Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Nike.

Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe

Overall rating:
4.613 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
Feel the freedom of barefoot running with technology to provide you excellent support and cushioning in the Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe.Two-panel mesh upper for a spike-like fitCompression molded EVA midsole with Nike Free for increased flexibility and advanced foot strengtheningBRS1000 carbon rubber strategically placed at outsole for durabilityWeight: 5.6 ounces (men's size 9)
Customer reviews for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe NewestMost helpfulHighest ratedLowest rated
Review 1 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best running shoe ever

, Sep 16, 2008
Nike Free 3.0 freak
,,
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
very durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I'm an elite runner, running around 60-70 miles a week and I use these shoes exclusively, except on track where I use the Nike Zoom Ventulus 2. I would consider the Nike Free 3.0 the best shoe I have ever worn. They are very light and comfortable and by letting the foot work in a natural way, the result is stronger feet and less injuries. This is the only shoe that let me run with a sore Achilles tendon and making the tendon hurt _less_ with every run. Just amazing. I'm on my second pair now, having run over 300 miles with the first pair aswell as using them everyday for walking in order to strenghten the feet . I really hope you continue to make these shoes, because I don't want to train in any other shoes."
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My favorite running shoe

, Jul 17, 2008
Free-Runner
,Iowa City, IA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"The Nike Free 3.0 has been my main training and racing shoe for more than one year. It is the next best thing after barefoot running. This shoe helped me to improve strength and technique. I noticed great improvements in my running economy and in my racing times since I switched to the Nike Free 3.0."
+79points
87of 95voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike Free 3.0

, Jul 17, 2009
Jason12
,Sparks, NV, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"These shoes are like running on sunshine. This is my 2nd pair, and they're even better than the 1st. These shoes accomodate your stride rather than making you adjust your stride to accomodate an overengineered stiff soled shoe."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best I Ever Have

, Jul 6, 2009
Speedworks2202
,USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Best running shoes that ever touch my foot. These shoes is best for both long distance running and sprinting. Before these shoes I've been sworm with every type of injuries from stress fractures to pain from head to toe since buying them and wearing them for a day or two i have not had any type injurie or any kind of pain. Bottom line is i love the idea of the barefoot running style and wear these shoes realy feel like running barefoot. Oh! one more thing my time have dramatically improve im a faster sprinter and a faster runner. Best of both World. See you guys in 2012."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

The Best!!

, Jun 15, 2009
free runner
,USA
"These are wonderful 3.0's! I just keep running and running in them. I can't get myself to stop. I wish the new 3.0's were as good as these.. Hopefully we'll see an improvement next year 2010. I just keep washing them and wearing. I'll keep running til they blow out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

great from the foot pad down.

, May 17, 2009
webperson04
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very uncomfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"pro: great feeling shoe. really gives that barefoot feel while running. good cushioning without taking away from the ability to thrust yourself forward. lightweight
cons: way ankle is designed. After running short distances, I noticed that the stitching on the back wore away at my ankle leaving it raw. I thought whatever it won't last. Then, I went on a long run. After 3 miles, I was in so much pain from my ankle and heels being rubbed raw.
Conclusions: stay away from this model. I haven't tried the free 3.0 II yet, but it looks much better. I love the free class. The flexibility of the shoe allows you to move the shoe in the same way you'd move your foot. And the plus, I haven't had a single injury, besides the raw ankles, since starting to run in these. They force you to run in proper fasion. I found I can run just as fast if not faster as in myother running shoes. But they are pretty flexible. Just not as amazing as the free class."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

perfect

, Apr 25, 2009
ham14
,USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly wide
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"perfect shoes.
anybody who knows what they are doing will get these.
"
-6points
1of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Amazing Lightweight Shoe

, Apr 20, 2009
mobeke
,fort lauderdale, FL, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"from the first moment i wore theses shoes, immediately after UPS delivered them, i was engulfed in joy.
the feeling of slipping on these shoes was like no other. the lining was thin, pliable and soft. the toe box was ample as my toes wiggled with comfort. i certainly did not feel like i was putting on foot armor to do battle on the concrete sidewalks. instead, it felt like putting on a technologically advanced foot lining only seen in science fiction movies.
all shoes should have the breathable mesh lining thoughout. it makes the shoe lighter and provides a more comfortable feel. this is the first shoe that i've worn without socks where the lining does not rub uncomfortably with my achilles or toes.
all-in-all, an amazing lightweight shoe that does not require a break-in period. however, this shoe is definitely not for you if you are not an efficient runner and over pronote. this shoe is optimal for biomechnically efficient runners who either pronate very very little or even under pronate and who gracefully glide over the pavement."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Nike is Back !

, Mar 17, 2009
playmaker uk
,UNITED KINGDOM
Size 
slightly large
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
slightly comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are a nice pair of kicks. Just got a pair today after been dissapointed with nike over the last few years as a fasshion accessorie but these"are the ones." Very comfortable and with a low cut, something cheap and cheerful from everyones favourite shoe company lets see what other colours they come out in."
NikeEmea
Review 10 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoes ive ever owned

, Mar 11, 2009
xr70john
,USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for racing
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"Absolutely the best shoe i have ever worn. I love them and suggest getting them while you can, they are great."
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Best shoe i ever owned.

