boots get dirty they are stained for good. Heavy stains sink into the material and I have not had the ability to get rid of them using multiple washing methods.
The outsole is great for dry environments but becomes EXTREMLY slippery when wet. I also had issues with the rubber areas of the forefoot wearing down faster than my Blackhawk boots which have a similar density.
I had problems getting the boots snugged up around my ankle because of the placement of the eyelets. If I buy another pair of these boots I will take them to an alteration shop or cobbler to get an additional eyelet placed between the ankle cut out and the third from bottom eyelet.
Although I focused a lot on the downside of the boots I would hightl recommend them for anyone looking for a lightwight alternative to the norm.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 39 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

awesome boot

, Feb 23, 2011
dfbcec
,USA
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"these things are like wearing slippers I love my boots, I cannot speak to durability because I havent had them that long but they are the lightest boot I have ever worn and 7 of my fellow soilders have already bought them the stay clean cause they dry fast love them will not by another pair. If you live in a cold area however they wont keep your feet very warm"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 40 for Nike Special Field Men's Boot
Overall rating 435 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Christmas Present for son

, Dec 30, 2010
ArmyStongMom
,USA
Fit 
moderately wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I just ordered this boot for my Army son. He is home for Christmas break and he got these as a present. Very happy to say, he is very happy to receive these!!! We did a comparison between his issued regular boot and there is NO COMPARISON!!! Like night & day. These are like walking on air, he says!!! So I'm sure this will not be the last time we order these.
Thank you Nike. It would help out if you shipped to a PMB address. He is stationed at the Corry Station in P'Cola FL right now, and I wasn't able to ship to him down there at all."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 4 5 ... 22 next>>