, Mar 9, 2009
logic368
,New York, NY, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"best shoe i ever owned. need i say more? super light, super flexible, super breatheable."
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Love the 3.0's

, Mar 4, 2009
Wes
,Kyle, TX, USA
,
I run:16-30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"I've bought more expensive running shoes thinking it would help my shin splint problems. These take some time to get used to but once you do they are awesome. Very light weight, I am a heavier set guy 210 and don't really have shin problems anymore. The only thing is they do not offer much ankle support, luckily I have strong ankles. They are very lightweight so I noticed a speed increase right away in my running. I run roughly 30miles a week on these and wear daily."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Incredible Light Shoe

, Mar 3, 2009
dink65
,PASADENA, CA, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is an incredibly light shoe which offers great feel and proprioception. I'm a competitive stair climber and use these exclusvely for my climbs up Sears Tower - Empire State Building, etc. Perfect for climbing stairs!"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

jack

, Mar 2, 2009
jackaren74
,medina, OH, USA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
neutral
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"These shoes are great! I run about 50 miles a week. For me these shoes go way beyond foot strengthing. They are just plain the best shoes for me. Every part of my running has improved. Running is easier, pain-free, and a lot more fun. I hope Nike keeps making these things forever."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

Almost Perfect!

, Feb 17, 2009
DarylTanael
,Loma Linda, CA, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"First off, this is the lightest shoes that i ever bought. Its very comfortable. If you plan to wear this with thick socks, order 1.0 size bigger, but if you run without/thin socks go with .5 bigger. Remember this is not a shoe built for support, this is a shoe built to train or strengthen your feet. This shoe will not baby your feet.
I always have a feeling a sudden turn will break the shoe in the toe area since its basically cloth, but its not for basketball anyways, its for running.
Great shoe, will but the V2 come summer, i hope they release the all white color again."
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
4.0 / 5
4.0 / 5

One step away from unbeatable

, Feb 16, 2009
RunningHippie
,UNITED KINGDOM
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
moderately comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"This is a great shoe overall. It's so light it feels
non-existent on the feet! It has a great fit too.
My only problem with it is that mine fell apart
at the toe after a year and a half of use. If Nike
can work on the adhesion between upper and
mid-sole then hey, it's unbeatable.
Just ordered another pair so can't wait to break
them in!
"
NikeEmea
Review 17 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

1iGht a$ A1r

, Jan 17, 2009
C-Man_01
,Roseburg, OR, USA
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
slightly small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
moderately durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"this is by far one of my top 5.unbelievably light. feels like you don't even have a shoe on, just a sole and stability. great for sprinting or working out. previously had the original SPARQ's for woking out and thot THOSE were light. not even close. these are rediculously light and more comfortable (not hatin on SPARQ, i love my SPARQ's. but these are awesome.). i ordered mine .5 size larger because they didn't have an 8 and the 8.5's are still a little small. ORDER .5 to 1.0 sizes LARGER than your normal Nike shoe size"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
2.0 / 5
2.0 / 5

not happy

, Jan 2, 2009
Little Bean
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Stay in shape
Size 
moderately small
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
moderately narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
neutral
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
"I normally wear a 5 1/2. My Nike Free Trail 5.0 are 6.5 so ordered that size and they were way to smail & narrow. Re-ordered size 7 and still a little snug and felt funny. Maybe would have kept them if not for the rubbing on achiles heel tendon. Sole of sneaker felt hard no cushioning like the Trail 5.0 I had. Sorry those are discontinued. Made multiple calls to Nike to find another shoe and have something else on order. will leave feedback for that ."
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

Why I like these awesome shoes

, Dec 23, 2008
DaBurg3r
,Roswell, NM
,
I run:0-15 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Train for another sport
Size 
neutral
Runs Small
Runs Large
Fit 
slightly narrow
Runs Narrow
Runs Wide
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
slightly non-durable
Non-Durable
Durable
"About two years ago I was looking for a good athletic shoe. I started of using nike trail running shoes and was very pleased with the way they performed. Any way, my training changed from out door running to primarily indoor activities. I needed something that was light and un restrictive. My basica goal was to find something to train in that would improve my over all athletic ability without babying my feet het way shoes with excessive padding do. I bough my first pair of nike free shoes about two years ago and haven't worn anything else since then. The ability of the shoe to flex with my foot and the ability that this gives me to use my feet and calves in weightlifiting has been great. I am a power lifter and state record holder, I sincerely hope these shoes remain in production. I would not want to have to try and find anything to replace them as a training tool."
+7points
10of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nike Free 3.0 Men's Running Shoe
Overall rating 31 reviews
5.0 / 5
5.0 / 5

My favorite running shoes

, Dec 20, 2008
redwood
,Santa Cruz, CA
,
I run:Over 30 miles a week
,
I run primarily to:Have fun
Comfort 
very comfortable
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Durability 
neutral
Non-Durable
Durable
"These are my favorite running shoes as they are light and comfortable. I like them better than Free 5.0 which I like better than the old Air Huarache. I run trails and fire roads 8 miles a day 6 times a week.
For future improvement these shoes could use:
1) A little more protection on the front toe as a few there is a small hidden stump or root to stub my toe
2) Occasionally a small pebble, leaf, stick or pine needle will make its way into mm shoe since the opening around my foot does not have elastic like on the Free 5.0 to seal the opening. Also in the summer when it gets dusty lots of dust can enter the shoe.
3) I would also prefer a slip on/off shoe that I do not have to re-tie like with the Free 5.0 or Air Huarache. The elastic enclosure and heel loop would be nice to have and solve item 2 above also.
4) The shoe bottom gets small sticks and gravel stuck in its grooves. Some rocks have managed to punch a small hole into the bottom of one shoe on the heel. So maybe a tougher flexible layer would help. The gravel can sometimes be hard to remove while the shoe is on. So a slip on slip off shoe and can help with this as sometimes the gravel is too uncomfortable to continue running with it stuck in the shoe.
Still with the above mentioned room for improvement, I still buy this shoe.
I was afraid these might not work well in mud and rain and the grooves would be hard to clean like with the gravel but the mud shakes out."
+7points
9of 11voted this as helpful.
1 2 next>>